Drafter mass market cover

Draftermm

A-a-a-and we have a new cover! Isn’t is beautiful? I love that she’s running to something, not away from. Running with purpose! Come April 19th, the mass market will be available in the U.S., so if you’ve been waiting for that ebook price drop, it’s almost here. Me, I was always a mass market girl when I was growing up, so I’m excited to see The Drafter coming out in this format.

As a bonus–because you know I like to put extra things in my releases when I can–the novelette “Sideswiped” will be included. It will be the first time this prequel to The Drafter will be in print, and I’m very pleased it will be available to my readers who don’t use ebooks. The second full book in the series, The Operator, is scheduled for release November of this year, and after that comes, The Turn, which is what I’m actually writing right now. (You may have been getting hints of Al, and Quen, and Alice, and maybe Takata on FB,)

Sideswiped: Amazon / Barnes and Noble

But you know I can’t stop there, and to help mark the Peri Reed Chronicles moving forward and the new Hollows novel in 2017, I let myself have some fun and wrote a novella that combine the two worlds. Waylaid will be out April 4th, and I should have a cover to show you next week.

Waylaid/Leylined: Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Stringing these releases together will be Tim’s and my “I’M BROKEN, DON’T FIX ME” campaign. I”m still working on the logistics, but there will be shirts, and give-aways, and the chance to get personalized some of my backlist titles that have the broken heros I love so much.

FirstTruthIS

To kick off the backlist personalization’s, I’m going to go way back and offer from now to March 31, FIRST TRUTH and HIDDEN TRUTH through Nicola’s books.

Don’t let the pure fantasy covers put you off if you’re a diehard urban fantasy reader. I won’t kid you and try to tell you they aren’t fantasy, they are, but there’s no purple prose here, the language and attitudes comfortable.

These were not only the first books I got published, but the very first book(s) I had ever written, and if you want to watch an author learn her craft, this is a great place to see it. (laugh) But the characters still ring true to me after all these years. The books were marketed for the adult market, but I am totally comfortable with recommending them to younger readers. They are also a great vehicle to open up a safe discussion about prejudice if you care to read these at the same time as your kids.

HiddenTruth

But broken heros. There are here. Alyssa is broken in her family woes, Strell fights a lifetime of perceptions, and though it takes me to the second book to wrap it up, Useless battles his past. Don’t get me started about Lodish, my first book boyfriend. (He’s as mischievous as Al, but the good twin.) And yep, there be dragons, here, which is probably why I knit them. They still haunt me.

To order a persolalized copy from Nicola’s, just click the books. Please make a note as to who you want it personalized to in the note section when you order. Any questions, just email orders@nicolasbooks.com International is okay. The site says they might not be available, but they are. If you order both, I’ll slip in a signed cover flat for The Drafter.πŸ˜‰

 

 

37 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

37 responses to “Drafter mass market cover

  1. Pingback: Saturday Miscellany – 3/5/16 | The Irresponsible Reader

  2. I read the first “truth” book (in audio) quite recently and I liked it. I thought you created a uniquely strong woman, something many (most) fantasy books lack. I didn’t know there was a second one, but I’ll track it down.

    I actually bought not one, but three hard copies of “The Drafter.” One for me, two as gifts. Glad there will be another because there’s a shoe still waiting to drop.

    It will be a treat revisiting the Hollows! Rachel’s world became a very real place through all the years. Already preordered the novella. Of course.

  3. Leanne

    I’m so excited about the “crossover,” even if it’s just a short! I’ve never read a book I didn’t like by you. I recently started First Truth and it’s great! Thanks for sharing your stories with us!

  4. zieschlern

    Heya Kim,

    great to see a new campaign. I love cover flats, hopefully I’ll be able to get my hand on one of FFDMπŸ™‚

  5. Penny

    Not only do I have the Truth books, I have them signed by you. From the old Waldenbooks in Rock Hill, SC. They have been well read and well treasured over the years. I’m so glad they are being republished.

    • Wow, Penny. You’ve got some of the first! The books have never actually gone out of print, so that you have the first editions is really special.

  6. Marcia Siehr

    I LOVED the Truth series on audio! it was fabulous.

  7. Saz

    Hiya Kim
    Just wondering if the mass market will be available in the uk? Really want to read Sideswiped!!
    I’m so happy you’re writing more about the Hollows but dead excited for the next Peri Reed as well. You’re fab!
    And I love your I’m broken don’t fix me mantra – it’s why I love your books.
    Saz x

  8. Brenda Roach

    🐲 ❀

  9. luisa

    love all your books & try to preorederor get on release day. Is sideswipped available in uk & on ebook i really hope so because i cant wait for your next book.

    • Hi Luisa. I’m not sure if Sideswiped is available in the UK, but Waylaid or rather, Leylined, will be!

    • Gerry

      Last time I checked Sideswiped still wasn’t available via Amazon.co.uk Luisa

      Back in August 2015 I attempted to email those apparently responsible (Little Brown Book Company)
      as follows:

      Gerry Sheldon
      08/25/15 at 9:04 AM
      To
      info@littlebrown.co.uk

      Message body
      Having tracked down the UK publisher of Kim Harrison’s “The Drafter” as offered in ebook form by Amazon UK Kindle and finding they went by the name Piatkus, the trail led to you.

      My problem is that Kim brought out a precursor novella in ebook format only titled “Sideswiped” and it seems to be unavailable in the UK via Kindle or any other source that I’ve been able to find so far.

      The US Kindle version is not sold to us poor relations in the UK, so is there any chance that you will be doing a deal to make it available in the UK?

      To be quite honest I’m flabbergasted that there is no mechanism to automatically market ebooks internationally — the epublishing status quo seems so archaically “last millennium”!

      Regards, Gerry Sheldon

      I’m sorry to say I didn’t receive so much as the courtesy of a response — automatic or otherwise!

  10. Natalie

    So excited to hear about all the new things! I’m currently working on the audio version of the Hollows. They are my third copy of the series next to the print versions and the e-books πŸ™‚
    The new cover of The Drafter looks awesome!

  11. I’m so excited for all of the new releases! Glad to see Peri’s story will continue. This post reminded me that I still the copy of First Truth signed to your mother in-law that I found at a book sale. Tim offered to exchange it with me, which I was more than happy to do. But I never heard back him after that. Let me know if you’re still interested in getting it back! If not it will be a cherished part of my collectionπŸ™‚

  12. Claudia D.

    I recently finished reading the entire Truth Series and I loved it. I borrowed them in audio format and I could not stop listening. Some of the characters reminded me of some Hollows characters. I need to get these in print. Thanks Kim for being so good to your fan girls and fan boys. Can’t wait for all the new books.

    • Thanks, Claudia. I needed to hear that today.πŸ™‚

    • Nicholas P. Badenhorst

      Dear Ms Kim
      I have at last read all of 13 books of the Hollows. I have posted a similar message before but at my age it probably went somewhere else. (Mars;) ).

      Since I discovered the Hollows series you have enriched my life regardless of that which ails me.

      Previously I could only read books piecemeal, but towards the end of the Hollows series I could take a book and read it from from start to finish. And for that I thank you.

      Be happy

      Nicholas P. Badenhorst
      Port Elizabeth
      RSA

    • Nicholas, thank you. I fell in love with reading early, and to know that my work has helped you fall in love with it as well is a GREAT feeling.

  13. Trina Cunningham

    You’re always on my pre-order list!

  14. Anne

    If Peri’s and Rachel’s world are going to meet (very excited about that!!) then you are going to have to add an addendum to “Pages from the Backroom.” I can just hear Trent complaining about Rachel being pulled from retirement to interact with the newbies and Al being trilled to have new blood to torment. πŸ˜€

  15. Skye Thompson

    So stoked! I bought the hardcover, but will be buying the mass market, too. And anything else you publish. Haha! #fangirl

  16. Martin

    I am very glad that the Peri Reed stories are moving forward. The new cover may help the sales. When the cover to the hardback was released, I liked it, but it reminded me of “Waiting for Godot”, which isn’t very endearing. Ahhh, the pitfalls of marketing.

  17. Natasha

    Wow, so pretty! I love this cover. I’m in.πŸ™‚

  18. Magdalena Preciado

    So…..I’ll have to wait a new link to buy The Drafter & Sideswiped? Also, Waylaid is only in kindle??

  19. I believe I’ll be getting a mass market copy. Thank you for posting this.

  20. Caroline

    Still love you Kim but missing Rachel too much

Leave a Reply

