A Perfect Blood Sneak Peek

Howdy campers!  I tried very hard not to go online for the last two weeks with questionable success, and even though I technically have a few days left to my enforced drama box vacation, I did want to tell you that the first chapter of A Perfect Blood is up for your viewing over at the Harper Voyager FB page.  [Chapter one of A Perfect Blood]

Chapter two should be available on the 10th.  You do not have to be a member of FB to see chapter one and two, but after that, you’re going to have to “like” the page in order to see chapters three through five.  (Yes, they are going to release up through chapter five!  Whoo-hoo!)

And since I’m here, I may as well blather a bit. . .  Guy, Thing-one and Thing-two and I had a fabulous holiday break.  I hope everyone else did as well.  It feels like I spent equal time between sorting/cleaning, eating/knitting, and yes, writing.  I am calling my NaNo book done at first draft though there is a very large hole of action in two places I need to fix now that I’ve reached the end.  This is one of the most messy rough drafts I’ve had in a long time, but seeing as it’s new characters, worlds, and magic, I’m not surprised.  It was very much a seat-of-the-pants, even thought I always had my ever-changing chapter briefs in front of me.  I can’t wait until Monday and the chance to dig back into page one and fix this.  I really like where it’s going.  It wasn’t until this last week that I found the love interests.   happy sigh

 

41 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

41 responses to “A Perfect Blood Sneak Peek

  1. Anna

    The first chapter is fantastic!!
    Im in love with the hollows and all your other books!!
    Im excited to get the book on birthday, which by the way is epic!
    One question though, Is Ivy gonna be in A Perfect Blood?

  2. I read the 1st chapter and it was awesome! I am sooo excited. I am coming to see you in Florida!!!! Yay. I just bought my T-shirt like 5 seconds ago. I can barely contain my excitement.

  3. Margie Jacobs

    The first chapter is fantastic! I am so addicted to the Hollows. I’m going to be glued to my inbox awaiting notice of Chapter 2.

  4. Amy

    I’m enthused that another novel is coming soon, but I think it’s unfortunate that the preview both will be hidden behind a social networking gateway, and seems to be in PDF format. (I liked that previous previews were in html; it’s a much more accessible format for some of us.) Still, new book, more Rachel. I’ll be there in February.

    • I’m so sorry that you are unhappy about the situation, Amy. Harper is known for trying new things, and since I have a fairly large and vocal readership, they often try new things out with me. Rest assured that your complaints are likely being noted.

      Hope to see you in February!

  5. Welcome back, we’ve missed you.
    I read the first chapter. Love, love, love it!!!
    Are you going to offer it as a signed edition through Nicola’s again?
    Also I noticed that san Francisco was dropped from your tour😦
    I’m hoping that was just a typographical error?
    Please tell me that your west coast fans will get a chance to meet you.

    • Hi Kathy. Thanks! I’m so glad you liked it. I should have chapter two up tomorrow. I can’t imagine why I wouldn’t have signed copies through Nicola’s.

      Ahhh, San Francisco is still on the tour. Where did you see it was dropped?

  6. jkh

    I don’t know whether to look at the sneak peek. It’s so tempting, but it will be such a long time before I can read the whole thing…

    Anyway, (big, happy sigh) it’s to good to see you back. Glad you had a good break.

  7. A while back I said on here that I don’t like to read anything from/about new books before they’re released and I can read the whole book. However, I couldn’t help myself–just read the first chapter of A Perfect Blood. I loved it, but now I’m even more impatiently waiting for the rest of the book.

    Hope everyone had a fun yet relaxing holiday. I did–just got back home, ready to get to work. “Focused and Productive” is going to be my motto and/or descriptor for 2012. Starting Monday.

  8. Just read Chapter 1. Love it! Can’t wait for the rest, as usual.

  9. joannajetson

    When I go to the Facebook page, there’s nothing on it except a “Like” button, whether I’m signed in to Facebook or not. I even tried Liking it, and nothing happened. Does anyone know what I’m doing wrong? Thanks!!

  10. I am so tempted to begin reading the excerpts, Kim, but I don’t want to spoil my own personal thrills whenever I buy one of your books hot off the press, smell the fresh ink (well, kinda), then begin reading cover to cover all new and crisp-like. I’m still venturing over to the FB page to “like” it.

  11. That was a long wait. But it was worth it. I’m pretty excited about this book. I mean, a recognized demon in the society? What else is Rachel going to do that she swore she would never do?

  12. Vampyre

    Welcome back. We missed you. It good to see y.ou’re back rested, refreshed and ready to go.

    I watched Peter Pan(2003) and when I saw Tinker Bell, I thought, “OMG, she is a Disney whore!” The FX they used was almost perfect. I hope the people working on the series use use something like it. It was a lot like the way I see Jenks and the rest of the pixies. If you have not seen it,(ithinkyouhave)then you must.

    V^^^^V

  13. Lisa

    I love it! Can’t wait to read the rest!!

  14. Kay

    Happy sigh. Thank you!

  15. Oh Kim It is absolutely awesome and i have to send you a pic of my christmas gift whenyou get back to work monday! you sure will get a kick out of it! enjoy the rest of your vacation!

  16. It’s good to see you back, Kim! Happy new year! Going to have a look at the first chapter now. Sooo excited!

    Sabrina

  17. Shelley

    I’m sorry but I don’t get it, is (NaNo book) going to be a new book series or is it some kind of game? I am clueless?

    • NaNo is short for National Novel Writing Month and the book Kim refers to is her project she worked on this past November. And, yes, Shelley, I’d call it a game of sorts.

    • jkh

      It’s a game where everyone who plays is a winner. It stretches us, the would-be writers, to PRODUCE, which is something we need to do. Unsurprisingly, Ms Kim’s venture into the game inspired her to begin a totally new work and cast of characters. At this point it isn’t the beginning of a new series, or even a publishable opus, but at the very least it has set her off on some wonderful excursions.

    • Hi Shelley. I’m working up what might be the next series after the Hollows. NaNo is short for National Novel Writer’s Month, where you try to write 50,000 words in November. My writing schedule happened to land such that I could take part in it, but my usual novel is three times that amount, so I’m just finishing it now. 🙂