Tour T’s are in the post

If you have ordered a tour T between the dates of December 16 and now, your tour t has been printed, packaged, enveloped, stamped, addressed, checked for payment, and is now either already in the post, or in Guy’s truck headed to the post.  :-) (If  you ordered in November, you should have it.  If not, email Guy at vampcharms@comporium.net) It seems early for cutting orders off, but past experience tells us it might take two weeks for some of them to make their way to the West Coast, and we want to make sure they get to you in time.  If you happen to have a tour t from a previous year and are planning on going to an event, wear it!  This is the first year we’re opening the family photo up to past Tour t’s, and I’m curious what’s going to happen.  ;-)

You might notice that there’s a new look to the drama box today, and may have even noticed me trying out a much starker theme late last night.  (It looked good on their site, but I couldn’t figure out how to enable images on the previews without paying extra, and I’m a cheap bast- ah, frugal country girl.)  I think I’ll go with this one for a week or so to see how easy it is to work with in the early am hours when I’m not focusing yet.  The spoiler pages and ask Kim a question pages now have their own tabs, which I think is cool.  I’m going to see about getting the tour info up there, but really, check the website because that’s where the quick changes will be made.

And speaking of the website . . .  I’ve almost got all my pages flipped over to the new, hopefully crisper layout.  It’s time to say good-bye to the darker colors and bring on a more clean look.  I’ve been working toward it for a while, but this year, as I revamp for the release, I went all the way and found–the color white.  -grin-  It looks pretty good.  If I get brave, I’ll change the front page over tonight, and it will be official.  Check out the books page.  It’s a good representation of the site’s new theme.

If I’m puttering on the website, then you know the work is either going really good, or really bad.  For a change, it’s going really good.  I’m almost through my first rewrite of my NaNo book.  It’s going to sit for nearly a year before anyone sees it, but I LIKE IT!!!  When I get back from tour, I’ll be writing book 12 of the Hollows, refreshed and ready from the rest.  I have a feeling that Peri is taking off where Rachel is going to leave off, a much more confident, kick-butt woman with a different set of problems.  Getting to work with a more mature woman for several months is going to mesh well with Rachel’s final story.  I am so glad that I have the luxury of time.  I worked my butt off to get it, and it’s paying me dividends.

Ah, saying no helped too.  That’s my newest favoritest word.  -grin-

 

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “Tour T’s are in the post

  1. meancraig

    Hi there,

    I got Pale Demon for Christmas, and am super excited to hear that A Perfect Blood is coming out in a couple of weeks. Although, of course I’m a little sad that (from the comments) the Hollows series is ending.

    I looked over the FAQs and noted that someone had written that Al was beginning to have a crush on Rachel, and you replied that nothing would likely come of it. This comment was posted in 2010, so 2-3 books ago. Al has been my favourite male in the series for a long time, and I felt, a real front runner for Rachel’s affection. Primarily because he is so much closer to her in power and both of them have the same knowledge in dealing with the messes of the world. I felt that the only thing holding him back from her was that he was a little too evil at first. But the last few books, expecially in Pale Demon, he has really been growing, and doing sacrificing things to help Rachel a lot. Not to mention that when he thought she was dead, his mutilation of Trent seemed to be a grief reaction, rather than an anger reaction (as Trent called it). Also, it really seemed like Rachel was developing feelings for him as well, although she seemed to be struggling against it. Anyway, do I have any hope for him?

    • Hi Craig. Is there any hope for Al? Absolutely! But I doubt that’s what’s going to happen. Everything you said is true, and it’s been great writing that shift in Al. He has really grown as a character, and he has a long way yet to go, still–which makes him intriguing. I like him just the way he is–good enough to be a possibility, and bad enough that he still does things that tick her off.

  2. I think it all looks great! I’m pretty easy peasy though.

    Btw, I want to thank you for doing the Tour T’s. I don’t even want to imagine what my bedroom and closet would look like if I had to try to figure out what to wear. 0:)

    As for me, I prefer “yes”. But I won’t deny there are some people and/or moments where “no” is utterly gratifying.

  3. Wow, you’ve made more changes since this morning! I like this afternoon’s less busy look, and I appreciate the dark print on a light background. As I get older, that’s becoming more and more important to me. The website looks good, too.

    “No” is a perfectly fine word. It’s kind of funny that we all love the word as 2-year olds, but then so many of us lose faith in it as we grow up.

    • Thank you SiSi. I think I have something I can work with now.

      Huh, I never thought about it like that. Now I’m going to see a petulant two-year-old every time I say it. 😉

  4. jkh

    I think I do like the new format. The contrast helps my less-than-perfect vision, and I like the new directionals.

    I still haven’t decided whether to go to the signing at the University Bookstore in Seattle. I may call and ask where they’re setting up. Of course I haven’t been there in years, so the mobility and lines-of-sight issues may be a thing of the past.

    • Thanks, JKH. The University Bookstore is likely going to be very busy because of the joint signing, but don’t let that stop you. Get there early and tell them your concerns, and they can take care of you and there won’t be an issue.

  5. Hi Kim, Love the new blog art and the website looks equally great! Nice work.🙂
    It’s hard to imagine that we are nearing the end of the series, when I’m so excited to get the newest book in just a few (13) days.
    Are you ready for your tour? Hopefully you’ll get a moment to visit a few of the cities before you have to move on.😉

    • Hi Gail. Thanks! Just a few more pages on the web site to go. Happy sigh.

      I’ll be ready for the tour when it gets here. So much to think about, but the big stuff is already decided. As for the end of the series? Sometimes I feel like an actor who is asked questions outside the premier, and it’s hard to find an answer because what’s on the screen is a year or two in his or her past, and what’s putting the twinkle in her eye right now can’t be talked about.

  6. Nice new look to your site, Kim. Dark pages with light type are harder to read for me and your beige background is easy on the eyes.- same for this blog look.

    I got the shirt during the holidays and absolutely love the looks from passersby when I wear it. Living in a primarily right-leaning religious area, I do get to chuckle at some of the double-takes .

  7. Deana

    I am loving the new look to the site!!! I have my tour T shirt and LOVE IT!!
    I am excited to be able(finally) to make it to the signing in Maryland!!!
    Looking forward to the new book!!!
    Deana

  8. Sandypants

    I live in New Orleans, and the release date for your book just happens to fall on Mardi Gras this year. This makes that day even more spectacular to me because my Mardi Gras parade spot that I normally camp out at is right in front of a big ole’ Holy Megatron Barnes & Nobles on steroids. Parades… booze… Jenks, Ivy, Rachel and Trent. Thanks for making my Mardi Gras that much more kickass! I’ll make sure to take pics and send em to you. And as always, thanks for being so accesible and open with your fans. You’re awesome- plain and simple.

  9. Candace

    I love the new look! It’s pretty fab.

    I’m a little sad that the Hollows is coming to an end so soon, but I can’t wait to hear more about this new book you’re working on!!

    • Thank you, Candace. I’m liking it, too

      Soon as I know what I’m doing with this new little beastie, I’ll be able to talk about it more. Right now, I’m being very quiet. And it’s killing me.

  10. Marsha

    The possibility of a new series helps with the thought that the Hollows is ending…a bit.

  11. Kathy Miller

    Looking good

  12. Diva

    Woah. Almost thought I landed on the wrong page for a second there, but I like it!

  13. Howdy ma’am,

    Does that mean if I was coming, I should wear all 4 of my Tour Ts? That sounds uncomfortable. My newest one is also a size smaller than the 3 previous ones. Now I’m curious. I have to see what wearing them all is like. Maybe I’ll take a picture later and add it on here.

    I am having so much fun rereading DWW. I’m going to have to reread all of the books. An adaptation of DWW would make a great first season on the CW’s new show. I’d love to see the part where Nick anf Rachel escape and ride off with Ivy acted out. 🙂

    V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy – you could repurpose them into an artsy jacket using all the images. The hard part will be destroying the original shirts. I don’t think I could do it but I also think the results could be stunning.

    • One Kim’s regular signing attendees always modifies her shirts. I’ve seen her 3 times in Charlotte with her customized tour t. I can’t do it. I got upset when one of mine got a tiny tear in it under an arm. I do wear mine all the time.

      V^^^^V

    • Hi Vampy. Wear all four? Only if you want people to look at you funny. 🙂

      That’s cool you’re re-reading them. I read the first chapter of DWW the other day when I tweaked the page. Man, she (and me) have come a long way.

  14. I like the new look so far but I don’t remember ads in the Drama Box?

  15. So many exciting things going on!!! I can’t wait for A Perfect Blood. I can’t believe there’s only one left after this. My t-shirt is coming, I can order a signed book. I hope you come by somewhere I can make it to on the next tour. It would be amazing if I could make it on the last Hollows tour (makes me a little sad inside).

    Now I’m off to attempt to warm my breakfast using the computer and write a paper on The Merchant of Venice… any body want to do it for me?