Ahhhhhhh . . .

Feels good to be back at my desk, the house wrens singing and the nestlings of chickadees flitting through on their way to the next garden.  It’s going to be hot again today, but right now all the windows are open and the 66 F air is slipping through the house and my office.  I’m guessing I’ve got until ten before I have to shut everything up and hide in the dark to try to stay cool.

June is OVER and I’ve soaked up the two weeks I hammered all spring to get with home-life stuff, and now I have 200 pages to write in a month to keep to my yearly schedule.  I’ll admit that it feels good to get back to my desk.  My mind is already switching into creative mode.  This morning, I had an interesting, non-Hollows dream of a young woman lost in the woods who stumbles into a troll’s garden and is captured.  Very much a beauty and beast situation.  But it means everything is switched on and I’m ready to rock on the last 200 pages of this beast.

Whoo-hoo!

P.S.  My favorite song was on the radio this morning when I fired it up.  It’s going to be a good day, darn it, no matter what it throws at me.

14 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

14 responses to “Ahhhhhhh . . .

  1. A dream about a troll’s garden? Methinks you’ve got Muse juice flowing in your veins, Kim. Owning the love button here. Hope temps break soon. Today’s the first day in a week that I haven’t turned on our air and it’s still going up to 90 – but we’ve that dry heat, you know.

  2. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Great to hear ur ready to rock out on some storytelling. I’m excited to read more of ur work.
    As for me and the boys, we are spending some time in the white mountains, as we always do to celebrate the 4th. I love the lil shops, the friendly people, and the gorgeous landscapes.
    Cheers to anyone celebrating our freedom on Wednesday! Have fun and be safe.

    Ps. There is a nudist camp on the way up. Is it bad I’m always curious as we drive by, and yet I tell myself it could very well be full of the ones I DON’T wanna see naked.

    • Martin

      Hi Lynn,
      90% of everybody looks better with clothes on!!! Most people who hang out at nudist camps are NOT attractive without clothing. After the shock and the titillation wears off, human bodies are actually pretty boring, and the average is pretty average.
      Martin

  3. jkh

    I was just reading about the horrible heat wave that most of the continent is experiencing. Here in the Pacific NW we have our grey-flannel ceiling and cool temps–lousy for the tomato plant on my balcony. There should be a more even distribution of heat and humidity, I think.
    Glad you’ve enjoyed your Home Time and equally glad you’re happy to be back at your desk.

  4. Speedi

    I don’t know where you are, Kim, but I’m here in South Carolina and the heat here is insane!! Saturday was the absolute worse. I thought I would die from the heat that night! Anyhow, we have a new air-conditioner now and have cooled off since. Thank God!

    We have a lot of Brown Wrens and Chickadees here in the Carolinas as well. (The Carolina Wren is our state bird) We also have a family of Red-Shoulder hawks living in the neighborhood. Whoo-Hoo! I LOVE hawks. Let’s see: Wrens, Chickadees, Mockingbirds, Tufted Titmouses, Woodpeckers, Summer Tanagers, Thrashers, Bluejays, Cardinals and Hawks…….all we need now is a family of Owls to complete the mix. I’ll just keep my fingers crossed.

    Happy Writing Kim!

  5. I made it to 10:30 before turning on the AC today. I used to have more tolerance for heat (I grew up in the south) but not any more–as I get older my temperature comfort zone is only about a 5 degree range!

    Glad to hear you are energized and ready to go back at the writing. I just got back from a two week vacation myself and am still trying to get back into a regular schedule.

  6. Lisa Mulder

    Have a great day, get a lot done and at the end of it, find time to relax and enjoy the outside😉

  7. Chris

    Woohoo! Happy to have you back🙂
    What is your favorite song?

  8. Vampyre

    Welcome back ma’am,

    You sound like you’re all fired up and ready go. Damn the blank pages, full speed ahead!

    V^^^^V

  9. Brenda M

    I’m glad you are feeling recharged and creative!

    We are dealing with the aftermath of the storms that rolled through Fort Wayne on Friday.

    Still no power for us and the heat is upon us!

  10. twiser

    Yay your back.🙂 Lucky you, it’s 8am and already 79 hear😦 And good luck on the writing but I have no doubt you can do it. Have a good day, though sounds like you will😀

  11. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim-Thats the way to do it,other than I have to run my air-con all the time. I don’t like air-con,but I like 95-100 f temps even less.Yay for the writing!

  12. Lynne

    Definitely a good day for writing!