Valentines? No, nachos!

Life is best taken when the highs and lows are bracketed by traditions.  They help us more accurately see  where we are and how far we’ve come, that the bad times were still okay, and the good times will always be remembered.

So how do nachos fit in there, you might ask?

Well . . .   See . . .  There’s a long story here, the quick version being that Guy’s and my first Valentines was spent with nachos, and . . . ah . . . the Westminster Dog show.  (Both of us forgot what day it was.)  And for that reason, every year on or around Valentines day, we will take two nights from our busy lives and plunk ourselves in front of the TV and make nachos and watch the dogs.   Bracket this with two decades, and you can see what I mean when I say traditions let the changes, both good and bad, show in the glowy light of love.

So there are chocolates that only go to “waist,” cards that end up in a drawer, and flowers that wilt and line the bin three days later.  They are all beautiful expressions of love–and woe be to the guy who fails to deliver when the gal expects them–but I think I’ll keep my nachos and dog show.  They have served me well so far.

For more info and to watch along, click

58 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

58 responses to “Valentines? No, nachos!

  1. Hey Kim.. haven’t spoken to you in years, but have kept reading. This is Mad Monica from the old Hollows list. Just wanted to tell you how much I appreciated this particular set of words from this new book: “Maybe your dad can fix something.”
    I knew he meant Takata, not the man who had actually raised me, and
    I grimaced. I was tired of going to other people for help”

    It’s been a rough few years.. my husband died couple days before Christmas 2010 and that combined with my mom going in 2006 and all the other drama really messed things up. And I am CONSTANTLY hearing folks “You think your dad can help again?” I understand EXACTLY how Rachel feels. Dunno why this made me feel better, but it did.

    Anyhow, thanks for the books, again, and glad you’re still kicking a$$..

    • Monica! It is so great to hear from you. I don’t recall what we talked about at the Yahoo group, but I do remember you. 😉

      I’m so sorry to hear about your rough spot, but yes. Friends and relatives are a blessing, but getting through it on your own has its own feeling of peace and strength.

      I hope everything smooths out soon if it has not already.

  2. Random Thoughts

    Breakfast. Hubby and I go to breakfast the Saturday AFTER Valentines Day. That way we don’t have to worry about missing it, there’s no crowds, and we can spend the time just be us together.

  3. Linda Lou

    Valentine’s Day kinda sucks when you don’t have anyone to share it with. And I don’t. I will not get down about it -too much. Maybe I’ll try watching the dog show with my border collies. They might enjoy barking at the dogs on TV.
    Looks like you guys are in for some wicked weather. It’s times like these I’m glad I live so far south. I’m not that crazy about cold temps.

    • It was cold over the weekend, but the sun has a warmth to it today, LInda. As much as I complain about the cold, I made the move to it intentionally. I like what the cold brings.

      Yep, the card companies are very busy selling their idea of pairs, but solo is not a bad thing to be. To be a successful half of a pair, sometimes you have to know how to be a successful solo first.

      I’ll be cheering for the Border Collies myself. I had one while my boys were growing up. Very smart dog. It was hard watching the meds slow her down at the end.

  4. Westminster is to me as The World Series is to serious baseball fans, though I watch that, too. I’ve been watching Westminster since I was a child. Now my husband and I watch it together. Glad we aren’t the only couple! For dog lovers, this is the sports event of the year. Do you love “Best in Show” too? Great stuff!

  5. Lisa

    Chinese takeout for us

  6. jkh

    I think that your V-day tradition is perhaps the nicest thing I know about you two. And now I gotta have some nachos!

    Happy weekend, Happy Westminster…

  7. Marsha

    20 years? I’d say if “it ain’t broke don’t fix it”. Sounds like a wonderful tradition. Have a great weekend and a great Valentine’s Day.

  8. Howdy ma’am,

    So I wake up the crack of noon , starving, and the first thing see is nachos? Now I have a major nacho craving.

    Actually, I was up at 5. Fuzzy woke me up with her incessant ‘meowwt meowwt’ and a cold damp nose to the ear. After 3 hours of gaming(Kingdom of Amalur:The Reckoning) I went back to sleep. I missed the Price is Right too.

    Man it seems like it was Friday just yesterday. Se you Monday.

    V^^^^V

    me and ‘my Valentin?

  9. Mmmm…nachos. I think I’m having tex-mex for lunch now. I think your tradition is fantastic. Bear in mind, this is coming from a single person, but I’m not too crazy about the idea of Valentine’s Day anway. That’s just because my parents have never celebrated-they have one of those mythical marriages where they do kind things for one another all the time, so Valentine’s is basically…Tuesday. So to speak. I wish for you (and your readers) that every day is Valentine’s Day!

  10. Janelle

    That’s a great tradition Kim! I think it’s awesome to see that my Valentine’s Day tradition of getting hot wings with the boyfriend is shared by other avid readers. Valentine’s Day wings are the BEST.

  11. I love it. Finding your own thing that works, and then making it a tradition is fun and romantic. Some things are too good to change.
    Mmm nachos.

  12. Elizabeth

    LOL..Someone mention hot wings? Me and the hubby have so much fun together and love spending time with each other. We plan the big dinner with wine and candlelight, but after a week of hard work and exhaustion..it’s out for some “wings and a beer” tradition! LOL…Hope your is a good one too Kim! Enjoy!

  13. Jenny

    Your tradition sounds nice. My present will be a bit late since I’m getting A Perfect Blood, which is a different kind of yummy treat🙂

  14. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren.I love traditions like that,they help tie a relationship together. I think I said my late wife and I used to like to walk in the snowfall,,espically at nite, and hold hands in her coat pocket.Hope you have a great dog show.

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Ms.Kim-I forgot-if you go for a new contract, don’t forget diva stuff-i.e. champaigne and flowers and inported swiss chocolates in your room,a massuse for those tiring signing and speaking days,will make those tour dates even more pleasent.

    • jkh

      Shoot, James, even the top authors can’t get the perks like they used to. J. A. Jance’s publisher used to charter a private plane for her crazy itinerary, but now they make her fly commercial — not even first class!

    • James R. Fox

      Hi JKH-I figure if some nobody like Anna Netrebsko can get that kind of treatment,Ms. Kim can.After all, they are both in the business of taking us to a happier place.

    • That’s beautiful, Jim. Don’t ever forget that.

  15. cathydboyd

    That is awesoemm kim!! i am a sentimental girl too- my hubby use to amke me dinner and have wine and rent us a moviesince i wokred so hard that day and the day before(sold jwelry for 19 years–so Iknow alabout the valentine stuff)I agree if thats what the woman expects(most women return their gifts lol) then go for it – me ill takemy hamburger helper candlelight a chick flickk and glass of wine!

  16. Kristy

    I think I would rather eat nachos than chocolate! Ofcourse being hypoglycemic tells me I can’t! LOL But Now I am craving Nachos! Which gives a good idea There is BBQ place near by & there is BBQ Nachos on the menu & I have been wanting to try them!

  17. My valentine will be a gift from myself Kims new book..A Perfect Blood..!! And maybe a few Godiva chocolates…. sorry..
    I left the Killers ‘A white demon love song’ link on your facebook page, hope that was ok if not delete. I don’t want to advertise for anyone on your site. The song just seems like RACHEL.. After the loss of my love in a accident 17 years ago I feel like a white demon too.. and I read and your books fill they gap! Happy Valentines. KD

  18. Diva

    I’d take the nachos over flowers anyday, though for me and my husband it’s hot wings. You know it’s love when you don’t mind messy fingers. 🙂

  19. I agree with what happens to chocolates, cards and flowers so I’ve gotten into the habit of making a point of going shopping with my wife around Valentines Day and looking through the cards, finding one I like and giving it to her in the store for her to read. I then put it back in its place and we’re good to go. The same with flowers. Now don’t think me a cheap bastard since I often buy her gifts (trinkets of affection, jewelery, books, etc.) all through the year, I just like more value for my dollar and don’t want to waste it on something that will be tossed away or simply wilt and die.

  20. Soo, it’s that time of the year again🙂 I think it’s a great idea to creat one’s own traditions. And if you are not nice to each other throughout the year, there’s no sense in being nice on such a holiday. Have a great weekend!

  21. Mirja

    I’m dating a wonderful man now and hope to have our own sweet traditions someday. Thank you for sharing yours and making me smile!🙂

  22. Judy

    Years ago a friend introduced us to the idea of celebrating Lincoln’s birthday instead of Valentine’s Day! Since it is also Melanie’s birthday, we celebrate both! It’s fun trying to find Lincoln cards, decorations and gifts. Of course, the top hat is obligatory! Different, fun and doesn’t play into the whole Valentine’s Day hype.

  23. what would Rachel’s tradition be? Pizza, perhaps? (luv the nachos..!)

  24. BJS

    I can’t see Guy watching a dog show. Maybe I’m just that outta touch with him? I can however see you watchin dogs prance about. As far as nachos go. I could see that TOTALLY! Hope yall have a good V-day!

  25. Aww that’s a great tradition🙂

  26. Surfin4Disney

    OMG – My teeth hurt after that round of sweetness. **grin** Happy Nacho Day to you and yours. May you continue to collect memories and I love yous. ❤ S4D