Weekend signings of A Perfect Blood


Mental note.  When in Denver, ask for a humidifier in the room.  OMGosh, you guys pay for that beautiful air.  I’m as uncomfortable right now as Jenks wearing polyester.  -laugh-    But after yesterday’s event in LA at Dark Delicacies, (which went great, by the way) Guy and I are back down to sea level and I’m soaking in the warmth and higher humidity.  Ahhhh.  I am truly a topical bug, doing best with warm, humid weather that you find at the beach.  I will just have to live with that curse.


Someday I’ll tell you about the unexpected snags this tour has heaped upon Guy and I, but in everything you can find a sparkle of good happenstance, and when fate put us in the back of the plane with rude people that we ended up laughing at, we were graced with clear skies over the Rocky Mountains.

 Beautiful!

Tattered Cover, Denver CO

Dark Delicacies and Tattered Cover are two of the few genre stores that are known in the industry to have been a part of its development, being a fixture in the past and hopefully the future.  It’s independents like these that make these tours possible, little islands of what used to be common, alert to change and welcoming it so as to keep moving forward and basically alive and thriving.

Dark Delicacies, Burbank CA (LA)

Like all independents, Dark Delicacies and Tattered Cover work hard at keeping their cliental happy, often knowing patrons by their first name and exactly what they like to read.  They know how to run a successful event, and I’m always sorry to not have more time to spend with the hands-on owners/operators, but even so, I can tell when someone has their heart in what they do, and both Dark Delicacies and the Tattered Cover are such stores.  The signings there this Friday and Saturday were fabulous, and I finally have photos up after Guy’s and my whirlwind air flight extravaganza on Saturday.  :-)

Tattered Cover
Dark Delicacies

Tonight, I’ll be at another such independent store in San Diego.  I’ll be honest.  Mysterious Galaxy is probably my favorite of such movers-and-shakers in the industry.  I think it’s because it was one of the first stores that my publisher sent me to, all the way across the US and four time zones where they welcomed me as if I had something to say worth hearing.  It has been interesting to see how both “Kim Harrison World” and Mysterious Galaxy have changed in the last five years or so.  Dude, if you don’t keep swimming, you sink. It’s a good thing we both think the water is fine.  :-)

Hope to see some of you there tonight!

17 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

17 responses to “Weekend signings of A Perfect Blood

  1. I’m sorry that there have been some snags with the tour! I’m sure that’s a pain to deal with. But we really appreciate that you can come out an tour!

    • The merger between two airlines caused a lot of grief, Erika. I wasn’t sure we’d actually make it anywhere for a while. But you know I love what I do. 🙂

  2. Jan V.

    My gosh….The Rocky Mountains are breath-taking.

  3. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren. Turns out my aide could only take me shopping today,so guess who got to hobble,drag, and moan through the sleet and slush and snow.Anything for Smudge and Quigley

    • jkh

      Aw, hon, sorry to hear it. Do any of your markets have complimentary electric scooters to use in the store? I resort to one now and then when the ol’ lumbar is protesting too much. But I understand: Rule No. 1 for the caregivers of cats is Never run out of cat food or kitty litter. Never. Enjoy a Tylenol or Motrin or whatever, if you can. Me, I’m up for 2 ibuprofen tonight.

    • Vampyre

      I’m a fan of Aleve myself…

    • I’m glad you got to get out, Jim. That’s what keeps the blood flowing.

  4. James

    Hi Kim, Guy.
    It was such a pleasure to meet both of you Saturday.
    Thank you for signing three of my books (I know, It was only supposed to be two) it meant the world to me. Something I can look back years from now and smile.
    I think the one thing that impressed me the most is Guy knowing my e-mail address!! haggis62… I mean WOW of all the e-mails and letters and comments you two get, And you know Mine! Truly Amazing!
    It was worth the 40 mile drive just to shake both of your hands.
    Have you ever considered doing a signing in the Orange County area? We have lots of book stores and one of the largest comic book stores in the country in Anaheim.
    Thank you for writting such fun books to read. Thery are like Harry Potter but on stelroids!!! lol

    • It was great to meet you too, James! I can’t say if I’ll ever get out to Orange County. I go where my publisher sends me, but it’s always a pleasure to be asked. 🙂
      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books. Thanks!

  5. Linda, formally of Dublin, but now living in Leeds

    It’s been a long while since I’ve left a comment here, but had to to say LOVING the new book! You are amazing! Hope the rest of the tour goes well 🙂

  6. Fashion loves coffee

    Kim, i cannot even imagine what a pain some stuff can be for you and your family on the tour, but you know how much your fans appreciate it! We love getting a chance to see you and ask you questions in person. Both of the photos from the plane are beautiful! Thank you for sharing. I finished the book 3 days ago and i loved it, really happy with the way things are turning out, and thank you again for putting your wonderful imagination on paper.. Cant wait for more!!! Hope the remainder of your tour goes well. And I’m glad you liked the video i posted🙂

    Jennifer Mi

    • James

      Likes Jen’s comments. i couldnt have said it better myself. 😉

    • Thank you, Jennifer. I appreciate that. It is grueling, and I lose track of the days, but it’s all worth it seeing you guys smile and ask me questions about the books.
      I hope you like what’s coming!
      PS the video was fab!

  7. Shel

    LOL I know Dark Delicacies for another reason entirely…BPAL!!