A Bookish Conversation

Except from interview. For the rest, just click:

If you had to summarize your book in one sentence, what would that be?

We are all broken in one way or another, but we do not need to be “fixed” to live beautiful, productive lives.

Would you say it’s been a rocky road for you in regards to getting your book written and published or pretty much smooth sailing?  Can you tell us about your journey?

After fifteen years of being traditionally published, I’m lucky to have over two dozen books on the shelf, almost half of them having been very well received on the New York Times list. The Drafter marked a shift in genre for me from urban fantasy to a character-oriented, sf thriller, and though this is where my heart is, enough of my readers failed to make the jump with this first book that it has become the most difficult book for me to get pushed through the system, more heart breaking and depressing than the five years spent getting my first book published. I don’t expect any of my books from here on out to be easy, but if you go into this profession looking for a quick buck, you’re doing it wrong. You do it because you have a story to tell, and that hasn’t changed.

 

– See more at: The Literary Nook

BlogTourTheDrafter

4 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

4 responses to “A Bookish Conversation

  1. Gemma

    Oh my, I don’t understand why, as you put it, “so many of (your) readers failed to make the jump” to Peri and her amazing world. I know I’m not alone in my love for all your books. And as someone who has some familiarity with diseases that rob people of memory (and so much more), Peri’s struggles are both real enough to be identifiable yet written into a world that helps me escape from the familiar. You’ve created a masterpiece, my dear. Truly! I’m so very excited to know there will be more (and more) of Peri and her world to explore. Thank you for all your books and the many more to come!
    Change is at best exhilarating but often awkward and that can make us all hesitate before making the leap to the new and unknown. I have a feeling that many of “your readers” will give The Drafter a second chance. After all, it’s your voice that they miss and after they’ve taken some deep breaths and are “over” the shift from The Hollows to Peri’s world, I have a feeling they’ll start to embrace it. Your “crossover” books and stories should help ease that transition but I do wish you’d just been able to freely fly with Peri’s story from the start. Fly forward, fly upward and enjoy every happy moment. You deserve it! ~ Jen

  2. Still say you should do both, Hollows and Drafter.

  3. Great interview! I recently finished reading The Drafter and I like it. It is different to your Hollows stuff, but as you say it’s typical Kim Harrison writing & I enjoyed it. I think I had to go through a period of a kind of “grief” when the Hollows ended which is why it took me awhile to get into the Drafter but I am glad I did & am looking forward to November to pick up the next in the series.

  4. Karine

    Just when I don’t think I could admire and respect you any more you pull out a sentence like “We are all broken in one way or another, but we do not need to be “fixed” to live beautiful, productive lives.” Wow. Beautiful. Thank you for that! I think this is my new life motto!

Leave a Reply

