Going boldly

I feel like I should have tons to tell you this morning, but I don’t.  Guy and I had a great weekend relaxing somewhat.  I dug out an old version of Sim City 3000 that I lost weeks on a few years ago, and I played around with that a bit.  Made some farms and an intentionally small city of about 10,000.  It’s hard to keep your commercial demand high with a city that small, but if you keep your pollution low and your people happy, they will pay through the nose to live there, making up for the lack of industry and commercial.  (Yep, I’m a Sim City junkie from way back before when Sims were nothing but little, indistinct figures walking a street you could barely see.)

I did have some fun installing some blinds and got to play with a new cordless drill Guy got me for the holidays.  Apparently he was tired of seeing me struggling with the little cordless I’ve had the last . . . omgosh, fifteen years, maybe?  and gave me a real tool.  Nice.  The blinds work great and the room feels very open and airy.  Ahhhhh.  If I can get wireless moved to our sunroom/porch, I’m moving my office out there.  (grin)

I did not get through chapter four Friday, which was about what I expected, though I should today with a solid understanding of what’s going on from there out.  And then . . . I’m dropping the NaNo book for a few weeks to edit the Harrison anthology scheduled for next year.  (September?)  This is the one with the novella of how Trent and Jenks stole Lucy.  It also has a handful of new stories that have dryads in them, each of them taking them from a different point of view so you can kind of see how I develop the magic of a new species over the course of ten years.  They are still evolving, by the way.

So I guess it’s back to “work” for me this week.  It has truly felt like a marvelous vacation this October through December as I wrote on something new, finding things out, making things fit, working up new worlds and characters–a brand new batch of secrets so new and fragile I’m holding them close to my chest lest they become bruised.  Now that it’s over, I feel confidently comfortable with the idea of writing that last Hollows book and being able to create something new that can hold my attention for a decade if I should be so lucky again.  Being able to go forth boldly makes a world of difference.

Succeed or fail, if you go boldly, you have won a contest of the spirit.

 

27 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

27 responses to “Going boldly

  1. It’s nice to hear that working on something new for the NaNo book felt like a vacation for you–I’ve really enjoyed reading about the ups and downs of the birth of a new series, so I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it, too.

    While I will miss the Hollows, I’m also glad you feel “confidently comfortable” finishing the series and starting something new. I admire people who are willing to strike out in a new direction, even if it’s only with timid baby steps. But boldly is better🙂

    • They are like kids in that every book develops differently, has different strengths and weaknesses. This one seems to be my problem child, the one that is so smart that she’s striking out in inappropriate ways for my attention. 😉

  2. Victoria Eskey

    I absolutely LOVE that you are a Sims fan!🙂 I have loved the sims in every incarnation of the game. I was really addicted to The Sims Mideval for awhile.
    I am really interested in the dryads, and a new magic system.

    • I’ve never got into the Sims as far as characters, just the city building and the Island development. I think they only did one of those.

      Here’s hoping you like the dryads. I’ve been playing with them for a long time and they have really changed over the years.

  3. Great news about the anthology! When will it be out on the shelves?

    It’s good to know I wouldn’t end up purchasing the whole thing only for the new Trent story (but I totally would :P). I’m really looking forward to that bromance. I have been reading the series since 2005, so it will be sad when the last book is released. But at the same time, because I have been reading it for so long I really want to know how it all ends, so 12 is totally fine with me. It gives me something to look forward to. I’m honestly okay about it and I really appreciate your commitment to quality of quantity. I think it’s what has helped make The Hollows one of the top Urban Fantasy series out there and my personal favorite.

    You’re a very talented writer so I think you will do well in your next series and I’m glad you feel that you can.

    • “quality “over” quantity” I mean

    • Hi Erika. I’m thinking September, so it’s seriously not that long. I hear you on not wanting a full book for one new novella, but I’ve got about 300 ms pages of new stuff and who knows how much old.

      Thank you for your words. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  4. Misa

    Oh no, not the last book!!!
    You have such a gift,please please, never stop writing. Love the Hollows world and will be devastated when it all ends. They are the only books I hog & won’t lend to anybody as I reread them over and over…
    Are you sure you couldn’t squeeze in one more Hollows book?
    I WANT MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • OMGosh, Misa. I will never stop writing. Just move on to new characters. I think that most Hollows readers will like the situation I’m working with right now. It’s got all of the emotional punch, just fewer species to keep track of.

  5. Denise Keef

    Hi Kim,
    When I read your blog today and saw “last book”…I thought how sad it will be to reach the end the journey with Rachel. I have smiled…laughed(out loud only realizing it was out loud when my family looked at me like I had lost my mind)..and cried like a baby when certain characters died(not saying which so as not to ruin the stories for those who haven’t read that book yet). The stories have been my therapy and relaxation. They have become a part of my life with Halloween and the ARC of “A Perfect Blood” and Christmas when I knew my kids really do appreciate me and listen when I talk when I opened my gifts from them and saw the two books I had talked about wanting and then finding out how they went about getting them for me…Yep…cried like a baby then too but they were tears of happiness. Thank you for becoming a part of my life and my family’s lives and the lives of many other faithful friends. I am looking forward to a new beginning with your new series and many more hours of total…oblivious enjoyment!

  6. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-Glad you had a good weekend,I’m happy to hear that Guy supports all things with drills.My model friend from Philadelphia (the one who sent the horrible video of how to do your exercises while hanging from a trapeze) also co-owns a dress shop with another model. She always rents a truck,drives to the warehouse,and loads and unloads it herself,dragging and pulling those heavy full racks of dresses. She has noticed that when she has a discussion with the guys at the truck rental or warehouse,her opnion doesn’t count. She says the only reason she can find is that she has boobs,judging from various comments. Glad to see A,A. is more enlightened than Philadelphia.My friend weighs 115 lb and is doing the same work as the 250lb warehouse workers. That might have something to do with it.

    • jkh

      I’ll bet she knows how to use her body wisely and carefully, as opposed to the big guys’ “just yank harder” approach…

    • OMGosh, Jim. Guy loves it when I get my drill out. My parents were never one to segregate jobs by sex, and it sort of baffled me. I had more dolls than trucks, but I played with them both, and I was the one going after snakes, not my brother.

  7. Sounds like you had a great weekend. And it made me smile that you were playing Sim City. Fun stuff.🙂

    As for me, we put together a wall of nerd awesomeness at the house. I decided the old shelf was boring and set out for something different. Came home from Target with box shelves. Stuffed them with our nick nacks and voila!.. nerd-gasm ftw.
    Other odds and ends got accomplished at a turtle speed. And I’m ok with that. Point is they got done. And the weekend was enjoyable.

    Speaking of done.. It is hard to think about NOT having the hollows down the road. I will miss it. It saddens my heart just thinking about it. But I appreciate all of your work and I look forward to more things to come.

    • Congrats on your space improvement! It is truly one of my joys, even the little things.

      And thank you for your words about the Hollows. I am seeing something very special coming up, and I think it will be a good change.

  8. I had to read Vampy’s post before I knew what Sim City was, Kim. I am way out of sync with gamer terms, having never ventured beyond Spider Solitaire (my choice since I know how easily I can get sucked into playing and not working).

    Good for you on taking the time for exploration. It can be difficult to give oneself such a gift. A new cordless drill? Nice! Think of the possibilities.

    Johnny finished the floors and walls (ripping out the ugly green rug, polishing and painting the cement floor, the circa 70’s fake wood paneling, and discovering a beautiful patch of flagstone under said rug) in my studio over the holidays. I’m off today to dust, unpack, and set up the “new” space.

    • Hi Jeannie. Yep, I get sucked into them too, which is why I don’t play them. I could seriously lose months, and have nothing to show for it. So I don’t.

      Congrats on your find in your new studio! I’ve got a new space I want to invade, but can’t until a few key things are taken care of.

  9. I guess this not really the right place for this comment, but I couldn’t think of another. several days ago I decided that I wanted a Flaming Bunny Pin for the upcoming Decatur signing. However, I could not find a link to the Vampiric Charms store any longer. I had an Email from guy re a previous question so I attached this question and sent it ti Guy. So far I have had no response and I.m afraid that it went into a Black Hole. Please advise the current method to purchase this Pin. Your loyal fan, Ron.

    • Hi Ron. This is as good a place as any. I asked Guy about it, and he thinks he has your email in his line up. He’s been focused on getting the freebies out the door, and hasn’t had much of a chance to get to the orders. (This is why we closed vampcharms down, actually.) I’m sorry about the delay. If he doesn’t contact you in another week, let me know and I’ll light a fire. 🙂.

  10. Howdy ma’am,

    I have to say, I never imagined you ever playing a computer game. It’s refreshing. You and guy are usually so physically active. I do feel that a good game is very good for the mind and imagination.

    When you said,’ last Hollows book’, I felt something like bitter sweat joy, I guess. It’s good that the story will be finished. I will miss it though. At the same time I’ll bee eagerly waiting to see your new world unfold..

    V^^^^V

    • jkh

      …”bitter sweat joy…” Is that what a gym-nut or runner hits when the endorphins kick in? Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I might have referred to bittersweet (yes, it’s one word) happiness.

      Teacher Jan will now leave the room, dodging spitballs…

    • Hi Vampy. I am a computer game junkie, which is why I stay away from them. The boys, though, go all out. I got Thing Two hooked on Sim City this last week. He comes down last night about an hour later than usual to say good night, and he looks at me sadly as I’m playing my roadless game (all subway) and says, “Evil. Sim City is evil.) I just smile and give him a hug. But it’s nice to have something to talk to him about as he finds the quirks of the game.

  11. Jenny

    I’m so looking forward to .. well.. anything you write🙂 Books are a little like candy to me. I want to go slow and savor them but I always gobble them up and then lament when they are gone.

  12. twiser

    Change can be wonderful in it’s own. You said probably 12, but I still hoped for 13!😦 Do you know when your anthologies will come to ebook?