Five days in a row

One of the nice parts of my new office area is that I get to see the sun rise every morning.  It does a lot to wake me  up and I get to see where it rises change and the angle of it shift, almost weekly.  I’m very sun/season oriented, and seeing it move in a predicted and familiar pattern does a lot to keep me grounded in the now, especially when I’m working so much out of my head, making it winter or fall or such.

But being awake and in the same spot every morning has benefits, as in watching other animals going about their business, their actions changing with the angle of the sun.  For four days now, there has been a frustrated robin hopping along the gutter line of the garage.  I’ve watched her hop down to the bend in the downspout, checking it out to see if it might be a good spot to build a nest, and then awkwardly hopping down the old door rail still left on the side of the garage right under the eaves where the sliding door hung before they put in an electronic one, estimating her chances at building there.  It kills me knowing that even if she makes one, one of the neighborhood cats is going to knock it down like last year when she built in a hanging basket, (twice) or baring that, a jay will pluck out the babies one by one if she’s not attentive enough.

And yet . . .

If she is hoping, willing to try . . . How can I sit and do nothing?

So yesterday I bent a couple of little metal fences in a shallow cup, wired them together, and wedged them into the rail as a platform.  A few evergreen sticks that I trimmed from last week will give her a base to start from, and we will see.  It will be difficult for a cat to reach, and so there is only the jays and crows to be aware of.  That, I can do nothing about, as at least the dead go to support the living, unlike the cat who let the babies die of exposure on the ground.

Today, I watched the robin check it out, hopping in and out before she flew away–and it made me feel good.  Grounded.  A part of something bigger than just me.  It’s too soon to be building nests, but she knows it’s there, knows I’m watching through the window.  We’ll see.  It would be nice to have something other than the sun’s shifting patterns to ground me this summer.

29 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

29 responses to “Five days in a row

  1. Jennifer S

    I wish I could be as craft-oriented as you are. Still trying to find my way into being a “crafty” person after not having worked with crafts for a while. You are an inspiration. Thank you for your regular blog posts🙂

    • I’ve always been that way, Jennifer. It’s felt good to be able to get back to it these last few years. Raising kids really sucks up your free time. 🙂

  2. Beautiful Kim!
    Job well done with your help for the sweet robin. Let’s hope this year is better.
    Thought of you today at our comic store when I ran into some cool fridge magnets. I’ll post it online on your FB.
    Hope you had a great hump day. This week is flying by for me. Thursday will be here, and Friday is around the corner. Why is it when I want time to slow down, it speeds up?.. and vise versa. Oh well.. at least I love Fridays🙂

    • I’m loving my Fridays, too, Lynn! Ms. Robin stopped by again this morning, but true to her pattern, she didn’t stay long. It’s really early yet to be making a nest.

      I’ll keep an eye out for the magnets.

  3. Last week I saw a robin the backyard trying to pull a worm out of the ground. He pulled for a while but never did get the worm. After a while he hopped away, looked right at me and cocked his head. I swear he was saying, in bird body language, “I could get that worm if I wanted to. I’m just not that hungry.”

  4. mudepoz

    That looks like fun! The peregrines are nesting, or at least doing something, because once again the male is courting me. He pelts me with pigeon parts. Got my notice that I get a copy of PB! Yay! My birthday present to myself.

    And I’m playing with genetics, because what else is there to do on a sunny day.(I hear Kim groan) (No, I’m working on a lesson for PRA for breeders) Since dominant genes are easy to get rid of, and Rosewood is a recessive gene, we would have a quarter chance of a Rosewood afflicted kid, 2 carriers, and one clear. Assuming Trent can genetically engineer the gene so it isn’t lethal, there is a one in four chance a child would be a demon.

    This leads to all sorts of questions. Would a parent be willing to have a demon if it would save their child’s life? Could there be an ethnic cleansing by the H, since getting rid of dominants IS easy (just cull the ones that exhibit the trait, in this case the unaffected witches. Hapa would love that:P)

    Which then goes to, would it be genetic engineering for the witches, or could Trent possibly repair the gene or delete it from the genome so no witch would carry it.

    Because there really is another HEA. Ivy needs to keep her soul. Rachel needs her soulmate. The demons need to be able to procreate. And the witches need a solution to Rosewood Syndrome. Did I miss any?

    And you are finishing this series with two more books?

  5. Jenni Ebba

    I love watching the sparrows in my backyard while I sit in the sun with a good book in the early mornings. Luckily my cat is the only one on the block and he’s a little too slow and heavy to catch anything; let alone climb the fence to reach the trees where they nest.😀

    • We have five free-roaming cats in the neighborhood. It’s great for a sense of community, but they keep coming into my yard for a clean water source, and then eat the birds. I have a hard time not being angry with my neighbors for not providing water for their animals or leaving for work in the morning and making them stay outside all day, especially in the winter when my yard has the only running water in who knows how many blocks. (getting off my soapbox now)

  6. Linda Lou

    That’s a lucky birdie to have you watching out for it. The birds around here chase my cats and laugh at them.
    Coming back to TX? That’s the best news I’ve heard in a long time! Here’s hopin’…
    Glad to hear B&N is highlighting DWW. I always go into sensory overload when I walk in there. Makes it hard to find the true treasures…like you. A cousin told me about the Sookie Stackhouse novels. After reading them all I was in a B&N staring at Charlaine Harris’ books wishing there were more. Then I saw her name on the book to the right -said I’d love it. It was DWW. Boy was she right! Sometimes you just get lucky.

    • Oh, I love hearing about readers finding all the excellent work/series being done right now. You gotta pass on your experiences and share the love! 🙂

  7. jkh

    Yesterday morning as I ventured outdoors on a mundane chore, I stopped short and realized that the quality of the air had changed: it’s Spring! And birds were chattering, and that emphasized the fact. Your post reminded me of your wreath of nesting materials. I’m going to put out my cat’s comb-out and some short lengths of string (it’s lousy for tying things, but should make fine nesting material).

    • Yup! I felt it too, JKH, but we could still get some cold weather, so I’m being cautious and busying myself with starting some seeds inside this year. I hope you bring some birds in with your nesting string!

  8. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren.That is so cool! unfortunately we don’t have bird houses, although a herd of sparrows does hang out in the tree in my front yard. We also get eagles that live on the lake in the forest preserve near here.Don’t know what they want, the cats and other small feral animals know to stay out of the open during the day. I bet the eagles would love to meat Alex and Zander.(ooops meet) Do you get eagles from the lake? They live on the very edge of water,since they are too big to hunt in trees. they go for fish,water animals, and small creature that wander out into open areas to work on their tans.

    • Hi Jim. No eagles or ospreys, but we see the occasional sea gull. What we do have that is kind of exotic is sand hill cranes. Early in the morning, you can hear them croaking as they court each other. It is very primeval.

  9. Martin

    Thank you for being a good person, and for trying to make a difference in the world.

    • Thanks, Martin. I don’t know how helpful I’m going to be in this case. I always worry that the bird shelf/house I provide might not be a safe place, and then I’ve lured a bird into a deathtrap. But maybe it’s the thought that counts. :-S

  10. I enjoyed this post, thank you.

    In my culture, swallows nesting under the eaves of your house are believed to bring good luck and fortune to your home. Swallows aren’t so common in North America, but I’m sure robins will count too!

    • jkh

      Swallows do exist here, but they tend to stay away from urban areas. It’s wonderful to watch their aerobatics in the dusk.

    • I would be enchanted if a swallow nested under my eaves. But robins are a good second. They are very clean birds to have around.

  11. Vampyre

    Happy day ma’am,

    Good luck with the robin. I was pretty amazed with the one that put her nest in the wreath on the front door at my sister’s a few years ago. She couldn’t use her front door for 6 weeks. 🙂

    V^^^^V

  12. Victoria

    So sweet and thoughtful, shows just how thoughtful you are.

  13. Maureen

    For whatever reason, this post delighted me this morning. I hope you have many more lovely sunrises and robins.

  14. Surfin4Disney

    We shall crown you Kim, Queen of the Robin’s Watch