Perils of Prose

A month spent plotting two books has left my brain thinking in very dumb ways and not always clearly.  I’ve seen this before, so it’s not anything new.  It makes for great plotting sessions as the mind has been conditioned to make fabulous jumps from very few bits of information, but it’s annoying and hard to reintegrate with normal society when you move on to other work.  (An itsy bitsy schizy, anyone?) This weekend, Guy and I have been having a lot of fun as I tell him what I thought he said.  Usually it’s more entertaining than reality.  “Very picturesque?  I though you said berries made her dress!”  This is either going to be a very good day or a very bad one.  I’ll let you know later.

26 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

26 responses to “Perils of Prose

  1. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    My Monday was.. meh. But ur post made me smile.. and Easter candy being 50% off helped too.
    Ah.. is it bad I’m thinking of Monty Python now. Specifically the guards to make sure the prince doesn’t leave the room.

  2. Howdy ma’am

    I submitted the pictures of the amazing USB Computer Kitty to Ellen today. I also told her a little about you, the upcoming Hallows series and sent a link to your web site and a You Tube if you talking about ODW.(I think)

    Once The Hollows becomes a big hit, you’re going to be in high demand so she should book you before the rush. 🙂 I hoipe This works out

    V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy. Dude! You trying to kill me with stress? -laugh- I’m burrowed into my work like a tick behind a dog’s ear–and I’m not coming out until it’s done. I’m so sick of PR right now. . .

  3. purrfectkatus

    Kim, that is amusing to say the least. My husband calls my spoonerisms Kataclysms. I combine phrases or reverse words in a sentence with ensuing hilarity for him and endless frustration for me. I have Fibromyalgia and it has gotten to the point of aphasia. Fortunately he is a wonderful right brained person who fills in my left brain personality. He can fill in my blanks with 90% accuracy I would say.

    He wants to write a novel so badly but cannot get his mojo going. He has it all plotted in his head but cannot get it but down to paper. I am his sounding board and sometimes I hear things that he has not said and repeat it back and we end up all night rewriting his story verbally. So we both have this conundrum that you have. The brain will straighten it out and you will soldier on. It is amazing however, that you can untwist it so quickly though, for your books to come out a year apart.
    Kat

    • jkh

      KAT: So sorry to learn of your Fibro…didn’t know it could progress to aphasia–da**it on your behalf. Tell your dear wonderful man to get out some 3×5 cards and write each character’s name on a card. Then leave them, or if he’s found he’s broken the barrier, continue on with character development, plot events, etc. Be sure to give him a kiss for accomplishment, whether large or small. The Taj Mahal was a beautiful idea, but it didn’t take shape until somebody drew an outline…

    • Hi Kat. Okay, you got me with aphasia. I don’t know that one.
      That is so cool that he wants to write and that YOU SUPPORT HIM. That you support his efforts is truly half the fuel he needs to accomplish it. I say go for it. I started by reading Guy the work I did the afternoon before. You never know where it will lead you.

  4. Victoria Eskey

    Hi Kim! I just wanted to say good luck! I hope your day ends up with a lot of good stuff for the page.
    You always say each writer is different, but I have been following some(okay most) of your advice and I just want to say OMG, you totally rock. Your advice is practical, east to follow, and open to modification. I have set a good chunk of my time, 3-4 hours is all I have to spare right now, for pure writing time. Having that structure has helped focus me, and keeps me going back to the same story.
    I had a moment of true breakthrough, and my Tabitha is racing through my thoughts. She now has 2 potential suitors -one that came out of nowhere- and each brings something different to her situation. I’m exhausted, but having a blast!

    • Victoria Eskey

      I meant to say easy to follow! *^_^*

    • Hi Victoria. 🙂 Thanks! It’s going well, actually. I’m agreeing with everything on the edit letter, so I can skip the “She doesn’t know what she’s talking about” stage and go right into the “Oh, she’s right. Why didn’t I see that earlier?” stage.
      That is fabulous that you are moving forward on your work. You’ll find that setting that time aside for it will really make a difference. 3-4 hours is a large chunk. You’ll get a lot done if you focus. It sound like you will–since you’re having fun. It’s too hard a job if you’re not having fun.
      But it sounds like you already know that part. 😉

  5. jkh

    Your post of today had me chuckling. The preoccupation of someone who’s deep into a project can be comical. I’ve done that sort of thing too many times.

  6. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren-I know what you mean. Since my stroke things I read and hear sometimes don’t make sense at all. I have to stop and work at it. Fortunately that usually works. In other news-I hope you didn’t O.D. on easter dinner. I did. Fortunately we now have hot ham sandwiches with brown mustard to look forward to.

    • jkh

      Your mentions of ham with pineapple and ham ‘n’ brown mustard sandwiches have me lusting after them. I may do something drastic with our left-over ham…

    • James R. Fox

      Hi JKH is Jim from Warren. Just don’t get cheap condiments, that’s all. The El-Cheapo store brand will ruin your day! Grind fresh peppercorns, buy hi-end mustard and salad dressings,and so on. The food doesn’tblow my budget, the fancy stuff does. Of course, cheat on the facies,and your roast hen in herbs and butter will NOT taste the same,guarrenteed.And don’t forget the sea salt. The sea-gull poop makes it fantastic,and nutritious too!

    • Hi Jim. I think if I got my ear fixed again it might take care of a lot of issues, (scar tissue build up) but quite honestly, I like hearing the weird stuff sometimes. It gives me a lot of ideas.

  7. Kim Rester

    I find your books a wonderful place to go when sadness fills my day, I look forward to each book you write, thank you for a wonderful world.

    • Kim, I really appreciate that. Thank you! Sometimes a healthy escapism is the name of the game, and I’m glad you’re finding that here in my work. Thank you.

  8. MelanieS

    It’s like talking with my husband. I have poor hearing and he does the guy mumble. We wind up sounding like the line in PCU.

    From the movie PCU:
    Old Woman: Excuse me, but can you blow me where the pampers is?
    Gutter: What?
    Old Woman: Can you blow me where the pampers is?
    Gutter: What?
    Old Woman: Can you *show* me where the *campus* is?

  9. Antonio

    😎 Did you ever see the Steven Spielberg movie, Close Encounters Of The Third Kind? The main character, played by Richard Dreyfuss, is compelled by visions to build a model of a mountain in his living room. He spends all day bringing in mud and grass, anything he can find in his yard, to essentially build a big pile of crap in his house. He’s hoping that by building this giant mud pie it will somehow make sense to him and to others. When he’s done, he’s so happy, but his wife and family are mystified. They try to understand, but all they see is a mess. Sometimes, writing can feel like that, like your building one mystifying pile of crap after another. It’s good to have people in your life who don’t mind the occassional mess in the living room…so to speak. In the movie, the main character was, in the end, rewarded with clarity – his visions finally made sense. We should all be so lucky!

    • Hi Antonio. Yes! One of my favorite lines is when he tells the woman there’s a pass on the other side, and when she questions it, he tells her she should have tried sculpture. (Or something to that effect.)

  10. That’s why writers need writer friends – they understand the brain-think that goes on when one is in the midst of story construction. And that’s also why writers need to own their craft because, when this creative synapse stuff happens during conversations, the non-writer who knows you can reply, “It’s okay; she’s a writer.”

    • You are absolutely right, Jeannie, but then it’s kind of sad in a way. No one wants to be so different that it takes a special kind of thinking to understand them. Fortunately I’m done plotting and whatever’s being released or stimulated can shut down for a while and things can slide two notches back to reality.

  11. Martin

    Good Morning,
    That must be confusing. It’s good you take it in good humor. Getting frustrated about it would only increase the frustration. Some slow, deep breathing to calm the brain and some chakra meditation to balance the chi could help. The other cure is patience.
    Martin

    • I hear you, Martin. I enjoy the slips and wrong jumps until they start to negatively impact the people around me. Then I just feel dumb and frustrated. My dad is teaching me how to be graceful. I need to listen to him more.