NaNoWriMo? Maybe . . .

I burned through the last couple of days of my rewrite, finding out that the last chapter that I was concerned about read better than I thought, so I’m good to go and can actually start writing something new.  Seeing as it’s only the 3rd, I’m going to jump in to NaNo and play along on the sidelines.  :-)  I still have a week or so of plotting to do, but I might be able to catch up.

Today is going to be interesting as I spend most of it at my desk with a pencil and clipboard, writing out things I WANT.  Things I want to see, want to do, want to touch on.  It’s like looking at your box of toys and picking out what you want to play with.  These wants can be as simple as I want to see Jenks kill a bird to as complex as I want to see Jenks fall in love.  (Which he won’t.  We don’t have enough time to show that, but we will see healing, and that’s satisfying, too.)

I’d love to share my I WANT list, but you can understand why I don’t.  -grin-  I take my list of wants, then start tossing them into piles of where and how I can accomplish getting them on the page, which starts to naturally begin to organize everything into places and characters, which then leads to a story itself.  Ahhhh, I miss the days of writing as a pantster.  -laugh-

For those of you who like their voice to be heard, I’ve been made aware of a contest going on over at Goodreads for the best read of 2011.  If you’ve never been over to Goodreads, you seriously need to.  They are an excellent resource on the web for what is out there for your literary consumption.  Pale Demon is in the Best Paranormal Fantasy category, but until the prelims close on the 13th, you can add in your favorite, even if it’s not listed, so go take a look, scroll around, and let your voice be heard!

Goodreads prelim voting for best read of 2011-closes Nov 13

And for you readers who actually get their storytelling fix the original way (by audiobooks) I’ve just updated my website to include links to audio samples of the books that Harper produces.  I have the widgets parked at each individual page at the web site, but here is one so that you know what to look for.  I absolutely love how Ms. Gavin reads the books.  She has truly become the voice of the Hollows.

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “NaNoWriMo? Maybe . . .

  1. Marsha

    Got my vote in at Goodreads. Good luck!

  2. hi kim So glad you are joing us with NaNO I am having a blast. i am doing my book two of my series lol i too do all the planning stuff thanks for the wants idea though imhaving trouble keeping my plost straight and not getting to much going on i read your tips from your old blogs and it was very helpful. we have similar style, i use colored notebooks,but i found this green one i love and think ill use it throught the whole series i have colored folders though for the file drawer its easier to know what im looking for that way. i do profiles i just love creating characters and watching them grow!! well enough your busy. good luckon NaNO I had over 3000 for the elast 2 days today i had to go with hubby ro dr visit and got only 1400 plus some outlinging. But im still stoked. loving it!

  3. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Writing something new?.. sounds refreshing!
    I’ve heard good things on ur audio books, but have not heard it for myself yet. Perhaps I will check em out.
    So ready for Friday. Enjoy ur weekend Kim!
    P.s. In ur truth series.. I really like Strell, but I can’t help wanting to know more about this Lodesh guy. As u can see I’m still enjoying them. Just wish I had more time to read.

  4. SiSi

    For some reason, I’ve never been able to get into books on tape.

    Something else I’m never able to get into? Getting organized. However, I’ve been inspired by your organization, so this morning I dove into cleaning out and organizing my office. I got off to a good start, but then had to go vote on Goodreads, and then look up all the books I hadn’t read, and while I was on there decided to look up what all my friends on Goodreads have been reading lately.

    By then I needed food, but after a quick lunch break, I went right back to work. Unfortunately, the first folder I picked up had all the funny emails and work-related hilarity I printed out when I left the job years ago. I laughed until I cried. Then I came across all the emails people sent me when I left–I didn’t even remember printing those out, but they were all so nice that I got teary again.

    After all that emotion, I certainly couldn’t focus on organizing anything so I stuffed everything back into the file cabinet and went off to eat leftover candy corn and listen to music for the rest of the day.

    Tomorrow though . . . . . I’m going to listen to a book on tape🙂

  5. Lesley

    Another fan of Gavin here, too, though I didn’t mind the reader of ODW that much. (She pronounced Gally’s name right, anyway…*g*) But Gavin is awesome. My friend lending me his audio version of DWW and the sequal is how I got into this series to begin with- I wasn’t really even into urban fantasy before that. 🙂

  6. 😎 My spam filter makes it hard to navigate the GoodReads site, but if I were to pick my favorite non-KimHarrison book of 2011 it would be an easy pick: READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline. It’s even more impressive in that he’s a first-time author.(Warner Brothers is producing the film adaptation)

    I know you’ve blogged in the past about wish lists.(I think I remember you showing us one) Not long ago, i wrote a wish list of my own and I found that inherent in a wish list is not only what you ‘want’ to write about, but what you ‘don’t’ want to write about.
    Q>When you started the first Hollow’s book, was there anything – tendencies, character traits, plotlines – you wanted to avoid, or not write about?

  7. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-Its Jim from Warren. Good Idea on the house.Rembember make at least 1 bathroom accessable for chairs by putting in a walk in showewrn with a seat, caue believe me, you won’t be able to use a tub, and walkins can be wheel-in with a phone shower head (This os one reason I had to come here-no way Doc is letting me near a tub.Walk in tubs are O.K. too. but getting them for chairs can be high-go with walk-in shower cheeper and convertable,I know whereof I speak,just got out of mine. Amazon messed up my pre-order for Howwows Insider!! Waanh They just wrote and appologized, and I get a refund, but I don’t know if I get glow in the dark!! Super waaaa!!

    • jkh

      Re h/c showers and hand-helds: I had to have a shower chair + hand-held shower for a while (My phys. therapist taught me how to get my lower half onto the chair safely) and I never want to give them up! One of the biggest advantages of a hand-held is for rinsing the walls and tub when cleaning. Not to mention the convenience of shampooing…

    • Hi Jim. Yep, we got a roll-in on the ground floor.

      I’m so sorry your order got messed up!

  8. Shirls

    For the last few weeks I’ve been listening to the entire series (again) and finished Pale Demon yesterday. I get totally drawn into the storyworld and love how Ms Gavin performs the works. Though I was practically in tears for the last quarter of Pale Demon. I’m looking forward to the next one.

  9. Victoria Eskey

    I think we ALL would love to see your want list. ^_^
    I have heard Marguerite Gavin before, and I do love her voice.
    I’m working hard at my novella! I’m trying my hand at a mystery/suspense and hopefully it’ll look like I know what I’m doing

  10. I voted like 2-3 days ago, Kim😛. I’ll round up a couple more of my buddies who loved it too so they can vote. I was thankful that I could vote for Pale Demon and Shadowfever in 2 separate catagories. Good luck! Pale Demon was certainly my overall favorite this year! Though The Hollows Insider took me completely by surprise. I honestly was not expecting to love it like I did. I actually wrote up a 5-star review on Goodreads:
    http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/158099780

    I have to second that it’s an excellent site, especially when you friend a lot of people and can see what books they are reading and enjoying.

  11. Howdy ma’am.

    This is the first time I have ever listened to your work being performed by Ms Gavin. I can see why she is so popular. Have you two met? How did she feel about the ‘Back by popular demand” thing?

    The strange cat visitor happens a lot if I’m not careful. Every Fall and Spring. I open my windows. The ‘cat’ window has no screen. Fuzzy and TYPO can come and go as they please.

    A couple of stray Toms have also learned to do this. They sneak in sometimes to steal some food. One night they showed up at the same time. There was a big fight in my living room and yellow fur every where.

    When I went in there to see what was going on, they where surprised. They had this funny WTF look on their faces. and then it was like a live action cartoon as they ran over each other trying to get to the window.

    Here’s Fuzzy looking out the window.

    V^^^^V

    • jkh

      Love the pic of Fuzzy, Vampy! I/we’ve had the same trouble with uninvited feline guests. They know my dad like kitties, and they’d love to be part of our household. But Oliver, meek liittle Oliver, says he likes being an Only Cat and chases them away with growls and even war-howls.

    • Jan V.

      OMGosh. Look at that face!! (smiles) That’s 1 cute cat you got there.

    • Thanks she is cute but deadly.

    • Jan V.

      007 Kitty…lol
      No wait..Vampyre Kitty.
      You should enter her in Kim’s Halloween contest.

      P.S. Love the pic. Thanks for sharing.

    • Marsha

      Fuzzy is quite pretty. Maybe the toms are sneeking in to vist her! Don’t you get mosquitoes? I think you said you live in Southern SC, right or GA?

    • Hi Vampy. I talked to her once on pronunciation, but that was ages ago.

      Dude, I don’t think I could handle stray cats in the house. You are of sterner stuff then me!

  12. cleodna

    Marguerite Gavin is awesome! She really makes the books come to life.