Weekend Projects

Lately, my weekend projects have been taking me all week to get done, but done they do get.  A few weeks ago, I talked about trying to felt some of my knitting.  Well, I finally got my first felting project done.  It took a while longer because I didn’t exactly follow the instructions and knitted them two layers thick.  Guy has been using the pot holder, but the mitt is too small for him.  (Guess what?  Felting shrinks your work!  Kind of like editing . . .)  I knew this would happen, but I wanted it done and it is, what it is.  My real goal is a hat.  I’ve got one made, but it was with a different yarn and it didn’t felt up as well.  (test piece) I can use it as decoration, but it’s not really what I was looking for.  (shrug)  It’s all therapy, anyway, something creative I can to with color and texture unlike creativity with words and images.

Yesterday was a good day at the keyboard.  I finally got that last chapter done, and wow, I sorta saw that coming, but not Trent’s spelling room.  The depth one room can give a person is amazing.  I can’t wait for you to see it.  I wanted this to be my last run through before I sent it in to my editor, but I want to go over it one more time–just to nail down a few things.  For you guys who are keeping track, this will be one rough draft and three revisions before my editor sees it.  (And you thought it all came out looking perfect the first time.  It’s ugly, I tell you, ugly.)

Look for a manic Monday on Monday.  Guy is putting one together, and I’m thinking I might be able to slip a few glow in the dark covers in there.

41 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

41 responses to “Weekend Projects

  1. Pi

    Hi Kim!

    It’s a bit late, but I received this week “Blood Work” and I was amazed. It looks completely different (lots better) from pictures in internet to the real thing on paper. I enjoyed it a lot and felt it was a little like a consolation prize you give (us) fans of Ivy/Rachel pairing, but I’m sure you’ve heard that more than once : ). I really thank it a lot. I see a bittersweet ending coming.

    Tomorrow will be released “The Hollows Insider”, but I won’t get my hands on it till 7th November (><) via amazon… I'll be glad, because I'm basing my final project of Production class on your work of the Hollows series. Although I already had to do a hand made guide of the Hollows universe, it will be a great help in giving it a final touch, because I'm sure a lot of things didn't cross my mind.

    I hope everything goes alright. Regards,

    Pi (Spain)

  2. NickinColoma

    Hey kim…Glad to see you getting out for the new book. Question though, do I wear the roadie t from the Feb book or just my burning bunny pin on a nice shirt…..just a random thought…..NickinColoma

  3. AKR (Trinidad)

    hee hee …. =)
    … you saw that coming … but not Trent’s spelling room ..!!! (LOL) .. ok ok forgive me but now my mind is in the gutter ….

    I can’t wait to see what naughtiness Trent has been “spelling” …lol
    I love those UK covers … especially the Ivy one .. (if that’s supposed to be Ivy) ….

    I’m always in awe of such skills … I don’t have a single creative bone in my body …:-/
    As always thank you so much for sharing …

    Have a great rest of weekend all …❤

    AKR (Trinidad)

  4. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-I was looking at Amazon,and deciding about new kindle (Not yet) when an unknown forct pulled me over to your stall at their bookstore where I saw that A Perfect Blood is not coming out untill March 6th!! I had my eyeballs all set for Feb!!

    • ctannstarr

      I’m hearing this all over the net. Hmm… More time for the book tour? The speculation has us all grinning like little kids in Starbucks.😉

    • Mmmm. Not sure why that is, Jim. I’d be willing to bet that that will change. I know the publisher wants the biggest pop it can get. Keep an eye on the hard cover release, too. My release date is not entirely set yet.

  5. the felting looks great!! i too do crafts also i crochet and loomknit same reasson like you a different outlet. love the talk about trents spelling room cant wait i soo love treent. also veryinteerested in your comments of drafts and rewwrites since im doing my first writing project. good to know its normal to have to kep doing rewrites and edits . THANKS have a great weekend.LOOKING FORWARD FORTHE INSIDER SOON counting the days!!

    • Thank you, Cathy. It is a new tool in my crafting toolbox.

      That is fantastic that you write. I definitely spend more time rewriting than writing. Good luck with your work!

  6. jkh

    Well, it’s Friday, both good and not so. I’ll miss new posts from all of us fans as well as from you, Kim. And now the teaser about Trent’s spelling room! I’m just about beside myself, and I’ll have to wait HOW long to read it??? Ah, well, it takes time to do things well.

    I’ve noticed that when one is knitting or crocheting and reaches a long “repeat” phase of a project, that once one has really learned the pattern one’s mind goes to a different level of contemplation. Good thoughts develop. You can achieve that folding socks, too, but needlecraft is more fun.

  7. Your potholder and mitt are so cheery and colorful. Too bad the mitt didn’t fit Guy, guess that one is just for you : )
    I can’t wait for Manic Monday, I hope I get my info in on time, I really want a “Glow in the Dark” cover. But actually anything would be great, I never seem to be one of the ones picked. Oh well gives me a reason to hustle on mondays : )
    Have a great weekend, see you on monday : )

  8. Ohh me likes! I’m following your advice and started checking on some knitting classes around here… we’ll see.
    I love the colors you put into your craft.
    As for the writing… wow, we’ll get to see Trent’s spelling room? For real? :O sounds like a treat.
    in Any case, have a very nice weekend!!!
    Flo.

    p.s.: I don’t have any glow-in-the-dark covers! sounds good!

    • Oooh good luck, Florencia. Start with something small to build your confidence. I’ve been knitting since I was 12, so the complicated things are easier. Still, I made a potholder for my first felting project, which wasn’t hard at all!

      Hope you had a great weekend!

  9. I love arts and crafts and those are so cool! I can’t wait to see what you guys hook up for Monday. Just the idea of more glow in the dark covers has me drooling. My gal pals were stunned when they flipped through the pages of The Hollows Insider. None of us had any idea what it would be like. We’ve been passing it around taking turns reading while hanging out.

    I’m hooking up with Carla Galloway at 2pm and we’re going to have some book club fun with our blog readers. Then I’m on lock down writing for the rest of the week end. We’re trying to figure out if I should use a pen name for the author project. I’ve marketed my real name for the blogs, photography, music and art but am nervous about writing under it (sigh).

    I don’t want to kill any of my good will if I crash and burn as an author (LOL). Hubby can’t believe his brazen wife is suddenly chicken. My tweet peeps started submitting names so I guess I’ll test the waters in direct message land with my Tweople for lunch (silly grin).

    Enjoy your weekend,Kim.🙂

    • I’m so glad that you are enjoying the Hollows Insider, Tann Starr. It was truly a labor of love for me!

      Pen name, or not to pen name. That is a question only you can answer. I’ve never been unhappy with mine. 🙂

  10. Howdy ma’am,

    You remind me of my little sister. She is very active and creative like you are. She makes up games to entertain her grand kids, She also takes ‘glam'(lack of a better term) photos of puppies. She has taught herself to paint and draw. This is just a small list of what she does. She has learned that she can do pretty much anything she wants to if she puts her mind to it. That’s what reminds me of you.

    I hope you have a great weekend, see yoy Monday, I want a poster🙂

    V^^^^V

  11. Diva

    Morning Miss Kim!

    You are a multi-talented lady. A renaissance woman.

    Ooh! Trent’s spelling room. Can’t wait to read about that. It’s clothing optional, right?😉

  12. Stephanie C

    Wow they look super cute, I can never make things like that. I don´t have the patience for it, to hyperactive i guess or that stuff just never looks nice when I try to do it. Spelling room? Hmmm Can´t wait to read about it and know Trents depths hahaha

  13. Bel

    Good Morning!
    I love reading your blog. I think its cool you take the time to do it. Your mitt and potholder are cool. I cant do stuff like that. I used to craft and make things but kids keep me busy! Are all the world books that are coming out going to have glow in the dark covers? I pre- ordered mine. I love glow in the dark. Every Halloween I paint my nails with glow in the dark nail polish. Any way thanks for all the GREAT books! I can’t wait to read next one!

    • Trust me, Bel, there was a long span of time that I didn’t pick up yarn or thread, but you never forget. 🙂

      If you pre ordered, you should get a first-edition, yes. I can’t say for sure when they will run out, but the pre-orders should be glowy. 🙂

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the Hollows. Thank you!

  14. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms kim Jim from Warren. Still working on my internet provider and phone co.I hope you have the greatest weekend.We have MORE rain.And duck assmulation by the kimkardashian borg,she’s alreadyinfiltrated your Google.

    • Big silly grin. I got an e-mail with nothing in it. I’m assuming that was you (LOL). JKH hooked me up (thank goodness). Glad to see you still with us. It just wouldn’t be the same without you Jim. Hang in there buddy. Shorty sends his regards to Smudge.🙂

    • James R. Fox

      Hi CTannStarr-its jim from Warren-Maybe they have figured out they are not supposed to turn me off(I’m 72 next week, and have had heart failure and 3 strokes,I rely on that lifeline)I doubt it though,I think they just forgot and they will do it tomorrow.Smudge is sitting here,she says hi.,Quigley is under the chair, so all’s right with the world.Don’t know what happened to my e-mail,your address also bounced a few times.

    • James, I get an excessive amount of e-mail because of my blogs (LOL). Things do bounce back sometimes, posting up to three days later (which drives me crazy – silly grin). I have 1150 plus bloggers in my club chaos forum who are constantly chatting with me and fooling around during book club so it gets a little crazy and crowded in that box. I have 8 e-mail accounts because 1 would never survive the ActiveRain chatter. Glad you are still posting. Hug Smudge for me and the wee people.😉

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Jim from Warren again-I forgot to say I love the covers! The one with Ivy is great,that model could be Ivy in the unmade movie series about the Hollows.Go long like the Harry Potter movies did,why think small?

    • It’s good you’re still with us, Jim! I’m so glad you like the UK covers. I love ’em!

  15. Very nice Kim! They are wicked cute. I didn’t know felting shrinks.. oh well. You know what people say about men with big hands.. they need big mittens. ><
    I have important things to get to this weekend.. but I'm looking forward to some fun and relaxation also. Currently I'm debating an invite to a haunted house with some friends. I'm wondering what happens if u punch someone that spooks u. I'm afraid my first instinct would be to defend myself from creepy creepers.. lol.
    Grats on ur work. I'm so addicted to reading all of it🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

  16. Colleen Champagne

    I used to be crafty. I loved to make stuff and got a great sense of accomplishment from seeing things I made myself. I sure wonder what happened to that woman! 3 authors whose blogs I follow all knit and I am feeling a tingle of inspiration again when I see projects like yours.

    • Don’t give up on it, Colleen. I had a big span of time that I didn’t touch my needles and yarn because of other commitments. You never forget how to do it. I’ve since worked knitting in as a way to relax at the end of the day and find that sense of accomplishment you mentioned. It’s hard to find it when what you’re working on at your desk won’t see the light of day for two to three years. 🙂