Gettin’ ready for the weekend

It’s going to be hard sitting in my office today, but the threatened rain is going to help.  Hopefully it’s going to be warm enough I can open a window.  The sound of rain, like crickets, is always conducive to work.  And thanks to Guy and my agent, I am tired and cranky this morning.  They combined to put a bug of an idea in my bonnet, which made sleep difficult.  Mulled, and weighed, and finally threw the idea out as unworkable at about two in the morning before falling asleep, but it did spark another that I will be taking a solid, paper look at today.  Last night was not a waste of time by any stretch of the imagination, and I’m thankful for both my agent and husband for the muse-fule.   A paper look means that it’s already passed the is-this-going-to-make-Rachel-grow test, and unfortunately despite being shiny and attractive, and a whole lot of fun, the idea I was mulling over last night did nothing for Rachel’s character growth.  But the idea it spawned did.

And so the plot bunnies burn.

I’ll be working on plotting today, seeing if my new rock of an idea has a diamond in it or if it’s just a rock.  But even if it’s just a rock, that doesn’t mean it’s worthless.  Rocks are great for breaking glass houses.

44 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

44 responses to “Gettin’ ready for the weekend

  1. I saw the 13 book post on Facebook and I for one think it fabulous. Thirteen is so much more intriguing than 12 and happens to be my lucky number.

    I’m writing out some scenes today just to get a feel for them. They’ll definitely end up changing as I go. Writing out the dialogue first has really added an extra depth to my writing. So many things I didn’t know were going on are coming out now.

    • That is very cool, Stephenie! I’m a big believer in writing out the dialog first. I don’t know if I could do it any other way, now. Keep pressing forward!

  2. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    You say perhaps 13 Hollows books afterall on FB..!? And I say 13 sounds wonderful!🙂
    Also, thanks for the heads up on Vicki Pettersson. She’s a nice read while I wait for your releases in October.
    Hope you and yours had a lovely weekend.

    • Oh, very cool! I’m so glad you found Vicki’s work! Have you tried Jocelynn Drake’s yet?

      I’m excited about book 13. I’m plotting again this week. Whoo-hoo!

  3. Victoria Eskey

    I hope you find diamonds!🙂
    I have put on my “think-like-Kim” hat, and have organized, plotted and outlined the bahgeebers out of my latest writing project. I love my main character Tabitha, I love her progression, and even have a few ideas of where another book could follow. I’m having sooo much fun!! I am just worried that this part has come far too easy, and the brick wall is just waiting for me.
    The hardest part is finding time.

  4. Michelle Mottet

    Hey Kim, this is the first time I’ve ever replied to a blog let alone ever have been interested enough to follow someone’s blog. You know, a little shy since the world reads what I say too🙂. Regardless, I have really enjoyed keeping up with the book series, and reading your comments. I think its wonderful how you share your thoughts, new ideas and book covers and/or drawings with your fans. I’m usually quiet and in the background. Thanks for sharing.🙂

    • Michelle, I’m glad you finally posted. This is a fabulous group here. 🙂 I’m so pleased that you’re enjoying my work and are maybe coming away from the blog with some insight into what goes into writing for a living.

  5. Sean W.

    Hmmmm…

    “muse-fule” :O?…

    “moose-fuel” :P?……

    “MULE-FUSE” :D!

  6. Linda Lou

    “To thine own inner bunny be true”. That’s not how it goes -is it? Ha! Well, something like that.
    Climate change? I saw the PBS special Vampy was talking about. Scarey stuff. Especially when you live only 11 miles from Galveston Island. We’d be the first ones under water. I just wish the weatherman would get it right. All week he says “gonna rain Friday -it’s gonna rain Friday!!” So I cancel my tennis date -then it doesn’t freaking rain. That’s so wrong.

    • Vampyre

      I checked my elevation today. We are only 131ft above sea level. It may get a bit damp here in the future,

    • I try not to give PBS or National Geographic specials too much weight. Oh, they are spot on, but drama sells better than “we will adapt.” Adapting isn’t easy, though, and too many lives are going to be touched. It’s going to be ugly, and the true measure of people will be shown.

  7. twiser

    Saw FB. 13huh?😀

    • -grin- It’s official. I’ve not committed unit now, and now that I’ve plotted out book 12, I can say for sure there is a 13th that comes before it. (If that makes any sense.) I just didn’t know until I spent the time to plot things out.

    • I’m so relieved. I don’t have to go into reruns for at least two years. If you’ve plotted out 13, you have to write 12 too. Phew.

      Really, I’m already in reruns because I read each book at least twice, usually 3 or 4 times, albeit in various formats! Still, now that IS a weight off my mind!

  8. Have a great weekend Kim…. enjoy the rain, and I am praying for rain here as well. I feel exciting changes on the horizon……

  9. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren.Bad news-its raining and gettin cooler,plus my favorite neighbor couple are going to assisted living soon.He can’t get around too well anymore. Good news is that Smudge had her 6 mo check-up and is doing great. Quigley of course is jealous,but she’s only gonna be 8 in July. You have a totally great weekend!

    • jkh

      Well, congrats to super-senior Smudge, and remind Quigley that she’s a senior cat, too. Did she have to see the vet, too, for immunizations or whatever? Must be interesting to man-handle 2 cats at the same time…

    • Hi Jim. We had cold all weekend, too. I’m sorry to hear about your neighbor. That sucks dishwater. Congrats on Smudge!

  10. Okay, different strokes, different folks … when I get to that idea, I have to get out of bed and start writing it down, even if in the sketchiest form imaginable. Those idea are slippery and if I don’t grab hold of them, I fear they will run away!

  11. purrfectkatus

    If you throw that rock to check the tenacity of the glass, just make sure that it is not the stained glass window of the church…lol.

    I don’t know if the window is fixed since I have not had my chance to read Perfect Blood yet because I am relying on Ohio’s wonderful library system. I have managed to get caught up on the whole series from Every Which Way but Dead, due to Cuyahoga County Libraries. I started in September and with only a few hold ups (that is where I filled in with Avery Madison) and six months later I am down to APB. Not bad.

    Anyhow…it is cold and threatening thunderstorms on and off all week here in Ohio, so good time to cuddle up, procrastinate and do indoor things.

  12. Well, you probably didn’t get to open the windows and listen to the rain–it’s pretty cold out there! And I think I just heard thunder . . .

    The weekend forecast looks good, though, so hopefully you’ll get lots of plotting done and then be able to enjoy some nice weekend weather.

  13. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Back in the day, (96-97) there was a TV show that lasted 18 episodes plus it’s 2 hour pilot. It was called Dark Skies. It was set in the Kennedy era and was about how aliens were here and secretly altering our history and environment. Many historical events happened because of the aliens. There is of course a hero and a shady secret governmental agency trying to stop them. All in all, it was a really good show that no one watched so it died.

    I know you aren’t a TV person but I think you might have liked Dark Skies. Have a great week end.

    V^^^^V

  14. I didn’t have a chance to read yesterday’s post till this morning. The official word seems to be that the earth’s tilt shifted 25 cm (about 10 in). Minute in terms of the earth’s circumference but still a whopping big movement.

  15. genki

    I got a chocolate bar!
    I got a pack of gum!
    I got a popcorn ball!
    I got a rock…..

  16. mudepoz

    Heh. Funny. That happened to me from two directions yesterday. And that never happens to me.

    Keep in mind, even worthless rocks shine up to be pretty semiprecious gemstones or stalactites, or nourish the body, or…

    I’m tired. Have a great weekend. It’s pouring hard on the greenhouse roof and it’s too loud to think.

    • We got lots of rain Friday, which completely trashed any hope I might have had for working in the dirt this last weekend. Grrrr. Maybe I’m pushing it, but when I see green grass and stuff to do, I want to get out and do.