Back to work

After much soul searching, I took yesterday afternoon off to move my office to a more sunny, much quieter location.  I was intending to wait until the weekend, but couldn’t stop myself  after the cable guy came and made the area open to internet.  So this morning, I’m typing in blessed silence with no knocking on the door, hammering upstairs, or barking of dogs at the hundreds of people who seem to pop up with a question when I am working.  I’ve got nothing but silence.  Not even the whir of a fan.  Ahhhhhh.  The dogs like it, too.  It’s toasty warm.  If I wasn’t looking at snow out my window, I’d think I was on a beach.  (Pictures later.  I can’t post anything and say “This is where I work” when I’ve not actually worked there yet.)

I have put up a spoiler page for the first couple of chapters of A PERFECT BLOOD.  You can find them HERE  It is really designed for you to discuss among yourselves, but if you preface your post with “Hey Kim,” I’ll see it and answer.  Otherwise, I won’t be reading them so feel free to cut lose.

 

24 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

24 responses to “Back to work

  1. A warm toasty office sounds good–it’s cold this morning! Only 2 measly degrees here in Ann Arbor, so I’m glad I don’t have to go out.

    My office had slowly turned into a storage room over the last few months, ever since I brought home everything from my work office and piled it up so I could go through the boxes and decide what to keep and what to pitch. For the last week I’ve been trying to turn the room back into an office, but it’s been slow going.

    • Yep. It had warmed up to six when I took the dogs out, but two? Seriously?

      I enjoy throwing things out when I’ve moved on. I am not the sum of papers and knickknacks, but the sum of ideas and actions. But having said that, I do take a fair amount of pictures.

  2. jkh

    Mmmm. Eagerly awaiting your pictures of your new workspace. Didn’t realize so much was going on at your house in the middle of the winter. The dogs setting up an alarm every time somebody knocked on the door, although that is certainly part of their raison d’etre, could drive me up the wall if it went on all day.

    • I’ve got a sort of sad one up today, JKH. It does not do the space justice.

      We’re having some work done upstairs, taking out a kitchen and putting in a bath. The home used to be two apartments, and it’s been an adventure bringing it back to a one-family layout. There is a lot of barking.

  3. Diva

    For some reason I have Donna Summer’s “She Works Hard For The Money” looping through my head. 🙂

  4. Victoria Eskey

    Haha! You could caption the pictures as “This is where I will-be working”😀

    I’m forcing myself to push through the ending. I’ve got the car on the road, and a map to help me….it just isn’t going.

    • There are days, Victoria, that I hit that wall. I look at the work, and tell myself that it’s seven pages. Seven lousy pages. Just put stuff on the page and push thorough. Fix it later. Most times, it works.

      Good luck!

  5. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Sounds nice and refreshing. Grats on the successful room swap. Warm & quiet go well together.

  6. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from warren.I know the feeling-can’t work without an exact place. It’s a good thing I like a little noise,çause that’s what I have, you know furnace fan,Smudge and Quiqley having an inpromptu footrace,etc.I specially like the part where someone lands on a loose pile of stuff and you hear scrabble,scrabble,thud. Of course,i have to pick it up

  7. 😎 Sounds like you’re in Rock Hill(sunny, quiet). You didn’t move again, did ya’?

    I was reading the afterword of an omnibus edition yesterday and the author(Lois McMaster) made this statement about her long-running series: “My favorite literary pattern is the spiral, where we come back around to where we started, but on a much higher plane and with a profoundly different perspective.” Q> I was wondering how you feel about your long-running series as it matures and we are closer to the end. Do you feel in some way that it is circling back, that your characters are completing a journey and are the better for it?

  8. Sounds like a lovely writing place!

  9. MelanieS

    Grr! I don’t know why but I stopped receiving notice of your blog posts. ~pouts~. I’ve missed quite a few of them.

    Complete silence?! Eek! I would go out of my mind. I have to have some kind of noise. A fan would be perfect. My ears start ringing in complete silence.

    Even during the winter I’ve got a fan running in my bedroom all night long. I’ve thought about buying one of those machines that play different kinds of white noise tracks.

    Can’t wait to see your room, drool, and dream of one of my own. heh.

    • MelanieS

      Also, I have to say that I have a love/hate relationship with the sneak peek chapters. Thank you, thank you! I typically devour one of your books in a day. Waiting week to week for a chapter is pure torture. I can’t stop myself from woofing it down and then having a mini temper tantrum because I can’t buy the novel yet. haha!

    • MelanieS

      Oops. Well that explains why I wasn’t getting notices. I forgot to update my e-mail address.

    • jkh

      A “white noise” machine is a great help for me to sleep. They don’t cost much, you can get them at Bed/Bath/Beyond or that sort of place.

    • I am a white noise machine…if snoring counts as white noise.

      V^^^^V

    • I wouldn’t say it’s utterly quiet, Melanie. I’ve got an app that plays cricket sounds, and that’s nice in the am. By the afternoon, I’ve got my music on. But there is no roar of a heater or barking of dogs. I’m so much more relaxed not having to calm them down every few hours.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the early chapter releases. I just love that Harper does that. 😉