Second star to the right, straight on till morning

I’ve been doing what I’m doing for what seems like forever now, so I’ve become pretty good at realizing when something is off in my process and pushing on regardless, getting it done if not by the joy of it, by muscle memory, so to speak. Not to imply that I can push out a book with no thought, because even on the bad days, there’s the satisfaction of the technique.

But every writer, published or not, knows when they find the zone that time has little meaning and you purely experience what flows through your fingers and onto the page. It’sย reaching back to touch what drew us to the written world when we were five, or ten, or fifteen; to be more than what we are, if only for a moment and remember what we knew then: to live it in your mind is to have lived it. Period.
The zone is the unicorn of the writing world, oft seen in the distance, worked toward, grasped for, interrupted and broken by the dog, the kid, the phone, the spouse, the printer running out of ink. Life intrudes. But when you find it, even for an hour, you connect to the essence of why we put up with the rest of the crap of plot holes, bad motivations and pacing, and the career killer, indifference.

I don’t want to say it’s been a while because I don’t keep track of my zone days. But I can say I’ve been finding them more lately, that the pure peace of creation has crept back into my daily routine again. Don’t get me wrong. It’s not roses and cream over here. Every day is still “the best day” my dog is going to have, there’sย this winter that won’t let go, and the “6:00 pm” haze of background noise coloring everything. But what defines me is satisfying again. There is movement, a growth toward the pure simplicity of story as the heavy dross is knocked away.

I think you’re going to like who I’ve been spending my day with, and if you don’t? Well, I’ve still got the zone.

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

9 responses to “Second star to the right, straight on till morning

  1. Mary

    Kim, I have always enjoyed your books, but I will say the Dead Witch Walking series was easy. I already knew witches, vampires, werewolves and demons. The first Peri book was slow for the first couple of chapters because the time warping was essentially a new concept that I didn’t know the rules. After I read the first couple chapters, I did not put the book down until I was done. I’m glad you feel you’re getting the groove again because you can tell a great story!

  2. “the pure peace of creation ” <— I think that's about the best way I've ever seen that described, and it goes both for writing and for crafting. I'm glad you've found it again. I'm still searching for it, especially on the writing front (malfunctioning computers do not a happy writer make, though thankfully it seems to be fixed now).
    Keep creating ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. LeAnne

    I am super excited to say that I just ordered The Operator & The Turn!!! I now have all of the Peri books and The Hollow series! I also got Sideswiped on my Nook app โ™ฅ๏ธ Thank you for also finding time in your schedule to do your blog. ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ‡๐ŸŒบ๐Ÿ“ฆ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“–โ˜‘๏ธ

  4. As a writer myself I know how you feel and I like how you have said it. Nicely done. But then you are a fine writer that I have admired for years.

  5. genki

    I like your samurai-ninja bunny!

  6. I do like who you’re spending your days with. Hope you continue to find & enjoy The Zone!

  7. susan blakeney

    I’ve always wanted to write, but trying to gather my thoughts into cohesion is like trying to herd cats. The zone you speak of is a beautiful and immensely satisfying place. I find myself there only when I’m reading, but only when the writing takes you there. To me that’s the mark of an excellent writer. When the story TAKES you there, and keeps you there until something intrudes and snaps you back. Being there? Absolutely magical. And honestly Kim, I haven’t read ANYTHING of yours that hasn’t taken me there, held me there until I’m snapped back by dogs, kids, and my husband. I’m glad you’re there more often now, especially because it means I’ll be going there myself with each new book you write. I’ve truly enjoyed the hollows as well as Peri. I’m looking forward to what she’s into now ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you Kim, for allowing me to experience The Zone ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Vampyre

    It’s good to hear you’re finding your zone once again. I for one, am very happy for you.

    Is there a possibility that Orchid might be an ancestor of Jenks’?
    She reminded me of him .

    Hang in there, the snow will be gone before you know it.

Leave a Reply

