Go on. I dare you.

I got absolutely nothing done yesterday in terms of page count, and I’m not happy about it.  Managed to get about six pages of dialog, which filled up about two hours of my day.  The rest . . . poof.  Day gone.  The final score: Father time-8, Author-2.

And I’m out of author chow.  how am I supposed to get anything done when I don’t have my author chow?  (snap, snap, bark, bark.)

I am blaming the weather, which is perfect, and the fact that I am trying to cram three projects into one summer after I just finished one that should have taken four months, and the one that really needs to happen is not moving forward at all.  (growl, bark, bark, bark!)

So if you are a telemarketer, and you call me this week, you are going to get the brunt of it.  Go on.  I dare you.  (Grrrrrrrrr, bark!)

15 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

15 responses to “Go on. I dare you.

  1. jkh

    Squirrel? Did you see a squirrel?

  2. Hang in there Kim!🙂
    Ive been having car issues lately, and when my cellPhone company called me to follow up on something with them I let the poor customer service guy have it on the phone.🙂

  3. Martin

    Hello Ms. Harrison,
    Since you had an appointment that cut your day in half, no one is surprised, except you, that your productivity suffered. Until you get an “S” tattooed on your chest, you are not Superwoman. I know this is a shock. Sometimes six pages of dialog is all that gets accomplished. Dialog is important too; its what the story, and the character interactions are built upon. There are days you have to accept quality over quantity.
    Martin

  4. jkh

    Considering how rare these occasions are for you, please don’t beat yourself up too much. Try a fierce half-hour ride on your bicycle…

  5. Oh Man Kim . . . I understand. You made me laugh already this morning and I am still trying to get kids ready for school. I hope you day is going to be much smoother soon! Maybe a telemarketer would be a good thing, burn off some of that extra energy! Good Luck on all your summer projects!

  6. old72jim

    Hi Ms. Kim–its Jim from Warren. At least Alex and Zander have the neighbors firmly in paw. And at times like this is time for a qt of plain yogurt and a stash of graham crackers

  7. We all have days like that.

  8. Diva

    Just keep swimming. 😉

  9. Well my fuzzy little author,

    be careful and don’t bite off more than you can chew. It seems like you work as hard as you can to get stuff done so you can have free time later. When later gets here you start another project instead of taking the time you wanted for something else.(Does that make sense? I’ve been up 23 hours)

    V^^^^V

    PS Thanks for answering my question about film rights.

  10. I sympathize. Know what you get when your five-year-old brings home strep-throat (in a household of eight)? Eight people on antibiotics, lots of Dr. appts, and five grumpy children who should be at school. Which means absolutely nothing else gets done. Ugh.

    • jkh

      Oh dear, Melanie! Be sure to get some yogurt into everybody, to restart the good guys in their guts. It does help. And it should only be a few days of max grumpy, followed by What do I do to keep everybody occupied? My sympathy.