The difference a week makes

It’s raining, but I don’t mind, because it makes it easier to sit at my desk a few more days and hammer the last few chapters of Joe and Sidney’s story out of rewrite so I can get back to Peri again.

I like rewrites. I always say I like whatever stage of the book I’m in the best, but rewrites are where the magic really happens for me: a road ignored–taken, a new thought out of the blue that shapes and enriches the rest of a person’s life the story. Yeah. That.

But it’s raining, and my garden has really begun to wake up. The bees are appreciating the early blooms, and giving them a head start will help insure that my cherry tree gets pollinated later this spring. The Crocus are giving me a good show, not yet trampled by wind. I’ve got lots of new ones popping up in unexpected places, because, like a squirrel, I forget that I plant them.

Most of these shots are from my front corner garden, wrapped by sidewalk on two sides, my yard on the third. It was nothing but Juniper, a few rocks, and bluebells when I moved in seven years ago? The first time I tackled it, it took two days to clean up. Now it takes about fifteen minutes. Boom, baby! That’s what I like. Landscape that takes care of itself.

The bluebells needed more light and were moved. The Junipers were drastically trimmed to look bonsai-ish. I added a few wheelbarrows of rock, and tidied it all up with moss and miniature plants. The crocus are new this year. And before you crab about the Christmas lights, they’re up all year on my corner garden, bringing a little fairy magic to it all. Soon as we get another nice day, I’ll put the mini-houses up. 🙂

Siberian Iris

Bloodroot?

 

Grandkitty came to visit again. Aleix still isn’t sure about it.

Also, the mass market for The Turn just popped up for pre-order. Not a bad price! But the Nook won’t drop to match it until the mass market actually comes out.

Amazon

B&N

23 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

23 responses to “The difference a week makes

  1. Billy

    Hello again Kim,
    I really sorry the publishers are reluctant to publish The Agent I thought the two others were really good, and I would love to find out how it all pans out in the end.
    I would definitely buy a copy if you had to self publish the last one.
    Also I’m looking forward to the sequel of the Truth.
    Hopefully you will get The Agent published soon I look forward to reading it.
    Regards

    Billy

  2. Gerry

    I’m sorry to hear about the figures for the Peri Reed books — I’ve quite enjoyed them once I took the trouble to understand where you were coming from. It’s certainly no good expecting them to just be a slight remove from The Hollows, or the Madison Avery books because they come at life from a rather different angle, albeit interestingly so.

    Once you made the point of the parallels with Alzheimer sufferers I had no problem settling into the pleasure of immersing myself in your writing. Maybe the problem is too few readers have comprehended what is going on with Peri and have abandoned the story without giving it sufficient chance.

    Please tell me The Turn is getting a better audience and isn’t messing up publication and proper recompense for all the great work you put into your story writing.

  3. Billy

    Hi Kim,
    Is there any news about The Agent: Peri Reed 3 publication date.
    Regards

    Billy

    • Hi Billy.
      It’s written. I’m having a hard time finding a publisher in the U.S. who will publish it, the numbers were so bad for the previous two. If all else fails, I’ll self pub it in the U.S. I’m really glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

    • I am sorry your responses to the new character and plots are so bad. I thought it was quite original and rather fun though I confess a preference for your first series. Still you must have been tired of writing about the same characters for so long. You are such a fine writer, and I am happy to read whatever you write. Big fan here!!! Thanks for all the good work. Tasha

  4. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    It’s been a long time since you’ve posted anything here, I hope you’re all right and enjoying your spring. Tell Tim I said hi.

    V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy.
      No, everything is not okay, but I’m healthy, and those I love are too, so I am not complaining.
      I’m enjoying my spring very much, thanks.

    • Sorry to hear about your troubles. If there is anyway I could help, let me know., you guys have my email address and I have loads of free time. It’s good to hear everyone is healthy.

    • Vampyre

      My sister has a bird family nesting on her front porch again. This is what she gets for having so many plants out there. We have to use the back door until they move out.
      If I can get a good picture of them, I’ll post a link to it in my photobucket. 🙂

  5. Jen

    Your flowers look gorgeous Kim! I’m jealous…mine are all still stuck in the winter 😦 I just wanted to take a minute and say thank you to you for your books. I just finished reading the entire Hollows series again for the 13th time 🙂 I know this probably sounds silly, but your books have gotten me through 5 serious illnesses, 9 hospitalizations, DV, PTSD and a severe depression following a brutal divorce after 18 years of marriage and 2 children. Your books and the world you created helped keep me sane and it gave me hope and a break from my real world even if it only lasted as long as I kept turning the pages. I can never thank you enough… I don’t know what I would have done without having The Hollows (and you) to turn to. Your stories made me feel strong and not afraid to be different. I know that they’re fiction but the sentiment, the emotion, the meanings, the messages and possibilities you wrote of are very real and I use those to remind myself to never give up, to believe in something bigger and better then my past, to be ok with being who I am and not feel like I have to keep apologizing for it. Even better is that it reminds me to never give up on hope, love and finding the good in everything. Thank you forever from the bottom of my heart ❤

  6. Timothy Shaun Collins

    Hello Kim.
    It’s Moi. Tim. ( Of Tim & Karen.)Your fan in Baltimore of many moons ago. We used to talk about your writing and a ” Morris the Explainer”. Problem you had in your Hollows Series.
    Lots has happened. In a nutshell I am sorta retired with Parkinson’s and arthritis at the old age of 61.
    Recently I discovered your new Peri Reed series. Great work! Have to catch up. I see the early beginnings of your garden to Now has really taken off. Fantastic!
    Looks like all is well. Coolness. If you continue to like tea I’ve discovered one called ” Paris” that is a real treat!
    Yours in Space & Time.
    Tim

  7. Cindy

    I keep hoping to get outside but we are just getting little teases of Spring. A bit of sunshine and then a downpour of rain. We had almost 24 hours without but right now the flood gates have opened again! I had so hoped to go out tomorrow but it looks like it will be another day inside. So glad I will have Rachel, Ivy, Nick (starting again with book one) Jenks and all to keep me company….

  8. Vampyre

    Today was a great day for two reasons. One, it was of course Easter Sunday, two, it was my last day of work…ever. The company I work for realized that no matter how hard I tried, I am physically unable to do it. They are giving me short term disability until I can get it from Social Security. I am happy and relieved about it. I thought they were just going to fire me.

  9. Marika

    “Bloodroot?” – rather Hepatica

  10. Sarah

    Just reread the hollows. Again. I’ve been on your trail since the beginning. Really enjoying the Peri Reed a chronicles, too. Thank you for writing such rich stories with fab characters.

  11. Vampyre

    Is Grandkitty thinking, “MMmm, dinner!” ?

    When you made the squirrel remark, I got an image of one dressed in black wearing red wig. I need more sleep.

  12. What Beautiful Pictures! I no longer have a garden, however I so enjoy ohers’ and rejoice in the beauty they share. Many thanks, Tasha

  13. Nicole

    I really like what you accomplished in your garden, it looks great!
    But I seem to have a memory gap, in what story are Joe and Sydney appearing in?
    And did I read this right, we get a further Peri book? That is great!!!
    Thanks and take care,
    Nicole

    • Gerry

      Kim’s always said the Peri story was a trilogy, although at one point I was afraid the publishers might drop it, but the Joe and Sydney reference has me puzzled too. Is this something new, Kim, or should we know what you’re referencing?

    • Nicole

      Thanks Gerry for reminding me, totally forgotten about the triology part. But then again, for a while, same as you did, I had a feeling the publisher nearly wouldn’t publish the second book… luckily they did 🙂

  14. Candace

    Gosh what a gorgeous garden! I wish I had a green thumb…instead of two very black ones!

Leave a Reply

