The Story Behind the Book Interview

Fourth in a series, my email interview with The Story Behind the Book:

When was the adrenalin rush – writing that first chapter or the last and why?

Hands down, it’s the last chapter that holds the adrenaline rush. It takes me four months to hammer out a rough draft, four months of piecing the threads together, sweating the details, researching the fine points, patching the plot holes, and watching the characters take on their own destiny that might not be the one I originally envision for them. Seeing it all come together is a great feeling. Of course, it’s quickly followed by a sigh as I now have to start back over at page one and rewrite it, but that day that I actually write the last chapter? Yes, that’s a good day.

For the rest, just click.

The Review from here

 

1 Comment

Filed under Drama Box

One response to “The Story Behind the Book Interview

  1. This interview was really illuminating. I read the drafter, but I didn’t connect the dots until I read this interview. Now, I’m rereading The Drafter and I think it will mean a lot more to me this time. Thank you. You’ve always been great about explaining your process and how you create your books. I’m no novelist, but I do write. Much of what you have talked about in your blog and interviews has been of enormous help to me. It’s a rare thing for authors to be so forthcoming and honest about their work; even more rare for one to be so warm, supportive, and helpful to other writers.

Leave a Reply

