In the gap, between the two trapeze

Those who know me well, know I relish preparing for things. I’m the Queen of Delayed Gratification, which goes nicely with the job I have of working for a year on something, get two weeks on the road sharing it with the world, then back to work on the next thing.

The flip side of the coin is that I also love not having a plan, which gets me in trouble when it comes to attending cons. Don’t get me wrong. I love attending. I just don’t like to plan them because, you know, there will be people there and stuff. I can do it, but my little introverted soul has a hard time planning for it.

So I like to prepare. I like not having a solid plan. And lastly, I love small living within a large space. Having a job that lets me be something else every day of the year has kept me sane. (And they PAY me for it!) But the last few years have taken their toll and something broke, pulling back a curtain I never saw–I had been so intent on the “what’s supposed to happen.”

Which brings me to my current feeling of free flying, in the gap between the two trapeze.

If you’ve been following the blog closely, you will know that Tim and I have recently become RV’ers, first, to follow and see the eclipse, but hey, an RV is basically a land boat, and I fell back into old patterns I hadn’t realize I’d made, remembering skills I never knew I’d learned, and . . . yeah, it fills a need I’d forgotten existed.

There are plans made. Plans within plans that have fingers reaching into every aspect of our lives. We are ready to go. The Captain has gone over the star maps for the best places to alight. The Navigator (that’s me) is content to rely on the vagrant winds to dictate the path and can’t do her job until we are actually on the road. The Doc (that’s me again) has stocked the pharmacy for the one special-needs crew member (the dog.) The Head Chef, (me again) has filled the kitchen shelves, focusing on easy, fast, and limited ingredient dishes, building on know-how gained by past experience. The Entertainment Director (me and Tim) have assembled various audio and visual entertainment. And possibly most important, since this is a working ship after all, the office is prepped, amazing me with how little I need anymore to actually, you know, do my job now that everything is less paper and more electrons.

All we need now is the courage–the final push–and we will be gone, boldly going where everyone has gone before–but never seeing the things I’ll see. Least, not in the same way I see them.

With fingers cramped from decades of “this is the right way” I let go of one trapeze . . . and stretch across space for the next.

Watch this space . . .

14 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

14 responses to “In the gap, between the two trapeze

  1. Writers write about what they know. With this new adventure and seeing new sights, think of all the inspiration. Have fun! Relax! Take all kinds of random pictures! And enjoy it all!

  2. Miranda Haigh

    Happy trails, and safe travels to you ❤

  3. Alaina Danielle Mertz

    That’s so awesome!! You go girl!!

  4. Vampyre

    You know you haved lived a full life when you get to the end and there is no bucket list to do. You guys have a great time. If you find yourselves in my neck of the woods, let me know. I’d love to buy you a meal. We have a very famouse swamp that people come from all around the world to see for some reason.

  5. Wow! You are doing what I always dreamed of doing and now I think will have to wait for my next life to do. Best of luck!!! Will you miss your garden?

  6. terri carlson

    enjoy each day as if was last day….do crazy things. they say, laughter is good for your soul, so laugh a lot. make memories. take pictures, so you can look back on them, and ask, “where was this again”? soon, there will be two more on the open road, my hubby and me and about four crazy little dogs, I call friends. see you on the flip side.

  7. Rosie Sanchez

    Yea! Road Trip! This will hopefully be the most restful and relaxing “work” trip for y’all, releasing all the creative, imaginative juices in that wonderful brain of yours. Setting loose a whole new batch of strong, smart fighting ladies in a fantastic, colorful world, or set in our world, just super exciting. Eeekkk! I’m so excited for you and for us.

  8. Rosie Sancgez

    Yea! Road Trip! This will hopefully be the most restful and relaxing “work” trip for y’all, releasing all the creative, imaginative juices in that wonderful brain of yours. Setting loose a whole new batch of strong, smart fighting ladies in a fantastic, colorful world, or set in our world, just super exciting. Eeekkk! I’m so excited for you and for us.

  9. I’d say you earned it. 🙂

  10. I hope y’all are safe out there on the road I love seeing your pictures, and I can’t wait to see what your next books have in store with all your road adventures giving you inspiration.

  11. Danica Krewsky

    Yeah stretch for the handle and go for flight. It’s the perfect way to do what you and Tim want to do when you want to do. Stop smell the roses lots of aspen and pine and enjoy. Go for it !!!!

  12. That is so exciting!! Have a great time and collect all that drama aspiration out there, just waiting for your keen senses to grab on and make it your own! If you’re in Nashville, may be a chance to connect with some fans ( hint, hint)… We would love to host you at a fine eating establishment downtown! All the best…Your Fan

  13. Martin

    Travel safe on the road. May every day be a fun adventure.

  14. I just love you Kim. I think we can all relate to the push/pull. The excitement of new and fear of unknown. We all have our own take on the concept…which is why we can relate to you, and why we read your books. Cheers to your new adventures…planned and unplanned. =)

Leave a Reply

