Are you wanting a little snack?

There’s been a clear cold snap the last couple of days, bringing our daytime temps down to mid 70s and the night flirting with fifty. Fifty. In July. But I’m not complaining because it got rid of 90 percent of the mosquitos. I’m also not putting anything in my yard anymore that can’t take Canada winters, and the zone people just bumped my area into a warmer zone, saying I can plant stuff that grows in Kentucky. Ple-e-e-e-e-ese. Doesn’t anyone in that office actually, ya know, get out in the garden? Summers can be hotter, but the winters can be colder, and the storms are simply going to get more intense. You can’t push your CO2 levels back to the days of dinosaurs and not expect to get the weather they had then as well. Dinosaur weather. Yep, we got it.

SummerToad

But look at the little toad Tim found yesterday! Isn’t he sweet? I remember being inundated with them this time of year at my grandpa’s house, so thick you couldn’t walk without fear of stepping on one. He lived between a lake and a swamp, and I’m sure if I went back, it would be the same today.

Click to order

Click to order

I’ve gotten a few “hurray!” posts from people who have gotten their tour Ts, but no pictures yet on FB. That they are going out is a great feeling. If you want one to wear to a signing, or just show your book pride on release day, here’s the link. We’re going through a local guy, so he’s able to give you lots more options than we ever did.

If you’re as anxious as I am to get those copies of THE DRAFTER into your hands, I’ve got some good news. I’ve been quiet this week because I was given the chance to write a short that might come out before THE DRAFTER, sort of a prequel that introduces some of the characters and the accelerated science that’s integral to the story. Some of the ideas in it I won’t be touching upon again until that last final book, but by giving you this snack-sized bite now, I hope that you will see the threads as they are put down, not just in hindsight as happened a lot in the Hollows. I’m excited about it not just for the story, but the craft behind it. Shorts are different animals than novels, and I miss working with the precise needs they have.

If I get my way, it will be called either BACK DRAFT or SIDE SWIPED, and it nearly drove me sick last week when I confused finding the “idea” with finding the “voice.” It was a miserable weekend where I went over and over THREE first chapters, two of them complete and final, knowing all of them were false and dead ends–until I found the voice. And then . . . it began and I could tell the story. It’s still a lot of work to meet my deadline, but it is a joy again. You should have it in about a month? (And that, my readers, is what an accelerated schedule looks like.)

Copies are available at:

                                    

Barnes and Noble has a small supply of signed copies ofThe Drafter.

Nicola’s, my local store, is offering signed/personalized copies of The Drafter as well as signed copies of most of the books.

 

14 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

14 responses to “Are you wanting a little snack?

  1. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim-I’m still alive(barely) now confined to a wheelchair with a airhose up my nose.Very ffeeble but still kicking, beçause I smoked for 50 years and now have COPD. So take that to heart and only smoke for 49 years.Keep drinking tea instead. I do have the Drafter pre-ordered on Kindle.I got out of durance vile a few month ago,and am now taking up old routines.

  2. Nici B.

    I am really looking forward to the short story, it is nice to get something up front to learn about this new world you have created!

  3. Just me

    I’m so excited to hear about the short! Is there anything readers can/should do to encourage this coming out sooner rather than later? It would be awesome to have it next month.
    I recognize the value of the energy you commit to your craft. I am grateful.
    I’m glad the writing is back where you want it. When you start talking writing and craft, I wish the paragraph would never end.

    He is sweet. I’d keep him and the toad:)

  4. Anne

    Can’t wait for the short and for drafter but I do still have one Hollows question for you if you don’t mind. In Sudden Backtrack did Newt and the Goddess trade places when the curse went off?

    • Anne, you are so close. Newt died, and the goddess popped Rachel in to take her place by shifting her back in time.

    • Anne

      Wow! I’m going to reread Sudden Backdraft now that I have this insight.
      Does that mean that when Rachel is interacting with Newt in the other books she is really dealing with herself? No wonder Newt always seemed crazy!

    • LauraK

      Ok. I feel dumb…and a bit confused. I read SB over and over and obviously didn’t get it. So….when Newt “died,” it was then an unknowing Rachel within her? Until what point? And is this why Newt has always had memory problems? And why Al has always been drawn to Rachel? Loveloveloved the Hollows but I obviously need help with this point, lol!

    • Anne

      I need help with it too. I thought Newt and The Goddess had changed places when the curse went off. In one of the later books the goddess says she remembers being a singularity and doesn’t want to become one again, so when I read SB I thought they may have swapped. I never imagined it was Rachel dropped in to Newts body, what a twist!!! Makes me want to reread the series again to see is I could pick up on it.

  5. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    A month? Yay, ’cause it’s going to be an awesome intro, but as a writer: Eeek! Good for you!

  6. Gail S

    I also got my shirt yesterday. I was very excited, but covered in dirt & grass as I was doing yard work, so no picture yet. 😉 It’s beautiful! Can’t wait for the short story and the book release.

  7. I got my shirt yesterday was so happy my boys where like mom it’s just a shirt but to me it’s more than a shirt. I love it, and a short story awesome that’s how I got hooked on you in the first place.

Leave a comment