It works better if you take the brake off

Oh, I did not get hardly anything done yesterday.  The tweaks to chapter three blew chapter four to bits, and I spent all day weighing options because the tweaks were so much better for the story.  I’m keeping to a short post today because I have to throw chapter four out entirely and rework the chapter from basically scratch.  Ow.  I broke my ending, too, but I figure I’ll find a way go get her where she needs to be another way by the time I reach that page.   Mmmm, yeah.

We did get snow, just an inch or so.  I can tell the experienced drivers from the newbies by how fast they are going past my window. There are going to be some fender benders today.

29 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

29 responses to “It works better if you take the brake off

  1. Jan V.

    Back in October I took my snow blower in for a tune-up. Fresh gas and oil, and then……it sits.
    The weatherman said 4 inches of snow over the weekend, and we get an inch. So again…..it sits.
    I mean, c’mon. It’s Michigan. It’s the middle of January. Where the heck is the snow??

  2. Sounds to me Chapter 3 was a home run. Now Chapter 4 your back up to bat.. but you can pull another home run Kim. HA!.. baseball.. writing.. what do I know..?
    However, I DO know..
    I’m in the crowd cheering you on. GO KIM GO! 🙂

    • Thanks, Lynn. I had to say good-bye to some very cool writing and slow down a bit, but I think I’m back on track. “When good writing goes bad” seemed to be my theme Thursday and Friday.

  3. jkh

    Sounds to me like you DID get something done yesterday. It just doesn’t show in your chapter count. Kind of like when you empty, scrub, reorganize and refill the drawers and cupboards in the kitchen, It takes all day (at least) but when you’re done it doesn’t look like you’ve done much.

    • jkh

      It’s Saturday now, and Seattle has had a leetle bit of so-called snow. Call it slush, or slop, to be accurate. When the temp drops overnight, we’ll have ice. Since we’re very hilly, it gets scary out there.

    • That’s exactly what it was like, JKH. Perfect analogy.

  4. Hi Kim,

    I have been following this blog for quite some time now. So sorry if I have missed this answer somewhere along the lines, but are we going to get to read this new project that you have started for Nano when it is complete?

    Thanks!!

    • Hi Abby. I’m thinking you will at some point, yes. This one feels so solid that it can sit for a while without losing anything, or be acted on and be out ASAP. We’ll see. It feels good having it there.

  5. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim its Jim from warren. Smudge says she has a snow shelter,its called a house. AND it has a litterbox, which is emptied by her faithfull servant,who also does cooking and cleaning.

    • jkh

      That’s exactly what Oliver says! In the milder parts of the year, he’s an in- and outdoor cat. But when it gets cold and wet, although he may step out onto the porch to survey his domain, he’s pretty much an INdoor cat. And woe betide his staff who don’t tidy the litterbox or refresh the water dish or refill the kibble bowl often enough.

    • Ah yes. We lost our purring queen last year, and the house isn’t the same without royalty.

  6. talk about snow… we got so much I cannot step from the deck in my back into the yard! well I can but i’m so short I sink and end up looking like a garden gnome!
    I’m glad you’re progressing on your work, maybe not a the pace you expected but moving forward anyway, so it’s all good.
    Here’s something someone shared with me and I though it was too cute. Happy weekend to you Guy and the boys!
    Flo

  7. mudepoz

    Normally I’m excited by the first snow. It should be exciting, my 4 month old buppy, Mandy’s first experience with the white stuff. Unfortunately, my foster son killed himself and the memorial service is this morning. It’s near the Minnesota/Wisconsin border and I couldn’t travel last night, even with all wheel drive.

    This is where audiobooks, Kindles, and bound books become a godsend.

    • Mud, I’m so sorry to hear what happened. You sound raw right now. I’ll be thinking of you today and for a while to come. Hang in there. It will get better.

    • I’m sorry to hear about your loss. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    • Mudepoz

      Oh man. Sorry. I shouldn’t read and post when like this. Again, this didn’t belong here, other than escapism in books is a wonderful thing. I’m grateful I had Faith’s Raven Cursed and an old Jim Bucher’s to listen to.

    • Mudepoz

      And thank you

    • Very sorry for your loss Mudepoz. *HUGS*

    • I hope your weekend went okay, Mud. I’m glad you spoke up. The drama box has become a small community of which you are a part of. It’s all good. 😉

    • Marsha

      Mud, I know how it hurts to loose a loved one, but not under such terrible circumstances. You know you have my sympathy and my shoulder, ear or any other parts you need.

    • James R. Fox

      Hi mudepoz-its Jim from Warren-Hang in there, thats what fingernails are for, I know

    • jkh

      Oh, so sad. My condolences to you all, Mud.

    • Sorry to hear about your foster son Mud. We’re all part of a big extended family here. Post what ever you need to post.

      I’m in the middle of Raven Cursed right now. I want to catch up on Dresden but Penguin has jacked up the prices for the Kindle versions to a point I refuse to buy them.

      V^^^^V

    • Mud, so sorry to hear about your foster son. And I can’t speak for everyone, but I don’t think you need to apologize for posting this. You share so many fun posts, especially the cute buppy videos, but you also need to share the bad times. Take care of yourself.

    • Jan V.

      Oh man. Now I’m crying. So sorry for your loss Mud.