Happy Halloween

Happy Halloween!  It’s one of my favorite holidays, and I’m even going to cut out of work early so I can watch the trick-or-treaters!

We’ve got tons on Halloween costume contestants up at the website, and my inbox is full of even more, so give me a day or two to get them cycled through the front page.  Contest runs until November 12th, so there’s plenty of time.  Photos and how to enter

Just as a reminder that I will be at Nicola’s tomorrow (Nov 1) at 7:00 to sign.  I’m not sure if I will be doing a Q&A due to the size of the store, but I will sign everything you’ve got since it is unlikely that there will be a huge crowd.  :-)

If you can’t make it, you can still get a personalized first-edition glow-in-the-dark copy by calling them at: 734.662.0600 before I get there on Tuesday night.  After that, I’m not sure if I will be able to personalize them or just have my signature.  (I’ll know more tomorrow.)  Price is 25.99 plus tax and shipping.

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “Happy Halloween

  1. Merry Samhain, Kim!
    The vampire ball was fantastic, I had a blast. And on my way to Munich I crossed a city called Kist! Awww!!! I did not know that!
    Yesterday I dressed up as witch with a friend (you know her from other contest photos) and I finally (22 yrs) got to go to a Halloween party, yay!
    Hope you had a fun time, too!
    Aimée

  2. Claudia G.

    Hi Kim,

    Happy Halloween! Today I received The Hollows Insider in the mail. It was the best Halloween treat that I could have gotten. I finally saw how the ‘peaceful mall’ photo looks on the page: totally awesome! It has finally fully sunk in that my photo was chosen to be in a book written by my favorite author. I feel so happy and lucky that I had this privilege. This has honestly been the highlight of my year. Thank you so much. You are the best!

    Claudia : )

  3. MelanieS

    Happy Halloween to you!

    I had a great time trick-or-treating with my kids and costume watching.

    Now it’s bed time. NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow. Hooray!

  4. Happy Halloween, Kim! The Hollows Insider was fantastic. I didn’t know what to expect from a world book because I never really read them, but it was super entertaining and I didn’t want to put it down (though reluctantly had to). It was so well done and it sets the bar very high for any future world books I read. I think the element of Hollows humor really made it special.

    You know, this weekend they were showing one of my favorite movies, Hocus Pocus. I swear it’s practically become the “A Christmas Story” of Halloween because you know they’re going to show it. But there is a point where the witches get on makeshift “brooms” to fly; I believe Bette Bidler has a broom, Sarah Jessica Parker has a mop, and then Kathy Najimy has a vacuum cleaner. It’s one of my favorite moments, but I actually had a bit of an epiphany. The witches of the Hollows are now my flagship witch, so because they don’t use brooms I briefly went “oh yeeeeah” when I saw that scene in the movie. I don’t know what to make of that, lol.

    • -grin- It is still my goal to get Rachel on a broom before it’s done, Erika. I adore that movie, by the way.

      I’m so glad you are enjoying the Hollows Insider. It was truly a labor of love for me. Thank you!

  5. SiSi

    Happy Halloween! I just got back from my traditional visit to Chelsea for Halloween. Lots of trick-or-treaters, some really creative costumes, good friends, good food–really, a perfect Halloween evening. Hope everyone else had a good one too.

  6. ~Lynn from Haverhill

    Happy Halloween! Nice punkin🙂

  7. Happy Halloween!!! I told the 4 little boys next door that if they didn’t come over for Tricks and Treats that I would eat them. Or was that if they DID come over . . .

    Stir the cauldron
    Watch it bubble.
    Work ’til nightfall
    Wait for trouble.

  8. Sammie Gwaltney

    Happy Halloween!!!! I hope ur night is filled with the joy and excitement u felt as a child!

  9. Jade/Third Coast

    I just wanted to tell you how impressed I was with the Hollows Insider. It is not only fun and informative, but beautifully designed. In another life I designed and did layout of publications for printing. I think I know how much work went into this book, both from your end and your publishers. Great job!

    • Thank you, Jade. I really appreciate that. Dropping this on my editor’s desk and hoping she would run with it (after pulling her hair out) was the scariest thing I’d done in a long time.

  10. jkh

    Just got your post about the progress with CW about the Hollows TV series. I’m thrilled. I know it could be a loooong time before we actually see anything, but I’ll keep hoping.

    Happy Spooky Eve!

    • It’s going to happen fast, JKH, or not at all. The date I’m looking at to know what’s going to happen is June, which for me is like tomorrow.

      Hope you had a great night!

  11. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-It’s Jim from Warren.I’m glad you’re having a great Holloween.Really, it’s Walpergis nite you know,all the undead will be tripping out. We’re having a thrill a minute here at the Retirement Village. Both deer that live in the woods were out grazing in my lawn, at leat they don’t quack and honk like the geese and ducks, thank god.(I think I said the resevoir a few miles away is on the flyway south). It’s RR(really rural here) at the village. I hope you and Guy have lots of wildlife(of either variety up in Ann Arbour).I keep meaning to ask, if its not a spoiler for the tie-off book, whnat did Piscary know about Trent’s and Rachel’s fathers, and why was he using Al to try and head it off?

    • Hi Jim. Ahhh, I think all our deer were hiding last night, but we’ve seen them napping (seriously, they were napping) in the middle of the street, taking advantage of the warmer paved road.

      Oh, you’re asking me to think now. It’s too early for that! Just that the two of them could bring about a resurgence of the elves, and the vampires wouldn’t like that.

  12. Happy Halloween!
    I’m so trying to get my glow in the dark personalized insider but no promises since it’s an international call and I’m gonna be working all day tomorrow… *sighs*
    Did you do your house nice halloween style? you should dress as Rachel and post a picture here!!! LOL
    Enjoy and Happy Hallow’s eve or Samhain!!!
    Flo.

    • Oh no. Ouch. If you can’t get through, give it some time, and maybe we can move a few out through my living room, Florencia. But it take a lot of time.

      I decorate the house, but not myself. Not anymore. I don’t know why . . . I haven’t in a long, long time. Hum.

  13. Happy Halloween Ms. Kim!! I know you’re going to be busy for a bit, but I was wondering if you would sign books if they were mailed to you. I’m also hoping/dreaming/drooling over a poster, lol! Glad you enjoyed New York, wanna try Dragon*Con in Atlanta next year??
    :kiss kiss: and Love ya!

    • We still do that, Staci, and I think my address is at the “mailbox” tab at the website somewhere. I don’t have any glow-in-the-dark posters, but maybe soon. They wanted to use them at CCNY.

      I dont think I’ll be getting to DragonCon any time soon. I like my labordays 🙂

  14. Your the best kim.
    I have had to miss all of your signings here in MI since i have had to have class on tues. nights. i am proud to be getting a book from you personalized and signed. Thank you so much. My mom is doing it for my birthday.❤ thank you.

  15. 😈 HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! 👿

    I got a ton of candy ready for all the trick-or-treaters this year(last year I almost ran out). Have fun.

    Q>Did you by any chance get a chance to watch the debut of GRIMM on NBC friday? It was good! Creepy, scary, dark, but with some humor. The beasts/supes are generally evil(or ‘reformed’ evil*laugh) and there are real stakes, consequences to the actions of the characters. Not a lot of romance so far, the good guy isn’t a ‘joke-a-minute’ funny guy, an interesting side-kick and background mythology…I liked it.😎

    • It was colder this year, so we didn’t run out of candy this time. That, and we were prepared! (Wow, just wow)

      I did actually see the debut of Grimm. (more for seeing the limits a pilot is under than anything else, because I know I won’t have the time to keep up with the series.) I saw a lot I liked, but it was hard seeing where they were going to fall and knowing the Hollows was going to be fighting to find that line as well.

  16. Happy Halloween Mistress Kimmie!😀

    I’m still all excited about the CW deal. It’s something we’ve all wanted for so long. Here is to hoping they get it right enogh that we’ll like it.

    “Right” is a hard thing because everyone has a different version of what that is. What I think is right wont be the same as someone else’s. If you’re truely happy with how they tell your story, I think most of your readers/viewers will be too.

    No matter what happens, I am so very happy for you.

    V^^^^V

    .

    • Thanks, Vampy. I’m still waiting to see how much or little they are going to involve me. I’m trying so hard right now not to be the annoying author that I’m making myself sick. I keep telling myself I have time, and that things aren’t ramped up yet, and to be patient. This is hard, though, knowing you have a treasure box and what coin they need from it and not feeling free enough to hand it to them and let them do their magic.