Days until INTO THE WOODS

My Into the Woods countdown has clicked from months to days, and I’m getting excited!  It could be because of the chance to bring you all the previously released Hollows extras in one spot, but if I was honest, it’s the new stuff, the handful of ideas that had been simmering in my “cabinet of awesomeness” for the last five to ten years, the chance to bring a breath of life into them and see if there was another epic-long story hidden in their kernel of ideas–or just a novella.

I know I’ve brought this up before, but if you are not going to be at Comic Con NY, the only way right now to get one of these bad boy’s signed is through Nicola’s.  If you put your oder in by the third of October, they will even try to get it to you by the drop date.  It just doesn’t get easier than that.  How to order  International orders are okay, but you have to call them. ( 734-662-0600)  And remember, Ann Arbor is in the Eastern Time zone, so no 3am calls please.  :-)

I’ll be the first to tell you that Rachel is a hard act to follow, and if you want a look at what you’ll find in the new stuff, you can get one of the stories, Pet Shop Boys, early.  It’s been released as a reduced price e-book along with the first chapter of Ever After.  There’s like a dozen platforms you can read this on, so I’m going to list the top ones only.

Amazon:  Pet Shop Boys with Ever After chapter

Barnes and Noble: Pet Shop Boys with Ever After chapter

iTunes: Pet Shop Boys with Ever After chapter

Sony: Pet Shop Boys with Ever After chapter

Kobo: Pet Shop Boys with Ever After chapter

As a personal note, I’m pleasantly exhausted this morning.  I woke up Sunday, trying to decide if I was going to my home improvement store to get some block for a new landscaping effort and suddenly realized I had 40 daffodil bulbs coming in about a week–and the bed I wanted to put them in was covered in mulch and hadn’t had a shovel in it in the last three years.  So I boxed up the mulch and started digging.  Surprisingly there were no major roots to contend with, but I had to slow down to pull out about five quarts of a rather interesting bulb, the white version of Glory of the Snow.  Most of them were too deep to flower, and I’m still trying to decide if I’m going to put them back in the ground or into the composter.  Ahhhh, who am I kidding.  I’ll put them back in the ground.

15 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

15 responses to “Days until INTO THE WOODS

  1. Zipped right over to Amazon and bought it. Loaded it on my Kindle. Ah, the joy when I climb into my wonderful bed and curl up with a new story from you. Thanks!

  2. jkh

    Hey Jim-from-Warren, your Smudge orders up marinated flank steak, my Oliver gets Iams + Greenies (and the occasional taste of yogurt, or tuna, or turkey). Who’s got a more indulgent person?

  3. I’m not reading any sneak peeks. I’m not reading any sneak peeks. I’m not reading any sneak peeks. Well, I might read a sneak peek.

  4. Carla Lewis

    I just finished reading ‘Pet Shop Boys’. I really enjoyed this short story, it was very engaging and I would love to see this become a new series. I hope you do develop this one Kim. I would like to see it told in first person though, I find that Cooper is a very interesting character and I would love for him to tell the story. Even within this short story, you were able to do an excellent job building a very intriguing world. I have not read the other hopefuls and i’m looking forward to reading them- I have already preordered my copy of ‘Into the Woods’-but this story definitely has my vote.
    I liked the first chapter of ‘Ever After’. I am eagerly awaiting the release date so I can devour it as well. I had a bit of a question though. My impression from reading ‘A Perfect Blood’ was that Rachel had finally gotten over her averison to working with Trent. Is that true? She still seems a bit put out with him at first, only later softening.

    • Shantil

      I think her aversion this time is that it will seem like she’s babysitting him, and doesn’t want him to think that she believes he can’t take care of himself. He’s gone to great lengths to prove to everyone, and himself, really, that he can do things on his own. And remember how upset she was when she thought Trent wouldn’t remember taking down Dr Cordova and Eloy at the coffeehouse.
      I like the idea of Rachel being his back up, though I doubt (like Rachel) that Trent’ll see it that way.
      I also love the fact that she kept jumping to the wrong (and negative) conclusions about him. After years of hating him, no matter how well they get along now, it’s so Rachel-like to jump to conclusions about Trent being a bastard so quickly. She has learnt to trust (and even like) Trent, but past hates are hard to forget.

  5. I read Pet Shop Boys last night while sitting in “The Hollows” looking across at the Cincinnati skyline. Of course the first thing I did was go to the back and read the first chapter of Ever After!🙂 Can’t wait for the rest of the book and Pet Shop Boys was entertaining, several intriguing characters there!

  6. Sounds cool! Looking forward to it!

  7. jkh

    Still not peeking, but it’s hard, so hard…I’ll be ordering Into the Woods this afternoon, to go on my Kindle. Kind of excited to finally be using the Kindle I bought myself last year.

  8. Kim

    Can’t wait, I’m always excited for anything you write, Kim. One of the reasons I love The Hollows so much is bc you are so true to your stories. I hate reading a great book and then seeing that the author is nothing like the world he or she has created; it’s makes me feel like they r just in it to make money not the creation of the story. But with Kim, it’s different; I look at her and see The Hollows; it’s like she just exudes it and I can feel it in her books and stories. That’s why I think she is the best female author of her genre and I’ve read many others and I can’t believe the Twlight and The Sookie Stackhouse (trueblood) books have become so big when The Hollows series blows them out of the water; even Kelly Armstrong’s Other Worldly series is better then Twlight and True Blood and she doesn’t get the accolades she deserves either (she’s the only other author in this genre that is on Kim’s level) but that’s just this Kim’s opinion🙂
    Basicly I wanna say, We love you, Ms. Harrison. Thank you for allowing me and the rest of your readers to leave this world and live in the Hollows if only for a little while.

  9. Hey Kim! Is the short story after the paperback of A Perfect Blood in the new anthology?

  10. I love it when the countdown clock goes under a month. I’m so excited and cannot wait for it to come out. Everyone must be doing there outside work this weekend. We were replacing our deck. Ahhh, good times. lol

  11. Cyn

    I read Pet Shop Boys last night and thoroughly enjoyed it! I am not a fan of short stories because…they’re too short. Would love to see more of that story!

    Loved the first chapter of Ever After, my greedy little soul can’t wait for the rest of the book😀.

    Have a wonderful week!

    Cyn

  12. Brenda Mossbarger

    Glory of the Snow, so THAT’S what they are called! Have them all over my yard, I dug up a bunch of them this past spring and transplanted them to my already overcrowded beds.

    I did manage to dig up 5 hostas and 2 coral bells yesterday. Now that I don’t have any trees in my yard, they just burn up!

    Yay me! Room for something more interesting!

Leave a Reply

