Schuler Books and Music Grand Rapids–and home . . .

Guy and I landed in Detroit late Friday night, but we weren’t done quite yet, and Saturday afternoon, we made the drive out to Grand Rapids for the last event. I’d told my publicist that the only way I would get myself back out behind the podium after getting home would be if they had cake, and sure enough, they had cake!!They have three Schulers in Grand Rapids, and the event store has a fabulous space where they do stuff. Before I was there, they had live music and a book fair.

And we had roadies too! Lots of familiar faces from previous signings from as far away as Chicago and Toledo.  Harry and Bob showed up. See, I knew the cake was a good thing. Rachel was there too, but she and I didn’t end up on the bunny cam for some reason and I don’t have a photo. If you would like to see the rest of the photos, click here.

And now that I’m home, I’m able to keep up with all the cool stuff that’s been going on in the background.  New today is the SUVUDO March Madness cage match match up going on for a few more weeks.  Rachel beat out her first opponent, and today she’s up against Jonathan Strange of Susanna Clarke’s world.  I’ve read up the proposed write up of how the match went, and it’s kind of cool.  Go vote for your faves!  SUVUDO cage match

I also have last, but not least, a fabulous interview I with Assignment X while out at Dark Delicies.  Author Kim Harrison on A PERFECT BLOOD and the future of “The Hollows.”

 

16 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

16 responses to “Schuler Books and Music Grand Rapids–and home . . .

  1. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim–its jim from Warren. Two things, first glad you had a relaxing collapse. Two your question page does’nt like me. It keeps rejecting my e-mail,the one I use here,as invalid. do I yell at wordpress or do you speak sweetly to them?

    • Hi Jim. Mmmm, not sure what’s going on there. I hope it settles out soon. I bet it’s just a short-term glitch. Let me know if it doesn’t fix itself.

  2. M-m-m-m, cake. That would get me out of the house, too. Glad your tour went well, Kim.
    Cage match #2 has Rachel way ahead in votes – Go, Rach!!!
    Our weather is positively gorgeous today and will be all week – temps in the high 60s with sunshine. I’m dusting and spring cleaning my studio with doors and windows open for a couple of those late afternoon hours.

    • Thank you, Jeannie We had two weeks of really good traveling weather.
      Now that we’re home, we had lovely weather Sunday. Monday was rainy, but today looks good. It’s going to be hard to keep me inside.

  3. The weather is beautiful here in MA. Sounds like you have lovely weather too! What a nice way to kick off being back home. Its good to hear your already out in your yard preping with your green thumb. Maybe this year you’ll try at those blue tomatoes you were talking about..

  4. NickinColoma

    Ms Kim–I hope the cake was great after a long road trip. Sorry I missed you stopping inmy backyard, but you know work and all. Hope the trip was great. –NickinColoma

  5. Diva

    Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home. 🙂

  6. Great cake! Of course Rachel will win, she’s experienced in cage fights😉

  7. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    Glad to hear you and Guy are home safe. I think your “Happy Author Dance” is a sure fire cure for the blues. It makes everyone happy when you do it. 🙂

    V^^^^V

  8. MelanieS

    It was such a pleasure to meet you and Guy! My sister-in-law and I had never been to a book signing before. We loved hearing you read.

    You weren’t there yet, but someone there cracked us up! The rep for Schuler’s was asking us what kind of music we should listen to and someone shouted out, “You got Takata?”

    It was a lot of fun. Thank you for coming to GR after finally getting home.