Borderlands now has a cafe!!

Borderlands New Cafe full of Hollows readers

Borderlands in San Francisco has been one of my favorite bookstores for a long time, and it was wonderful to get back to them this year. Actually, I think it was one of the first that my publisher sent me to, and it’s great to see how much we’ve both changed in a positive way. When we first met, Borderlands was trying to get the property next to them to open up a cafe, and this year, I got to speak in it!  (If I had been thinking, I would have taken a better photo showing you how nice it is!)

If you haven’t been to Borderlands recently, you’ve got to check them out. I left a lot of signed books–not just A Perfect Blood, but most of the titles in mass market as well.

The crowd was a nice size, monopolizing a good part of the new cafe, and the sound system was excellent, so no worries about not hearing the Q&A.

Click to see the rest of the pictures from the event.

Also, if you remember a few weeks ago I sent out a call for all you artists who wanted to get your Hollows art out through the SUVUDO cage match.  Well, the matches are being played out, and for the next couple of days, Rachel is battling Eskiath from Richard Morgan’s THE COLD COMMANDS. There’s a fan fiction sort of breakdown of how it is expected to go as well, which is very cool.  Go vote for your favorite. The longer Rachel survives, the more of these we can enjoy.🙂  Vote for your favorite!  If she survives this one, she’s going to be up against  Jonathan Strange or Stony Mayhall.

Also, if you can’t make it to a signing and you want a personalized book, you have a few days left to get one from The Signed Page.  Patricia Briggs will be personalizing hers as well.  You can get to both our forms from the same link above.

And one last thing because I’m not sure when I will have good internet again, if you have not signed up for the live streaming event in Seattle with Patricia Briggs, do so now.  The longer you wait, the harder it is going to be to get that connection.  RSVP and Get your computers talking now!

18 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

18 responses to “Borderlands now has a cafe!!

  1. AKR (Trinidad)

    *lurking*🙂

  2. Claudia

    Hi Kim!
    I’m really excited to watch the live streaming of your book signing! Last year I watched it and it was really cool to see you live. I ordered a personalized copy of Blood Work from The Signed Page and I’m super excited to get it. I hope you’re having a really good time on your tour.
    I voted for Rachel. Go Rachel!
    Take care and have a nice day🙂

  3. Vampyre

    Happy Wednesday,

    On the way to work the other night, a black cat ran out in front of me. I ran over it. No bad luck for me! Okay, just kidding, I never came close to hitting it.

    If you think of it, tell PB hi for me. She has no idea who I am but I do love her work. I have her newest book, FAIR GAME, but I want to finish MASQUES first.

    V^^^^V

  4. Mercedes

    I am currently reading A Perfect Blood and i just want to say that it’s very good so far. I am extremely curious to see how Trent and Rachel’s relationship progresses. Thank you for being such a great writer!

  5. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim=its Jim from Warren.I’m glad to hear that your fav bookstore now has a cafe. Smudge wants to know who is the cat in charge,since they run bookstores,libraries and other cultural stuff.(many, like smudge’s favorite vet office manager, a large snow white tom,provide medical service to the indigent animals.)I am almost done with APB and we both LOVE it!

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Ms. Kim-I almost forgot,we are voting the straight Rachel ticket. Smudge is currently devising methods of putting in extra votes just like Chicago!

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Ms Kim-Smudge and I just got in some more Rachel votes,She’s gonna wipe the floor with him,even if she doesn’t flatten her ears screech her war cry, and land on him with all 20 claws like Smudge recommends,(she says her sensi taught her that when she got her black belt)

    • OMGosh, Jim. Don’t go too far! 🙂

  6. jkh

    Sigh. Not a snowball’s chance in the Sahara that I can make it to the Seattle event. We are in the middle of setting up in-home caregivers for my dad. It’s turning out to be quite a challenge. And as I mentioned, both my aging laptop and my bare-bones ISP make it too hard to watch it live/streaming. Double sigh. Good news is that my turn at a library copy of APB is coming soon.

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Jkh-its Jim from Warren. I have found that getting all providers from one service is best, It saves hassles. I did this after each of my two strokes, and getting nurses,drs and therapists from the same place so they all work from the same medical forms is a big help. they co-ordinated with my one pharmacy too.

    • I totally understand, JKH. Family comes first.

  7. I voted. Go Rachel! Also, RSVP’d for your event in Seattle.

    So I finished A Perfect Blood last night. Savoring every last bit. Wow! LOVED it. Your books always leave me feeling like “Sam” from Quantum Leap.. saying “Oh Boy”..🙂
    Can’t wait to see what happens next!