From our house to yours . . .

I wanted to do something special this year for you, the readers, beyond dusting off The Hollows solstice poem, (Which I’ll repost on the winter solstice) and while Angel’s Song is not new, sparkly, or contains anything to make you stop and go “hummmm,” it still makes me cry, damn it.  But then I cry at coffee commercials this time of year, so that might not be saying anything.  My editor was kind enough to see about getting it on BN’s SciFi and Fantasy blog to help increase its exposure, so please, jump on over and read it there.   Angel’s Song is my holiday gift to you and yours, and like the best gifts, please feel free to share it.  Here’s a direct link.  However you celebrate the season, I hope you find joy, warmth, and a feeling of completeness.

Kim, Tim, and the boys

Angel’s Song: An Unearthed Rarity From Kim Harrison Just in Time for the Holidays!

39 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

39 responses to “From our house to yours . . .

  1. Thank you, everyone. I’m not going to reply to everyone individually today because I don’t want to sound like a parrot. -grin- But thank you. I’m glad you all enjoyed the short. I am so pleased to have been able to share it with you.

    Looking back at it, I wrote this when I was focused on short stories, and I am amazed at what I managed to pack into three pages. I don’t know if I can be that frugal anymore. For me, short stories have always been the hardest, most telling form of the craft.

  2. I absolutely loved the short. I lost my mother this year, so this really spoke to me. Thank you.

  3. Trish

    That is a lovely story, thanks Kim. Your picture with the snow looks nice, too, especially as it is hot where I live in Australia. Barbeque and prawns (shrimp) by the pool for Christmas for us. Have a wonderful holiday, treasure your loved ones and listen out for the singing everyone!

  4. Jan V.

    What a beautiful, heartfelt story. Thank you for sharing it with us. (hugs)

  5. Gail S

    I love a surprise:-) Thank you for sharing with us.

    May you enjoy a very happy, peaceful and joyous Holiday season.

  6. Thank you so much for sharing this story with us, and, yes, I did cry.

  7. That’s a beautiful story, and a wonderful present for all of us. Thank you.

  8. Cindy from Brooklyn, CT

    That was beautiful, Kim. Thank you so much for the gift.

  9. Dani

    A beautiful story. It made me cry and made me think about all those that no longer are able to spend the holidays with their family either because they are beyond this world in the Somerlands or no longer near their family due to work or school.

    This story is a celebration of those around us, friends and family, both here and gone. This especially made me think about those that are unable to celebrate the holidays with their families. Those deployed with the Armed forces over seas especially. During this month remember those that are unable to celebrate and offer a small prayer, song, even just a story to remember them by and invite them (even if in spirit) to visit you and yours on Yule, Winter Solstice, or Christmas this year.

    Happy Yule, Merry Christmas, Joyous Winter Solstice to all.

    Danielle

  10. Nichole Z.

    Wow, that story is absolutely wonderful Kim!

    Thank you so much for sharing it with us! My eyes definitely teared up. It’s a great reminder of how important family is, especially around the Holidays.

  11. Yasmin

    Thank you for the beautiful short story!
    The snow you can keep. 😉

  12. Alexa

    Oh Kim, thanks, it was beautiful (wiping tears away of my eyes), you know you got a gift right? So short, simple and emotionally intense story! I’ll be treasuring it on my heart and if you don’t mind, I’ll translate it into spanish to sharing it with family and friends, thank you!

  13. What a wonderful gift to share! Everyone has been touched by the tragedy of losing a loved one. It is especially hard around the holidays. This shows that love transcends death. Love does not die, it is just transformed. This surely will bring comfort to anyone who needs it. Dang it, I wasn’t going to cry.

  14. Michelle

    Thanks for that! It made me cry but its beautiful. Happy Holidays.

  15. rebnkc

    Thank you for the beautiful story. Yes tears rolling down my cheeks. I will be listening for my angels this year.

  16. jkh

    Well, I cried. Sweet story, my dear; hope all who’ve lost a parent too young can hear their angels sing.

  17. Thank you Kim. I’ve been going through a lot in my personal & family life. This was a perfect gift. :’)

  18. leslie

    That was beautiful! Thank you for posting the link!

  19. Chelikins

    that was beautiful. I cried darnit😉 but I do love stories like this. Movies like this. Truly heartfelt

  20. Randy

    Good morning, Kim,

    Christmas is always a time when emotions, both the joyous and the sad, are made especially potent. It is a time when hopes, regrets, and fond memories become almost tangible in our lives, and the spectrum of possibilities swells until very few things seem utterly beyond reach. I don’t have to ask if you know what I’m talking about, as the story I just read so clearly proves that you do. A gift indeed. Thanks.

    A Merry Christmas to you and yours,

    Randy

  21. Last month, my uncle died in a hospital waiting for a lung transplant that never came. He was a high risk candidate, so we always knew it was a longshot. Still, he was never morose, never outwardly depressed – quite the opposite, in fact. Even in his last years lugging around an oxygen tank, he lived his life the way he had his whole life: with a smile on his face, the life of the party. Two weeks before he went into the hospital he was still riding his motorcycle!(yes, you heard me right–riding with an oxygen tank*grin*) After he passed, I drove to his home in Kentucky and spent a couple of days with family and friends. So many memories. At his memorial people stood up to tell even more stories. By the time his ten-year-old grandson stood up to read his own testimonial that he had written himself, there wasn’t a dry eye in the house. I’ve heard it said that whoever dies with the most toys wins, but I don’t know about that – I think it might be whoever leaves the most stories wins. Or maybe it’s those of us left behind with these stories that are the real winners…

    >Thanks for the story. I guess you can tell it touched me(grin). The Holidays can be bittersweet when it comes to stories. Thanks again.😎

  22. Howdy ma’am,

    Angel’s song is great.

    I think our departed loved ones may communicate with us in our dreams. This idea came from my sister but too late.

    One night, after my mom died. I was having a very vivid dream. My mom was there. I said to her. “What are you doing here? You’re dead!”.

    She got the saddest look on her face and vanished right there. That was over 10 years ago and sadly, I’ve never dreamed of her again. She still ‘visits’ my sibs though.

    V^^^^V

  23. Marsha

    All right damn it I cried! I lost my mother this year and that hit close to home.

  24. That was an awesome little story! Thank you and your editor for sharing. I think I’ll share it with my mom, but she’ll cry. Hopefully in a good way.

    I also bought Holidays are Hell, but I forgot my charger for my Nook! It’s an epic tragedy.

  25. genki

    Wow. Just wow. Thank you, Kim! Merry Christmas, Happy Solstice, and Happy New Year to you and yours.

  26. Lesley

    Waaaaaaaauuuugh! So sweet! Pardon me while I go hug my kid. 🙂

  27. Colleen

    Very sweet and yes, made me cry!

  28. Lizzy

    I am still crying as I write this. That was beutiful and heart wrenching, and heart warming all at the same time.
    May angels always sing with us.

  29. Melissa

    Tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat! Thank you for sharing this!

    Merry Christmas!

  30. valerieohio

    Well, that made me cry like a baby… Thanks, Kim.

  31. Although I knew from the moment she met the old man in the bus, I cried nonetheless- thank you Kim, Paul’s right, it really was an awesome year to be a fan of your work. You’re awesome.
    Have a great week-end,
    aimée

  32. Diva

    Thanks for the lovely story Kim. Of course, now I’m crying at work but it’s all good.

  33. Nancy H

    Wow, Kim, you got me. I don’t consider myself much of a crier but that story did it. Beautiful, thank you for sharing. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  34. Lisa

    Oh my goodness…made me cry too Kim!

    Merry Christmas!!

  35. Sean Sullivan

    It looks Nice at your place. Were I live all we have is Rain no snow. People hope we get some soon.