Have you seen the Decoy series?

photoI think the robin in the box I put up two years ago has more than eggs under her today. Sorry for the blurry picture, but I don’t want to go outside and snap a shot, so you get the screen fuzzing it up.  The box is right in my line of sight when I sit at my desk, and she’s been keeping me silent company for a couple of weeks. In return, I’ve been yelling at the bluejays and one really big crow. So far, we’ve had no losses. I’m not sure what’s going on in the neighboring cardinal nest. They are there for a day, then not, then back. It might be too busy for the shyer bird. Pictures coming when/if we have little yellow beaks pointed at the sky for food.

I’m late this month in releasing the next two Harrison/Cook back list titles for personlization. But Nicola’s and I are ready for you, even those of you who live overseas. I really have to thank Nicolas for doing this with me. I know it’s a big pain, which is why we don’t normally do this but for a few weeks around release a release date. I’m going to try to run through all my backlist before we get to the Nov 22 release of THE OPERATOR, but this is likely the last time I will be making my back list available for personalization in this way. (If you missed the Truth titles and really really want them personalized, I don’t think anyone will say anything if you make the effort to order them–even now.)

We just finished the Truth series and next is the Princess series, so for the rest of the month, you have the rare chance to get both DECOY PRINCESS and PRINCESS AT SEA personalized and shipped to you.
DPAgain, the covers say traditional fantasy, and they are, but as with the Truth books, the language and attitudes are comfortable. The pace is a little faster than the Truth books as well, and for anyone wanting to see a writer developing her style, here it is.

These were written right about the time that Dead Witch Walking was finding a publisher, though the short story that DWW came from had been circulated and then dropped in a drawer years before. The Princess books were targeted for the adult audience, but I’ve always thought of them as young adult and I would be very comfortable recommending them to younger readers you’re trying to get into the lost art of voyaging within the written word.

One of the themes I was playing with is that magic has a price, and the very thing that makes Tess powerful can and is killing her. There’s a wise teacher, a cad, and a noble hero. I’ll let you decide who is who. There’s also a disgruntled princess as I flip the story of the milk maid who is actually royalty and tell it from the point of view of the common girl who has been raised at a princess and who is now finding she’s actually nothing. Who hasn’t felt that way at one time or another?

But you know I wouldn’t leave it at that, and Tess finds that her strength has always been there and has zero to do with the title “princess.”

I just love the original covers. She is so sassy, and after that blonde bombshell on the Truth covers, very refreshing. Dark haired girls have exciting adventures where they can be powerful, too.
PSeaPrincessAtSeaIS

Click  the book to go right to Nicola’s. To order a personalized copy, please make a note as to who you want it personalized to in the note section when you order. Any questions, just email orders@nicolasbooks.com International is okay. I noticed that their page said the titles might not be available, but I have checked, and they say they can get them. I’ll go in to sign at the end of the month, and ta-da! Personalized Princess books.

For those of you who ordered the last set of Truth books, I’ll be going in soon to sign for you. I’m hopeful I can get something extra in there for you as a thank you.🙂 I know this is incredibly slow, but I’m trying to make this as painless as possible for Nicola’s so they don’t kick me out.

4 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

4 responses to “Have you seen the Decoy series?

  1. Vampyre

    Howdy Ma”am,
    Hope you had a great Mother’s Day.

  2. Tori

    I have the original covers and even bought a second of The Decoy Princess when it began to fall apart from reading it so often. I always recommend them to anyone looking for a new book to read.

    But does the story really end with Princess at Sea? I feel like Tess and Jeck have unfinished business!

  3. Nicole

    I’ve read them all and loved them! If the postage to Europe wouldn’t be so high I definitely would order the signed copies.
    Is there ever a chance that you will continue the series? I still feel there could be more to come😉

  4. perkytxgirl

    I already have these on my shelf from way back but so excited to get personalized copies! I just put my order in!

Leave a Reply

