Weekend hijinks

I spent the weekend finally feeling as if I was back at home after tour–again finding the patterns that keep me balanced with work and play.  My big news is either that I purchased a new monitor (my old one was over ten years old) or that I got the leaves raked out of the lavender.  I’m going with the lavender as my favorite task of the weekend even though pie was attached to the trip into town because while on my hands and knees picking leaves from the vegetation, I found this little guy all hunkered down and struggling to focus.  Even though the air was warm, the ground was probably a lot colder, and he didn’t move, still loggy with hibernation.  That’s got to be hard to shake off.  The next day I saw him perked up, so I’m guessing he’s out and about by now.

I love toads, and have a long history with them and memories of my grandparents and uncle’s houses searching for toads in both their yards.  They chirp at you indignantly when you catch them, and pee on you to convince you to let them go, but they don’t bite and have gorgeous eyes.  If you ever want to see the glory of creation, just find a humble toad.  A rough, warty exterior with eyes that hold the swirling colors of creation.

So anyway, I worked all weekend outside clearing out the last of the leaves and moving a rock edging in preparation for some new foundation plantings that have to go in to the spot we took the old porch off of.  The ground is too wet to really plant anything, not to mention it’s too cold for anything but bushes and such, but now there are lines to stay within. I’m hoping that next weekend the ground will be dry enough to work.  I have two trees that need to be moved.

I will admit that I’m concerned that spring is moving forward too fast.  Oh, the puppies and I like the warm weather, and the bulbs that are springing up can take the snow, but the leaves are starting to come out on some of the more impatient bushes/trees.  My cherry tree is going to be blooming by the end of the week, and the blueberry bushes are getting ready to do the same.  It’s my lilac that I’m really watching as it’s an old bush and the leaves are already out.  It’s an heirloom variety that has probably been in the ground for the last 30 years, so it may know what it’s doing, but it’s raring to go, and I don’t know how much reserves it has since it’s been stuck in the shade until last year.  We shall see.  I don’t think we’re done with cold yet.  It’s only mid March.

As for the work, I’m currently breaking down my 4 page synopsis into chapters, and already things are changing.  It’s good, and I’m seeing even more that I want to do with my next rewrite of the previous book, EVER-AFTER.  And so it goes . . .

Also, if you haven’t taken advantage of the .99 price of the electronic version of Dead Witch Walking, you still have a few days to pick up a copy or use the promotion as a way to get your buds hooked on the Hollows.  Barnes and Novel has Dead Witch Walking as their spotlighted book this week, offering the e-book version to you for .99 cents for a limited time.   B&N Spotlight

And if B&N has Dead Witch Walking on sale for their Nooks, you know the rest will follow.
For Books-A-Million
Amazon Kindle
Kobo  Kobo especially is kind of cool because you can read it on just about anything, so if there is someone you are trying to get hooked on the Hollows, this might be it.  (The first one is almost free.  -laugh-)

34 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

34 responses to “Weekend hijinks

  1. Randy

    I love what you wrote about toads. I, too, am a toad lover, and it certainly has something to do with those strange, beautiful eyes. Do you remember the toad from Tuck Everlasting?

  2. Love the pic Kim. He is peeking out ever so carefully and blending in so very well. I’m too much of a chicken to catch or hold toads.. BUT, I love watching my lil boy do it.
    I voted on my phone and PC.. for Rachel, but she is just a little behind in the cage match. So if any of you haven’t voted yet.. please do. She kicks too much butt to go out as he has predicted.
    I wish I had my own yard and a green thumb like you. Perhaps when I get my own single family home I’ll have a nice little yard to experiment with. Until then I’ll continue to enjoy hearing all your tricks to guide me in the right direction.

    • Hi Lynn. That is so odd! I was out weeding last night and was thinking I didn’t know what I would do if I didn’t have a patch of green to relax in. I hope you get your own little patch of green some day. It is amazing what it can be.

  3. Denise Keef

    I love your little toad neighbor! We usually have quite a few in our flower beds out in back. It’s such a nice surprise to find one when I am out pulling weeds. We do have some great conversations even though it is usually one sided! Our Dwarf Peach tree is in full bloom as of yesterday and we will have an over abundance of sweet peaches again this year. I am so glad the men Steve works with love peaches and don’t mind taking them off our hands so they don’t go to waste. We can only eat just so many and eat so much peach cobbler before we get tired of them. I may try making peach jam this year! Also the two Forsythia bushes we planted last year are blooming…I planted them in memory of my Grandma who had a wall of them in her yard for as long as I can remember. I am so loving and enjoying this early Spring weather and spending time outside!

    • Hi Denise. Now that you mention it, I talk to toads too. -laugh- I’d be willing to bet that’s the norm. They just invite conversation. I think it’s the eyes. Ooooh, I hope you keep the warm weather and don’t lose your peaches! I bet your’e a little farther south than I am.

  4. jkh

    Mud, I love the non-toxic solution to the powdery mildew issue. Is that Ivory dishwashing liquid, or grated soap from a bar of Ivory soap?
    Now we’ve learned another little factoid about our dear Kim: she loves toads and sees beauty in their eyes. I’m not familiar with toads at all, don’t know the diff between toads and frogs, or turtles and tortoises either. And my laptop screen is too small for me to have identified that toad as anything other than a piece of a root.

    • Hi JKH. Frogs have smooth, wet skin like a wet suit and take shelter in water when scared. Toads have rough, dry, warty skin and pee on you when you pick them up. -laugh- Now you know.

  5. izzybella

    I finally finished APB and have spent much too much time over at the spoiler pages reading the Q&A. You have some smart fans! Anway, just wanted to say that I’m re-reading the series now and am so impressed how you laid the groundwork for later books. Rynn Cormel was in the first book and I just never noticed. And it’s fun to re-read knowing Ivy’s motivations. I just really enjoy this world you created, even though the world is not nearly grateful enough to Rachel!! Also kind of glad to ease up, because my TBR list has piled up while I’ve immersed myself in The Hollows. Got to finish Patricia Briggs and PD James over the weekend!🙂

    And toads are nifty! I don’t mind running into them when I garden, but I loathe running into garden snakes as I did last weekend…

    • Ih Izzybella. Cool! I’m glad you liked it. Thanks! I do like re-using my characters, yes, and Rynn Cormell is one of my faves.

      Ooooo sorry about the snake. They always give me the willies.

  6. Howdy ma’am,

    Big toad fan here too. I like Mud’s toad house idea. I’m going to try it. There are so many insects here, I get plenty of toads and gecko/lizards hunting them.

    Fuzzy likes capturing the geckos. Most of the time I can save them before she eats them. A couple of weeks ago, she brought in a small glass snake. They are kinda a rare and very cool. I saved it too. It wont be long before the windows close and the AC comes on.

    V^^^^V

  7. Toads two days before the Spring equinox – a sure sign nature is stirring awake. Sounds like you’re settling in to home life once again.
    Here in the high desert hills of north central Arizona it’s been snowing for 2 days. We have over a foot of heavy white snow and I lost 2 branches off the juniper pine outside my bedroom window yesterday, no damage other than the broken limbs. A bright robin sat all fluffed up on the spruce tree and stared at me while I journaled this morning as if I was to blame for the weather. All this beautiful snow will melt by mid-week. I’ll enjoy it while it’s here.

    • I’m so glad you got some snow, Jeannie. I know you guys depend on it for your water to a certain extent, and the west has had a dry winter. And as you say, it will be gone all too soon.

  8. Gail S

    Hi Kim, It is nice to be home and do all the things that you enjoy! I followed your tour progress & it sounds like you had a whirlwind blast of a time.🙂

    The weather has been nice! I’m waiting for the ‘other shoe’ to drop. We never have a March like this. Snow, rain, cold, windy is more the norm here in NWI. I’m hoping it stays this mild and we get to enjoy spring this year.😉

    Please don’t be afraid to drop us a hint now on then on how progress is going with your final outline and how it will affect EVER-AFTER….We’re always hungry for those obscure hints. LOL Have a great week.

    • Hi Gail. It was a whirlwind, yes! And I’m very glad to be home.

      I know what you mean about waiting for the other shoe to drop. This is just too good to be true.

      You have a great week, too!

  9. Melissa

    Kim, I too love toads! My husband, who is a landscaper, is afraid of them. I chase him around with one every chance I get! Childish? yes but so much fun!

  10. zieschlern

    Just read the cage match text. It was really tough seeing Rachel die, but at least she still owns the votes🙂

    amy

  11. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1086811006284.2015382.1106691725&type=3 I can’t check to see if this is public. I think it is. The pendant Faith made

  12. MelanieS

    Worried about our Lilacs too. We’ve got a Boomerang and I think the other two are Heirlooms. All three are babies. We just bought them two years ago. I’m really hoping this wacky Michigan weather isn’t going to switch on us and go too cold.

    Love the toad! I was peed on by many toads as a child.🙂

    • Oh, you know it’s going to get cold again, it’s just a matter of how cold. sigh. I heard somewhere that everyone’s gardening zone number has gone one warmer, but I don’t trust it.

  13. I too am concerned about the warm weather. Trees are budding and tulips are popping and I think it’s a bit early. I would love to find toads in my yard but no, I am finding dead voles, 2 in 2 weeks. I think a neighborhood cat is dropping them on my patio in homage!

  14. I’m not sure that the good weather is going to hold, but I whacked back a good part of the tall grasses and seed heads I like to look at during the winter.

    Toad: do you have a toad house? The easiest way to make them is with a squat clay pot, chip out an opening and flip it over so the toad has a place to live. The drainage hole keeps it from cooking:P

    How cool. Working back and forth between books.

    • Oh. To keep powdery mildew down on your lilacs, use about 2 Tb of refined horticultural oil, a Tb of baking soda and a Tb of Ivory soap to a gallon of water. Or so. I make mine to taste…Spray on leaves before the mildew. It’s a contact killer of bugs, too.

    • Thanks, Mud. I’ve got that written down. 🙂

    • Someone drove over my decorative toad abode and crushed it, so I’ve been using flat rocks to get the same effect. My mom is the one who introduced me to toad abodes almost 20 years ago. Man, has it been that long? I’m getting old.