evolution

One of my favorite parts of writing, the aspect that figures into me getting to the keyboard every morning, is thinking I know what’s going to happen, and then something else showing up on the pages.  It’s not just the big stuff, but the small things.  Actually, it’s the small things that I enjoy the most, the touches that were not in my plan, the looks across the room, the flutter at the pit of the stomach where something unexpected happens and both me and my character realize the awful truth: she is in danger of falling in love, of possibly sacrificing all that she has fought for to save another.

It’s then that the story really takes off for me, where the internal battle starts.  I found that point yesterday when a threatening presence stood at the passenger pickup in a long coat and hat, inclined his head in an emotion unknown, and turned and walked away.  I hadn’t even known he was there, and yet this is where it all begins.

Sigh.  Maybe I’m a romantic after all, even if she had just kicked ass in the pages before.

30 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

30 responses to “evolution

  1. Linda (germany)

    That sounds just…wonderful. That’s exactly what I love most about the series. Besides all the vampire, demon, witch stuff, it’s life.
    Day-to-day stuff.

  2. Everett Davenport

    Evereybody is a bit of a romantic, some more than others. After all, love and sacrifice make the world go round. I hope you don’t have any problems with the tornado that went through Rock Hill yesterday.

  3. Love this teaser. It made me think of the Bob Dylan song “Man in the Long Black Coat.”

    Today’s a travel day for me, and yesterday was a finish-up-everything-I-need-to-do-before-traveling day, so I’m falling behind on NaNo. I did spend airplane time today sorting out my plot, and I feel pretty good about it now. Maybe I’ll have some time tomorrow to catch up on the words.

  4. I think that’s great! I love how many people are in the genre and enjoying it so much. I volunteered at a local high school today to read 11th and 9th graders short stories and they were really heavily falling onto the paranormal side of things. Especially the eleventh graders. I was really astounded and it made me sit back and wonder where they’ll be when they’re my age at their reading and writing tastes.

    Future Kim Harrison fans.

  5. Why *sigh* after admitting you’re a romantic?! I was watching a Alfred Hitchcock documentary and he believed to have a good movie you needed suspense, sexual tension and empathy. And I think in my opinion you need all these things for a great book. Now I know if anybody sees my posts I’m constantly harassing you on your question pages probably thinks I’m a hornball, but I truly love your books because You’re a great story teller and you don’t need 5 sex scenes in a book sometimes the fantasy and hints are just as good…. Wait! Unless Al is in those sexy scenes!!😉 Cool Quotes:

    “Drama is life with the dull parts left out.”
    ― Alfred Hitchcock

    “There is no terror in the bang, only in the anticipation of it.”
    ― Alfred Hitchcock

    “Fear isn’t so difficult to understand. After all, weren’t we all frightened as children? Nothing has changed since Little Red Riding Hood faced the big bad wolf. What frightens us today is exactly the same sort of thing that frightened us yesterday. It’s just a different wolf. This fright complex is rooted in every individual.”
    ― Alfred Hitchcock

    P.S I knew that vampire mermaid was gonna win…

    • Ahhhh, I think I’m still stuck on the bodice ripper covers that show everyone from the neck down. Not real keen on the trend right now on cutting off everyone’s heads, depersonalizing them to a set of boobs or abs.

  6. Hi Kim! Oh, I just love your teaser

    I’m having this happen to me, too, as things appear and happen I’ve never expected yet have unconciously set up. Hit 41k last night. Though I do have to say, I wrote a scene last night with so many beautiful outfits and thought “this is totally wasted on the teen male POV”, lol.

    Write on!

    ~Suzi

  7. What I love is when I unconsciously write a loop hole for myself. When I find myself thinking: “How will this happen?” And then I realise that I gave myself a path without planning it.🙂 I had that moment today.
    I’m on 43k words and counting.😉 You’re still it.

    Good luck and enjoy writing!

  8. Missed a couple days here. So first, I’m glad your showing your story who’s boss Kim. Second, it’s good that you did well on your wallpapering. I did a border in the main floor bathroom and found out that I suck at it and need to stick to painting. Give me a brush and I’ll brush away. And third, I think kicking ass and romance go quite well together. Write it all down and I will lap it up!
    *p.s. while I was reading up on what I missed here in blog-land, I saw you comment to someones post with your ugly red wallpaper with chickens.. well, it made me smile cause last night I just read Redal-Stan explain to Alissa about the difference between Keepers and Masters using red and white chickens. Man.. funny and yet a little weird. Sometimes I feel like Jim Carrey in The Truman Show. ha! ><

  9. Sammie

    of coarse your a romantic; my mother is a writer (not publisted) what i have learned throughout my life from her and many other writers is that no matter what you write the alure of being a writer comes from being a romantic even if its a small part very very deep down inside.

  10. Bummed. Theres no way Trent would wear a long coat and hat. I don’t like new guys infringing on my dream visions for Rachel. :sniffles:
    I guess I will just have to trust Mrs. Harrison knows what she is doing.😛

  11. Jessica

    I love this post! It’s a teaser that’s not a teaser. Can’t wait!

  12. Colleen

    sigh.. I love these posts where you give little peeks… sigh.

  13. Of COURSE you are atleast a bit of a romantic… you couldnt have written the Truth series if you were not… nor could you have written that totally hot scene where rachel was with kisten and SHE bit HIM… mmmmmmm i LOVED that scene… (then again i’m the freaky type who

    • oops accidentally bumped the mouse… anyway as i was saying i’m the freaky type who used to have a pair of custom made fangs, and they were good enough that when i wore them even a dentist friend of mine at the time said they looked like they could easily have been my natural teeth the artist had matched them so well..)

    • Thanks. 🙂 I really appreciate that!
      The teeth sound very cool . . .