What weekends are for

So, Friday I finished up with the last chapter of Peri, knowing I wasn’t quite happy with it, and I spent all weekend mulling over why. Long story short, I’m opening it back up today to tweak the last two chapters again. To be honest, if I can pull off what I want to do, the entire story will need minor shifts in a handful of chapters, but if it’s the last two they culminate in, so that’s where I’m headed today.

This has been a weird one to write, and most of that is because it’s still new and I’m finding the layers. It’s sort of how you get to know someone. You can’t get to know anyone within that first date, and you can’t write good fiction in the first, second, or even third draft.

First impressions are what your date is wearing, how they talk, body language, who they are trying to be–this is like the rough plot, as in “this is what I the writer want to accomplish.”

Then you get to know a few things that the public doesn’t, like family, interests, stuff that makes the person something other than they want to be–this is the motivations that move the plot and make actions make sense. This is what the work is actually saying under the action and adventure.

Thirdly you start to know the person well enough that you can predict what they like, don’t like, how they will react, more intimate details–now we’re into the lies the characters tell themselves, how they fight against their own best interests, find complex interactions and feelings that move the story, sometimes in a big way. This is where I’m at with Peri, and though I love this part as the knowledge gained here is the stuff that really opens the world up for me both in scope and interest, it’s kind of a pain to have to go back and do another rewrite, even if this rewrite is the one that will shift the work from potential good to actual good. Fortunately it will be a fast one.

 

19 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

19 responses to “What weekends are for

  1. Tim

    Someone mentioned Into The Woods and it reminded me of Ivy’s Undead in the Garden of Good and Evil.
    Jesus, that was depressing:O

  2. To see you go from being in a well established world into one that is only opening itself up to you is a new experience for me! I like it!

  3. Kimberly I

    Good luck with your re-write. I know it’s a pain, but then again.. if it were easy… everyone would do itπŸ˜‰.
    And you know that in the end.. you’ll be happier that you did. Much more to be proud of in the long run.

  4. Thanks for sharing the insight; I always enjoy learning about a writer’s process for developing their stories. It’s enlightening to know that it takes more than one or two rewrites to get a story to the level that you feel comfortable sharing with the public. Expressing those rewrites as a series of dates where you find out about the characters is a wonderful analogy.

  5. Christine

    I am reading “Into the Woods” and I love the short stories. I am currently on the one with Brent and Jinks – “Million-Dollar Baby”. However, it got me thinking how much I would love a short, or long story for that matter, about Jinks before he met his wife, when he met his wife and there early years together before the I.S. . If such a story or stories exist can you point me in the right direction or could you please, please write it/them! Thanks so much for all the great hours of reading and imagery, wait that’s not quite write more like reading and escape, pretend … I sure you get the idea. Anyway thanks for it all. The Hollows series is one of my all time favorites.
    Sincerely,
    ~ C

    • Thanks, Christine. I’ve heard that request a lot. The only one I have with Jenks and Matalina is Ley Line Drifter, which is in INTO THE WOODS. But given time, I might write a new one. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the Hollows. Thanks!

  6. Sounds like you had an interesting weekend.

  7. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim-I didn’t do much except roast a stuffed chicken.Now Smudge and I are lounging around with full tummies.(Smudge dearly loves roast chicken(but not stuffing) Also I bought a bunch of books by that Dawn Cook person

  8. When you start a new series do you get to renegotiate for more money or perks(better hotels, swag, dinners)? Since you have the book of the century I feel you should get more $$$. I am biased, but your characters snare you in their trap of wanting more and more books
    in a series not just because of the characters but the entire stories are so great to get lost in. Since the very 1st books of Hallows I was given after my accident, I have always “felt a please don’t let this end so soon” with every book I have read. That’s why I have come to hate trilogy books lately. You get entrenched in them only to know it ends in the third. Have a great day. I am sure your book will be fine do not get too stressed right away over it.

    • Hi SR. It’s not necessarily a new series that prompts negotiation, but a new contract, which usually coincides with a new series, but not always, and there are usually only tweaks to the old contract.
      I’m so glad you are enjoying the Hollows so much. It has been an honor and a privilege to be allowed to write so much in the same world.

  9. Diva

    Can’t wait to meet her!

  10. vampgirl1988

    can’t wait to read the new book !!! it sounds like it gonna be a good one ! and i’m glad that you share with us on here. it just makes it hard to wait to read the next book !!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

