Making my own spring

Somehow we actually got rid of the foot of snow that was dumped on us last Monday. And what should be in the forecast? 5-8 inches again. Well . . . nuts to that. I want green grass, damn it. I guess I’ll just have to make my own.

EasterGrass

It’s been a couple of years since I made real grass Easter baskets, and it’s not too late to start them. There really should be vermiculite in the pots, not dirt, but I want the dirt for later, and neither Tim nor I mind a little earth on our jelly beans. (snerk)

They’ve been planted since Sunday, so I imagine I’ll see some green Thursday. I could use a little green. This up and down is hard on the soul.

8 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

8 responses to “Making my own spring

  1. David E. Troficanto

    ME THINKS THAT THE LADY PROTEST, TOO MUCH! LOL YOU NEED TO MOVE BACK TO ROCK HILL SC DARLIN
    DAVE

  2. I understand the green longing so much! Sounds like we’re in the same rough area, I’m up in the Thumb area just a few miles in from the lake & that wicked north wind just hammered all day yesterday! The yard looks like a snowy desert with all the drifty dunes out there. I’m starting to long for the yard work I’ll then start to resent in few months😉

  3. Jaime

    Here in Kentucky it’s about the same with temperatures, but without the accumulation. Yesterday I took the eldest to school in a thunderstorm, HAIL AND ALL. Today it is just barely 40. Mother Nature needs to straighten out those meds!
    Alas, my thumb is not green, it is black. The Thumb of Death. I’m scraping by just grow kids. LMAO

  4. STLPam

    When I read your post, all I could think of is what fun my four cats would have in that dirt; digging, slinging, and tracking all over the house. No thanks. I can’t even have live plants.

  5. Claudia D.

    60 degrees and sunny on Sunday, 57 degrees yesterday and today, tomorrow 35 degrees and snow. I know how you feel Spring needs to get here and stay awhile. Good Luck with your real grass Easter baskets.

  6. great idea! I’m going to give it a try. Thank you!

  7. Linda Craft.

    I was surprised to find schools closed again this morning in West Michigan. I think I will take your idea and start some tomato and pepper seeds this week. I have never heard of real grass Easter Baskets. I would have loved to do that when the kids were still home.

  8. Planting your own grass is a great way to deal with this late-winter snow! Nearly 60 and sunny on Sunday and now more snow on Tuesday–the weather extremes are extremely tiring. Good luck with your grass.

Leave a Reply

