‘Twas the week before Christmas, and up in the Hollows . . .

The short story “Angel’s Song” will be in the next newsletter to go out. You might have seen it last year, but re-gifting is next to recycling, eh? To sign up, just click: SignUp

But I can’t let today go by without partaking in another of my holiday traditions, so from all of us at the Harrison Household, to you. Merry Christmas!

 

‘Twas the week before Christmas, and up in the Hollows,
Solstice bonfires were burning, to toast the marshmallows.

The pixies were snug in their stump, even Jenks,
Who claimed he was tired, and needed some winks.

So I in my parka, and Ivy in her boots,
Were toasting the season, with thirty-year hooch.

When out in the street, there came such a crash,
I thought that it had to be ‘coons in our trash.

Away to the gate, I trudged through the snow,
While Ivy just said, “If it’s Kist, say hello.”

I lifted the latch, and peered to the street,
My face went quite cold.  We were in it thigh deep.

‘Twas a demon, who stood in the headlamps quite bright,
With his coat of green velvet, and his uncommon height.

His eyes, how they glittered, his teeth how they gnashed,
His voice, how he bellowed, his tongue, how it lashed.

The street wasn’t holy, so on Big Al came,
As he bellowed, and shouted, and called me by name.

“Morgan, you witch.  You’re a pain in my side.
“Get out of your church.  There’s no place to hide!”

Like hell’s fury unleashed, he strode to my door,
Where he hammered and cursed, like a cheap jilted whore.

But Ivy and I, we circled round back,
To stand in the street and prepare for attack.

“You loser,” I shouted.  “I’m waiting for you.”
And the demon, he spun, taking on a red hue.

Ivy stood ready, and I whispered, “Okay . . .
“If he wants to get rough, I’m ready to play.”

With nary a word, us two girls got to work,
Putting foot into gut, of the soul-sucking jerk.

I circled him quick, with a few words of Latin,
While Ivy distracted him with lots of good wackin’

“Get back!” I yelled out when my trap was complete,
And Ivy somersaulted right over the creep.

My circle sprang up, entrapping him surely,
Al fussed and he fumed, like a demonic fury.

The neighbors all cheered, and came out of their houses,
Where they’d watched the whole thing, like little house mouses.

So Ivy and I, we both bowed real low,
Then banished Big Al, in an overdone show.

But I heard Al exclaim, ‘ere he poofed from our sight
“You won this time witch, but I’ll get you one night!”

Kim Harrison
December 14th, 2005

Kim and Guy wish you and yours all the best of the holiday season and a glowing new year.

 

30 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

30 responses to “‘Twas the week before Christmas, and up in the Hollows . . .

  1. jenah

    Happy Solstice and Happy Christmas to you and your family.

  2. Sisi

    I love this holiday tradition! Merry Chrstmas and Happy New Year to you and your family.

  3. Marcia Siehr

    I love this tradition a little more each year! Merry Christmas Kim and company… fur people included. Merry Christmas to all my fellow KH Drama blog readers. you are a great group to be a part of!

  4. Martin

    Thank you again for the poem and short story. I appreciate the re-gifting. Happy Solstice. Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year, to all of you and yours.

  5. John Richeson

    Thanks Kim for the poem.

    ________________________________

  6. Nicole

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! I wish you and your family a peaceful and joyful time!

  7. Kerry

    awesome, love the Hollows books/ thank you an ahpy Holidays to you and yours as well.

  8. Chris Scott

    Merry Christmas Kim & a Happy New Year 🍹😊

  9. Jennifer

    Loved both the Hollow’s poem & Angel’s Song (what a tear jerker!) You are a master of the craft, Ms. Harrison!

  10. SquidgeWA (aka JKH)

    I can’t bear Angel’s Song this year. My daughter died suddenly 2 months ago, and this year the whole season is rough. But I send my best wishes to you and yours for the very happiest, healthiest Christmas, New Year’s, and beyond.

    • Squidge, I’m so sorry for you. I remember when you mentioned it before, but I can imagine it’s really hard this time of year.

    • Martin

      I’m so sorry for your loss. It is very hard, especially at holidays, but I can promise it does get easier to bear, but it will take time. Hug.

  11. Karen

    Always enjoy this and Angel’s Song too. Thank you and have a Merry Christmas!

  12. Kathy

    Haha! Haven’t seen that one before! Awesome! Merry Christmas!

  13. Jaimeklc

    Merry Christmas Kim, Guy, Thing 1 and Thing 2, and all of the fur babies!

  14. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  15. Laura D

    That poem will never get old, with Rachel and Ivy all set to go. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  16. Rosaura Sanchez

    Merry Christmas and a super Happy New Year

  17. Rosaura Sanchez

    That was amazing, I loved it!! Awww I miss them so much. Please..please..pleeeease! One more book. There are still so many stories left in the Hollows and spinoffs. I know you want to do other stories and that’s ok, but I’ve never read such an unbelievably good series. I don’t think it needed to end, it could have gone on forever and never get boring. Please rethink it and write some more. Thank you. From a very loyal fan.

  18. Always a favorite, thank you for sharing again. Merry Christmas to you and Guy!

  19. lonegunwoman

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  20. Sue

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Your Chrismas poem brings back how much I miss the Hollows, guess I’ll have to start reading them over. Merry Christmas!

  21. Judy

    Love it!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  22. Claudia D.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to your household Kim and to all your fans.

  23. Anne

    Hope you have a very Happy Christmas and a brilliant New Year

  24. Sandra

    Thank you so much Kim!! Happy Holidays to your household as well. Best wishes for a successful New Year❤

  25. stephanie

    Traditions are fun! I’m thinking of starting a new one each year from now on since I’ve lost so many over the years! I miss having them and what they remind me of! Happy Holidays to you both and a Shiny New Year!

  26. Barbara

    I really miss the Hollows books wish they could go on and on. Maybe a series about Jenks and his family or something similar?

Leave a Reply

