The voice of Kalamack

I’m turning my face back to the Hollows this morning after reading through the Trent/Jenks novella and making the typo tweaks yesterday.  –Which means that I finally got through my chapter four.  Whoo-hoo!  I really like it after dropping back to more of the original copy and tightening it up.  There were a few surprises to me that will make some of the later chapters make more sense, and I now know why Peri brought a knife to a gun fight.  She is one pissed puppy, which means I can stop work on her knowing that I can pick her up tomorrow or next month and remember where I was with the story.

Trent, on the other hand. . .  I’m liking the story a lot, but the narration has a lot to be desired.  I’ll be working on voice this week–I can tell already.

 

23 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

23 responses to “The voice of Kalamack

  1. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Grats on conquering ur chapter! /cheer

    I look forward to the novella. I adore Jenks.. and Trent grew on me.
    As far as the voice with Trent.. well, he is the kinda guy I’d tell to shut up and kiss me. Cuz he’s fun to look at, and not always fun to listen to.. but that’s just my take.

    • Thanks, Lynn. Guy is reading it right now. He REALLY likes it.

      You have me smiling on your thoughts about Trent. Somehow, I just can’t see Jenks saying that . . . 😉

  2. Glad to hear you conquered chapter 4–did you celebrate with the lovely Wensleydale? That made me want to watch Wallace and Gromit!

    I think I’m going to miss Peri as you turn your attention back to The Hollows. I’ve grown fond of her over the last few months.

    • -grin- I watched them over the holiday break.

      I know I’m going to miss Peri. She’s always felt different, but she’s really been exerting herself lately. It will be weird turning back to Rachel in a few more months.

  3. Oooh story tweaks! I am super excited! Trent and Jenks bromance, W00T! Will there also be a chance for some Kalamack insight on our favorite itchy witchy? *wink* *wink*

    Oh and by the way, will this be in first person or third person?

    • Yup! I am making good progress on the tweaking, having analyzed the issues my editor brought up and jotted down a few notes to address them.

      Actually, I’ve taken out a thought or two of Rachel to make room for the fixes, so we will see how it ends.

      It’s in 3rd.

  4. Amanda

    I just found out you will be in Atlanta on your book tour. So excited!!! I am the organizer of a paranormal romance/urban fantasy book club in Atlanta with 50+ members. There will DEFINITELY be a large group of us at your book event!! Would you possibly have the time for a picture with our group?

  5. I’ve been reading the blog on my teeny tiny phone screen, but with school back I can post again. My eyes feel better too.

    I can’t wait to get my hands on the anthology. I read the Ceri/Al short when I borrowed the hardcover from a friend, but since I don’t own it… alas I haven’t been able to read it again.

    I’ve been working hard on my novel. I finally got through chapter summaries and started a mix of dialogue-then first draft, writing. If only I could get all this done, published, and have an advance in my hands so I could fix the brakes on my truck… or at least help pay for it.

    • Yikes! I don’t like small screens, but I like being out of touch even more, so you have my sympathy.

      That’s great you are working on your writing. Keep it up! Ahhh, but please don’t think this industry works that fast. Chances are, it usually takes a year from signing a contract before you see any money. It is S.L.O.W.

  6. James R. Fox

    hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren. Since we are tossing opinions around,I vote for Rachel and Ivy,Rachel could never stand the ruthlessness that Trent has had to learn,he’s much more messed up than Ivy.(I’m kinda influenced by the fact that my friends Ms Selene and Ms Alexa have adopted a baby,and celebrated their 16th anniversary together. They fell in love in gym class when they were 15.)

    • jkh

      All the best to your friends Selene and Alexa, and farewell to a full night’s sleep for a long, long time.

      Rachel and Ivy will always have a deep bond, but I don’t think of them as a romantic couple. Rachel likes male-female sex too much, for one thing, and for her it’s one partner, not two.

    • I hear what you are saying, Jim, but I truly feel as if that boat has sailed for Rachel. We’ll find out for sure in that last book.

  7. Howdy ma’am,

    Some people think you might have Trent and Rachel paired up for the big HEA at the end. I don’t think so. You’re using the event of the last book to misdirect us again. (No I do not expect an answer, that’d be telling)

    V^^^^V

    • Diva

      Obviously everyone’s mileage will vary on this but while I think misdirection has its place in murder plots or thriller type stories, etc. I’m not so sure it’s a good storytelling device for romantic plots/sub-plots. For me then the ending would feel contrived and unearned if there’s any last minute bait-and-switch going on. But again, YMMV.

  8. Diva

    -sigh- My heart skipped a little when I saw “Kalamack” in the title of today’s post. I’m dying to read this novella. My two favorite characters (other than Rachel herself ‘cuz that’s a given) working together and causing mischief, what’s not to love?

  9. Christina

    Τhe voice of Kalamack..

    ….is smooth and sexy! <- That is what came to mind when I read the title.
    And I think Rachel would agree with me, yes?😀

  10. bratty

    i hope he and rachel get together i think they would be good together and after the way you last book end it would only be right