Going to a signing? Call before you buy the book . . .

I’ve been busy updating the website yesterday, and though I’ve not gotten to the front page yet, most of the back pages have been revamped.  Changing the website is NOT procrastination.  Really!  It isn’t. . . much.  In any case, I’ve got a new, crisper look I’m going for.  (And an idea of how to get around that “thunk” moment.  I’m not a big believer in the philosophy of taking a walk when you get stuck, but in this case, I needed to step back before I royally screwed up what I had.)  I think it’s working for me.  (both the web site and the book.)    I’ll mess with the front page this weekend, now that I have a better feel for it.  Today I’m cracking that nut with my keyboard.

Anyway . . . what all the above is leading up to is that I updated the event’s page with phone numbers when I had them.  If you’re planning on going to a signing, I recommend calling them to find out if they have a buy-it-here, get-a-line-number policy.   More and more of the independent sellers are doing so to help defray the cost of having an event.  Good news is that you can often call ahead and reserve your spot in line along with a book.  Most places don’t mind if you bring in older titles for a signature if you are buying a book at the same time.

It’s foggy this morning, and I smell skunk.  It’s way too soon for that . . .  I’ve got a bad feeling that we are going to get hit and hit hard by some snow before it’s all over.  ;-)

Link to the Event’s page

27 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

27 responses to “Going to a signing? Call before you buy the book . . .

  1. I am a fan of taking a walk when stuck on something but I’m also an excellent procrastinator so I have to be careful that I’m actually stepping away for a valid reason and not just procrastinating. At this point in life I can usually tell but that doesn’t always translate into not procrastination.

  2. A.N.

    Hi Ms. Kim! How are you this glorious day? I’m happy today. But I have an appointment at the mandatory car insurance office. That reminds me of the beginning of the new book.
    This song reminds me of Ivy, http://youtu.be/NbD_aIUUJ-o and this one Rachel http://youtu.be/_WDHLqHF64U
    I hope you like them.
    Be Happy! A.N.

  3. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Thanks for the heads up. I’ve never done this before, so any tips help.
    Oh.. do u remember how I mentioned a friend of mine owns a comic store that I visit every saturday? He is the one that ordered bloodwork for me. I talk a lot about ur work with him, especially since I was participating in the picture contest for the hollows insider. Anyhoo a friend of his (Tony) came in mentioning signings he was working on for pandemonium. So he took an extra bloodwork from my friend George to get signed for CommandD. Small world right? Kinda cool🙂
    More proof we all adore u here in Massachusetts!

  4. jkh

    Thinking of Kim’s entry titled “Thunk.” Here’s my extrapolation:

    “Thunk. Thunk. Thunk-whirr. Thunk-uh. Thunketa-thunk. Click. Thunk-click. Click. Click-click. CLICK-clicketty-click-click click….And she’s off!

  5. theweightofsilence

    We’ve barely had any snow in Minnesota this year…in the ‘burb I live in, we’ve probably had about 6″ total, and it’s melted every time it snows, so I can see brown grass. SOOO weird. This time last year we had over 2’!!

    Sometimes a distraction is needed to get past something, or time away. In psychology, we just read through a section on sleep and how in our unconscious, our mind works through problems so that we know what to do when we wake up. Well, that’s what generally happens, anyway!

    The days are getting closer to when I can buy the new book, and I’m super excited!

  6. Stephenie

    Will you be doing any sign and ships like you did with the Insider tour? I haven’t bought my book yet so I’d be terribly interested in getting it signed since all my other hardbacks are.

    I don’t even thing I have anything else to say today. I think the fog is eating my brain.

    ZOMG… it’s zombie fog.

  7. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-its Jim from Warren.You do realize that using your keyboard to crack nuts is not covered by the warranty?Smudge and I wish you a great weekend,and a tiny voice from under my bed (Quigley’s daytime habitat) joins in.

  8. Vampyre

    Happy Friday, have a great weekend, see ya Monday.

    V^^^^V

  9. Oh you are so right, Kim. We are due for a major storm here in Michigan. I’ve been saying it all along. The weather will get us back. Can you believe were into February and winter hasn’t really even happened yet?

  10. I’m still working on hubby about going to San Diego but he wants to go to the Tucson Festival of Books the following weekend – I know! I’m shocked that he wants to go to a book fair but he enjoyed himself last year (Tucson is a gorgeous town) as did I so it looks like I may not make your southern CA signing. No harm other than missing your sweet personality. There will be other times.

    As for the snow – yeah, I’m thinking the same thing. This not-quite-winter season scares me, too. March or April snow storms do happen.

    Here’s a link to the Tucson affair in case anyone is interested: http://www.tucsonfestivalofbooks.org

  11. I have wanted a tomato charm since I first saw them. It is such a clever idea. Will you have them at the Ann Arbor signing? Oh and no big snow! Nope, uh uh…*shaking head* 😀

  12. Surfin4Disney

    **squee**

    For anyone heading to Eagle Eye books in Decatur, the information I received is that they DO require that you buy the book on site for the event. You can, however, pre-purchase it via telephone to secure your spot in line….that’s what I did.🙂 One person beat me to it…I hope it’s one of you guys.

    Kim – I absolutely CAN’T wait!