settling in for some serious stuff

The snow stuck through yesterday despite the above-freezing temperatures.  It’s still on some of the trees, and with the gold sun rising, it makes for a singularly white/gold/blue morning, very much like a greeting card.  My dogs are content with their snow-free area, and the bird feeders are clear.  But the one thing I’m happiest about is the fish in the pond.  They are up at the surface of the water, meaning they are happy.  I worried about them last year with my makeshift heater, and now that I’ve got something that’s actually made for the job . . .  Well, I feel better about it.  It can snow now all it wants.  Though I do probably need to get the last of Thanksgiving off my front porch.

NaNo is over, and I truly enjoyed the exercise.  Congratulations everyone who took part, and a big high-five for those who reached the goal of 50,000 words.  It is not easy, but now that you’ve done it, it will be easier to do it again.

I find it interesting that I had another plotting issue fall into place yesterday, there at the final hour.  I’m at page 190, which is usually just shy of my halfway point, and only now did a few things fall into place, encouraging me that yes, I am doing this right.  Two characters, one in particular, are now firm enough in my mind that they are showing me ways they can round the story out.  I found the humor yesterday, and the foils upon which Peri’s character growth will fall upon.  I’ve always said that if I can’t laugh while I’m writing, then what’s the point?  So a huge happy sigh of relief for me as I start forward again on this first draft.  It’s ugly.  It’s rough.  It’s so not right yet. But it’s coming . . .

15 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

15 responses to “settling in for some serious stuff

  1. Hi there!🙂 My November turned out to be more eventful than I could have EVER imagined!! First off, I adopted a homeless dog. He’s an austrailian terrier/yorkie as best as I can guess. His name is Taco (he chose it) and between his vet appts and getting to know him, he took over a lot of my month. My NaNo story isn’t finished, but it is finished as far as storyline is concerned…. which is amazing! I really think this might make it to “manuscript” status!
    i’m so happy to see the snow!! In Texas it’s just been windy.

  2. Glad that things are falling into place for your NaNo story– I’m already looking forward to you finishing and publishing so I can read it!

    And it’s a good time of year to settle in and get serious about stuff, isn’t it? Short days, cold winds, snowy weather . . .perfect for hunkering down and really working. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

  3. SeattleRobin

    Ugly is absolutely the best way to describe the word vomit I spewed for NaNo this year. But at the moment the only thing that matters is that I got to 50K!

    Congrats on your NaNo win, Kim! It was fun reading about your progress and seeing the progress of all your writing buddies as we all typed madly for a month.

  4. Quote: “It’s ugly. It’s rough. It’s so not right yet. But it’s coming.”

    Ain’t that the truth? My Nano manuscript is a disastrous pile of jumbled thoughts but I am okay with it because the next few months are devoted to sorting it all out and pushing forward towards the finish of the 3 things I’ve got mixed up in it. Yes, I am a Nano Rebel and I’m proud of it.

    Good luck with your plot sorting, Kim.

  5. Diva

    Morning Kim,

    So might your NaNo novel be the seed that will grow into your next, great series?

  6. Ohh that’s so nice! I always wanted to have fish but I’m afraid they would freeze here… in winter during night the temp. can fall down to -25/30 C which is around -13/22F. so no pond for me. and for me to have a fishtank… well let’s just say that one of our 2 cats it’s a real hunter and won’t stop until she gets what she wants =p

    And congrats on NaNo! God knows it’s not easy to have all pieces falling into place. Sometimes I wonder how do you keep with your own characters thru the series and manage to remember all the details of their sayings, actions, etc. That’s why I love the fact that you took the time to do and share the Hollows Insider with us! =D
    I love to have view and access to all those special details that sometimes we’re not aware of and we only make in our minds. =)
    as for the recipe, their very easy. I have 3 I’d like to share and don’t want to write a testament here! Should I send it to Guy at vampcharms?
    Flo.

    • I like having water available for the birds, so that’s why the heated fish pond. It’s only about 25 gallons or so, but it gets the job done, and I swear the water brings in more birds than the food.

      Ahhh, yes please, send it to Guy. I think I might try it this weekend if it reaches him in time.

  7. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-Its Jim from Warren.Smudge and I only voted twice for pale demon-hope that doesn’t drag it down-we wanted to vote somemore so Smudge can show off her disguise,she waxes her mustache,wears a beret and scarf,and says she is a french lady from paris who doesn’t speak much English,and walks on all fours cause she has a bad back.