It burns us, yes it does, my precious

We have had sun for two days now, and I don’t know what to do with myself.  Seriously.  That low system that had parked itself over and around Michigan for the last week or so is still reaching out trying to give us rain, but it just missed us yesterday, and I hope that’s the end of it for a while.  I’m not complaining–much–about the rain.  I had three new, very large plants in the ground that probably really appreciated it.  And I’m sure that new patch of lawn I put in mid September did as well.

The sad thing is it’s only Tuesday and I’m already starting to plan out my weekend.  -laugh-  I’ve got a couple of new curtains I want to put up, one might make a real difference in the temperature of my office in the morning, so I may bump that one up in my schedule.  I’m still not happy with the mounting hardware.  If I can change the color of the pole, I’m going to head back to the home improvement center and swap it out.  Or maybe just go to a different store for a new pole. . .  Decisions, decisions.

So this week at my desk, I’m planning on making a very large push to get through the last of it.  I want one more light brush through before I call it good, so I need to work up some time to allow for it.  I’ve been doing a lot of pre-planning in my thoughts in my downtime as far as what I want to do with this last third, and I think I’m ready to rock all over this manuscript.  We’ll see.  If I can get through this last chapter, it will be all down hill.  That’s usually when I hit a tree.

 

31 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

31 responses to “It burns us, yes it does, my precious

  1. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-its Jim from Warren-Just to let you know that wordpress is finally working around here.

  2. Jenn

    Good Morning Kim!

    I’m in the same boat you are with the sun & wanting the weekend lol! It sounds like you have lots of fun plans for the weekend too. It’s our Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend and I’m working & then going to the cottage for the weekend!
    Oh, btw, can you let Guy know that I sent him an email please?
    Hope you have a great and productive day!

    • Hi Jenn.

      I told him, and he reminded me that if there’s no subject, he just deletes. He’s not remembering your email . . .

      You have a great day, too.

    • Jenn

      lol..I just sent it this morning & I did put a subject line in there🙂 (at least I’m pretty sure I did).

  3. AKR (Trinidad)

    …..hit a tree?
    Is that some author jargon for printing??😮

    Just kidding … lol
    If there’s a chance of that …. I think you should wear a helmet …..
    We can’t have any damaging of the source of the goodness and moral excellence that is the cabinet of awesomeness ….🙂❤❤❤

  4. I know! I was a blissful Michigander the last couple days. Here’s hoping we have more days like today before winter. Looking forward to February and the new Rachel Morgan book. It’ll be a nice mid-winter treat. :o)

    • It was a beautiful weekend, that was for sure, and today looks like it’s going to be just as nice. I’m kind of waiting for the next release, too. 🙂

  5. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim,Its Jim from Warren-being distraught,,(my little tabby was in the hospital,having just had major surgery) I made a mistake! Auuuugh! I said the 6th Michigan served in the Iron Brigade, and it was the 24th Michigan. The brigade was an all western outfit formed around the 6th Wisconson. Also I didn’t mention their most famous battle,when half the brigade was killed or permanently disabled holding Gettysburg against the entire division Gen Lee had sent to take it on the first day of the battle. That’s over 3000 men. There,I have confessed all.And I got a call from the Vet that Quigley is out of intensive care after her surgery,and will be coming home tomorrow or thursday.So please avoid hitting trees,I have enough worries.

    • James R. Fox

      Hi jkh, Jim from Warren-Russian cats say murr,murr, that russian for meow, according to Ms.Alexa.She’s a translator for the new computer store they have started in Praha,Czech Republic, where they now live,as her English is better than Ms. Selene’s

    • Hi Jim. I’m so glad that Quigley is okay! That’s no fun when your pet is undergoing treatment. How can you tell them it’s just for a day? You just want to be there all the time with them, and that’s just not doable.

  6. Victoria Eskey

    It’s amazing how much of an impact curtains have on a room. I finally put up the curtains in my bedroom. They are a soft brown suede, and they match my bedspread perfectly. It only took me months to get them up.🙂
    Congrats on your work! I hope that if any trees pop up on your down hill ride, they are little ones.

    • I worked on my curtains a bit yesterday, but had to stop when I realized I didn’t have a saw. (hits head on desk) I don’t have a saw? Where’s my saw? (800 miles to the south it is.) sigh. This curtain project is turning out to be really complicated. At least I found wood behind the wall where I want the holders. I hate mollys with the same passion I reserve for cats with birds in their mouths.

  7. Gwen

    I know you are busy and I really do appreciate all that you do for your fans but the new year is sooooo far away is there any way we could have a snippet to tide us over till the next book? I miss Rachel and the gang!

  8. Howdy ma’am,

    Ellen’s new book came out today. I tweeted that I’d buy it if she’d put you on the show. You guys could talk all about authory stuff. 🙂

    I don’t think she is paying any attention to me. Maybe I need to send her a copy of Dead Witch Walking?

    Good luck with you home improvement ventures. My brother is still in the process of getting his new house up to his standards and my sister will soon be in the same boat with her new place,

    OK of to Tweet some more…anyone else want to help, feel free to join in.

    V^^^^V

    • I didn’t know that, Vampy. I hope her book does well. She’s got a lot to say.

      Home improvement . . . roofers are here this morning. Finally. And only a week later than promised. Not bad. Not bad at all.

  9. sounds like you got good plans for the weekend. Its always good to have goals to look forward to.(At least I thinks so anyway) I too ama planner. sounds like your doing well on the book wich is great for us eagerly waiting fans. I hate hitting trees!!!1just groud up the one i just hit so I can get over it!!lol

  10. Melinda Warner

    I have enjoyed all your work that my kindle is allowed to provide me. And I want to let my daughter have the pleasure to experience life in the Hollows. Her birthday is almost here and I have hit a wall. I am in search of the box set. Could you possibly direct me in the right direction to squire the whole set in a whole I would very appreciative. I’m just aching to hear my daughter laugh out loud the first time ” Tinks Panties” is used to swear.
    My daughter gets into a book and gets so attached. She read The Outsiders 8 times before I was able to turn her onto a new book. This is why I want the whole series at one time.

    • Hi Melinda. Unfortunately there is no such thing as a boxed set of the Hollows. Your best bet would be to order them individually from the same person or store. (store would be best) and get them all at once that way.

      I hope your daughter enjoys the Hollows! I love hearing from mother/daughter pairs. And thank you!

  11. AKR (Trinidad)

    Wow … more Madison books …
    Congrats to all you lucky folks out there …. who got in on time ….
    *Sigh* ….

    Miss Harrison, did I read correctly ….
    there are still Pale Demon freebies ….
    Maybe I’ll try for that one …🙂
    Will two first-class stamps on a standard business-size envelope do or are these only for those who got their Madison orders in?

    I’ll get someone in the US to do it for me, my sis might be happy with that …🙂

    Have a productive day all….
    *I’m actually at home today so I’m sneaking a peek into the drama box*

    AKR (Trinidad)

    • AKR, I can try to get you something while at Comic Con or her Nov signing. I’ve got a collecting agenda for both events. I was totally bent out of shape and pouting when I couldn’t talk anyone into getting me a poster in San Diego. Now I’m tag teaming with a bunch of my NYC bookies to grab author swag and lots of eye candy. We are going to blog live all four days and be Facebook picture upload freaks (evil grin). Direct message me in Twitter (@CTannStarr) if you’re interested in sending me on a Kim errand. I gave away four tickets to NYCC so I have a few peeps running amok with me who may be able to help me not be an autograph pest. We plan on being on our best behavior because we want author video too (LOL).😉

    • AKR (Trinidad)

      That is very sweet of you ….
      I will message you.
      Thanks❤

    • Hi AKR. Yes, there are still more Pale Demon freebies. We over-ordered this last time. Two first-class stamps will do it.

  12. Antonio

    😎 Summer is gone. Not only are the neighbors putting out their Halloween decorations, the cicadas are finally quiet. Do you even have cicadas that far north? Speaking of Fall – does A Perfect Blood take place during Halloween week?

    • Hi Antonio. Yes! We do have cercadas, but not in the amount that you generally get down south. They do not fill the day and night with noise so that you can’t hear yourself talk, but rather, punctuate it with individual notes of prehistoric reminders. Although, a few years back, Cincy was inundated with them. That was cool.

      A Perfect Blood takes place in November.

  13. Marsha

    I must confess that I start dreaming about my weekends as early as Monday.🙂 I manage to get the work done, but it really helps to know that I have that me time coming around again. Good luck on rocking all over the manuscript.

  14. Diva

    LOL! Those darn trees! Maybe you should wear a helmet while you write. 🙂