I think there should be a charizard

This weekend, I found out there are no less than five Pokemon in my garden all accessible from the sidewalk, so it’s no imposition. Among present are Pidgey, Nidoran, and a Bulbasaur, which I think is appropriate, as it is a garden.

Dragon1

I don’t actually have the game, so I’ve not looked, but I can’t help but wonder if there might be a Charmander in my office, surrounded by said garden. There’s a dragon sitting behind the desk. (And a few at the ceiling, and on the back of the couch, and even a white one under Tim’s coffee table hanging with the Godzilla we rescued from the trash, and ah, well, yeah, a Dalek.)

Dragon2

Knit your own: I made the pattern myself, so please be kind. http://www.kimharrison.net/Dragon/KimHarrisonsDragon.html

Dragon3

 

21 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

21 responses to “I think there should be a charizard

  1. CathiB

    any chance you sell them? My son would love the blue and white one but I suck at these kind of things.

    • No, sorry. I give them away occasionally, but I would never sell one. Try making one. You might surprise yourself. I have a lot of tutorials on techniques that make it easier.

  2. What kind of yarn do you need for the dragons? I believe I might be brave enough to attempt them

    • I use a cotton yarn for the stiffness. Patton’s Grace works really well. It’s thicker than a crochet thread, but still thin enough to work well.
      Good luck!

  3. I totally adore your dragons. If I weren’t ten-thumb-Tilly, I’d be making them. But, alas, I really have NO talent for arts and crafts. I can write. I can take pictures. I can even paint a little (a LITTLE being the operative modifier), but everything else? Embarrassingly bad. So I admire you even more!

    They definitely DO look exactly as I imagine fire lizards would look. My problem is I want the whole dragon. You know. Go where and when-ever?

    Did you read about the dig in Cornwall? They seem to believe they’ve found a genuine Arthurian palace. Yes!

  4. Vampyre

    I don’t know anyone that knits. I’d like to get one of those for my sister. She loves dragons and loved you Truth series.

  5. Tina

    My daughter said, “…and a Dalek? Kim, you’re my hero!”. 🙂 We love you.❤

  6. Elise Holdar

    I love the dragons and would love to try to knit one. I’m definitely going to website.

  7. Veronica

    Just wondering if you ever met Anne before she passed, and if she knew of your wonderful re-creations? She was my introduction into the science fiction/fantasy world about 25 yrs ago when I first read Dragonflight. It gives me a crazy little thrill to think *Kim Harrison* loves firelizards too!

    • I did not. Well, not in person, but her work has colored mine. It’s no coincidence that the first thing I ever wrote was shape shifting, telepathic dragons. (First Truth – Dawn Cook) If I had met her, I would have given her one of my best dragons and thanked her profusely.

  8. genki

    That Dalek is in good company…!

  9. Gorgeous creations Kim. I can’t knit or sew and always admire your cool things.

  10. Kelly

    this is sooooo cool!! I love your talent.
    I cannot say I have the patience or the talent to knit..but YOU do inpire me to almost give it a “whirl”….

  11. Linda Craft.

    I love the idea of people coming by to catch Pokemon, can they see your garden from the sidewalk? what a treat.

  12. Martin

    There could be a gargoyle sitting on the ledge under your ceiling. 😉

  13. We’ve rescued a few things like that too. Your dragons always look great. I’m no knitter, but have become pretty handy with a sewing machine (I make Star Wars costumes). Knitting wasn’t something I ever could get the hang of, so seeing unique creations from that skill is always a pleasure.

  14. Every time I see your Dragons…I think of Ann McCaffrey’s fire lizards…and wish I could knit so I could have my “own” fire lizard…lol

  15. Ed Carson

    Pokémon has been driving us crazy here at the library, but in your garden? However, I love seeing the dragons again and wish I could knit. On waiting list for next Peri and The Turn.
    Regards.

  16. Chere Graves

    Love them all!~

  17. Tanya

    Those are so cute! I want to learn to knit so that I can make one!

Leave a Reply

