Putting the lax into relaxing

Had a great weekend this go around, avoiding the “homework” I gave myself Friday to dig up some Latin phrases, so I know what I’ll be doing this morning.  Sigh.  Still working on the rewrite . . .

The weekend, thought, was wonderful.  I’ve been wanting to try my hand at felting, so I started a potholder/oven mitt project.  (Thanks to my mom checking out a book at the library for me.)  Friday we went yarn shopping, Saturday I knitted a pot holder, and Sunday I felted it.  I made it double layered for better protection, but that means I need to make the oven mitt double layered, too.  Double layer pot holders are easy, but mittens on double-pointed needles so there are no seams?  I’ve not knitted double layer thickness (two layers at the same time) since making mittens for my boys.  That would be about fifteen years ago.  I know I should be making that inner layer a stitch or two smaller, but I figure since it’s an oven mitt and not a mitten, and I’m going to felt it, I can just follow the pattern and stretch the outer layer a bit more.  I’ll show you when it’s done.  I’ve got just the spot for them in my kitchen.

I got a little work done outside, too, dismantling a wall I built around my air conditioner this summer of free-standing stone.  I want to put up a more formal wall of uniform rock so it can be higher and I’m not risking it falling apart thanks to the chipmunks.  We had a beautiful weekend for working outside, and it was awkward with not much to do.  Too many leaves on the tree to rake the yard yet, not enough things dying to cut them down to the ground, a smidgen too early to plant bulbs . . . So I went for a bike ride instead to enjoy the colors.  Beautiful!!

23 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

23 responses to “Putting the lax into relaxing

  1. Glad you had a wonderful time relaxing. We’re having fun getting the crew together to see you. Sent a whole bunch of invites out (LOL). People are actually counting the author links and texting me (silly grin).🙂 http://actvra.in/jwd

  2. Most of the trees down here are pines and they don’t turn and drop their leaves. We do get a few, but to really appreciate the change in season you have to drive north. I envy you your ride through the colors this weekend.

  3. jkh

    Sounds like a just about perfect weekend. Glad it was a good one for you. Soon enough we’ll all be “socked in” by the weather. My sis has been doing yard work here at my dad’s place, gave the Virginia Creeper a serious haircut (it was starting to creep up the neighbor’s garage). I did a little shopping at the mall. Next time I attempt that I think I’ll rent a golf cart or something…me ‘n’ Jim-from-Warren don’t do distances like we used to, I guess. I’m so looking forward to the Hollows Insider, getting antsy!

  4. Wow sounds like you had a great weekend : ) I can’t wait to see the finished product on your felting. You have encouraged me to start my own crafting project, it’s been a while so I’ll start with something simple, maybe a new crotched scarf……..Hmmm

  5. Hi Kim!! Glad you had a great weeekend. Mine was ok. it was pretty warm here,so Ihad to rearrangemy days to sit out in the morning and crochet nd facebook!! I did get my cookies made ad a lovely apple cake! i shared the cookies at a church function Hubby and I got greedy with the cake. lol Sian and I had some great brainnstorming sessions. Im so jealous she gets to seee you innewyork and I dont , But I am so happy she gets to go!! Have a great week njory your job. isnt it cool to mak a living of something yo lov to do! Writing is so fun!!

    • As I’ve always said, it’s easier to find a way to make money at something you love, than learn to love what you can make money at. Not saying it’s easy, just easier. 🙂

  6. I’m glad you had a nice weekend. It went way too fast for me, can’t wait for December to have some decent vacations!
    In any case it was cold and rainny, pretty much fall is here. And (promise you won’t laugh… ok you can laugh) I don’t know how to ride a bike.

    You guys and your craftiness are making me want to knit again. I learned when I was very young and barely remember but I feel like taking some courses, and there’s nothing like the feel of homemade sweaters and socks (Thanks my grandma).

    • Hey, if you don’t grow up in an area where it’s safe to ride a bike, it’s easy to never learn. No laughing here. 🙂

      Oooh, try a small project. It is extremely satisfying, and it doesn’t have to be perfect. Good luck!

  7. Love the cover Kim. Glad u’ve had a good weekend. Mines been pretty nice all around. Good weather, good friends & good times. Today we are going to the fair. Ahhh.. love it. Then tomorrow it’s my bday. Not too sure on my thoughts about that one though. LoL. Finally got my preorder in for the insider. Can’t wait.. it looks badass. And then halloween is around the corner. Mmmm october.😉

    Ps. Grats on ur double layers and felts!

  8. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-its Jim from Warren.Glad you had a good weekend,we did too. Warm in the day and cool at night. We even have sun now. I have been going for long (for me) walks on my walker and admiring the autumn colors.I think your right about the tattoo,a lot of the younger models in my photography club have them.I don’t mind usually if they place them in tastefull positions,like just above the butt.That way the girl can always hide it by the way she turns.On the arm is not so cool to me,often you wind up with body make-up issues.Oh Well-I guess its the younger generation as my daughte rtells me regularly,at 72 next week I’m a fogie.

  9. Howdy ma’am,

    If you’re having chipmunk problems, I could loan Fuzzy to you. She’s never met one that she didn’t like. She also. Likes mice, geckos, birds and squirrels. Fuzzy is an equal oppertunity hunter.

    `V^^^^V

  10. Sounds like an awesome weekend to me!! I did some baking and started making my Halloween cards!!!

    Deana