Queen of delayed gratification

QDG.  Yep, that’s me.  Delayed gratification has gotten me through the years of working for nothing when I was writing prepublication.  It got me through the first lean years after publication when I’d make enough for a new computer or printer, and that was fine with me.  Delayed gratification now sits in my pocket like a secret and grins as I work on something that I know you will not see for two to three years, keeping me moving forward with nothing but my own determination as a goad.  I’ve kind of gotten to enjoy delayed gratification, found ways to make it work for me, and I in turn, work for it for long hours at a time, for a thought, and idea.  It’s become to be how I roll.  -laugh-

Some of you may have noticed that electronic version of THE HOLLOWS INSIDER is no longer available (or the release date has been delayed.)  I found out earlier this week, and to tell you the truth, I was more surprised when I found out they were going to try to make it work as an e-book then when I found out they were going to delay the release due to software limitations.

Before you dedicated e-book readers get upset, let me explain again that THE HOLLOWS INSIDER is tremendously graphic rich.  I’ve got about six different fonts, (that will be mutated) tons of pictures, tables and graphs, and even some photos from you (that might not show up on the right page.)  What happens to photo six when the font is enlarged on page two is hard to manage, especially when we’re trying to make this work on multiple platforms.  This is exactly the problem I ran into when I was creating this monster and why I shied away from giving my publisher an electronic version and used up all that ink to give her a hard copy all the way through production.  All my hard work laying this thing out gone because of a computer error?  It’s embarrassing, and trust me, I embarrass myself enough as it is.  Unfortunately, THE INSIDER just doesn’t show right in all formats at this time, and in this book, visual is as important as the written word.  Besides, I cringe when an entire piece of work is trashed with a one-star review because the graphics didn’t show properly.

Some books, as  my agent told me yesterday, should be real books, and this is probably my one and only shot at having that kind of a book, one with so many pictures, photos, graphs, charts, forms, and fonts that it blows the current software out of the water.  Soon as the software catches up to my vision, THE HOLLOWS INSIDER will be released as an e-book, but seriously, I wouldn’t wait.  It friggin’ glows in the dark, dudes!

P.S. Keep an eye out for another manic monday.

P.P.S.  My grass seed finally germinated, getting me out in my yard doing the happy-gardener dance yesterday.  One more spot buttoned down!  One more big spot to go.

P.P.P.S.  I’m thinking fresh-pressed apple cider and hour-old doughnuts.  Mmmmm  Have a great weekend!

72 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

72 responses to “Queen of delayed gratification

  1. Susie

    On another note! Wow now I feel I need something more for breakfast than chocolate milk🙂 love real apple cider and like someone else said the south doesn’t really know what that means – occasionally you will find it in publix for a week here or there but YUM! Hope you are having a wonderful morning! Happy start to a great week!

  2. Susie

    With the app they could make each item click able and you could zoom in to read/look at the pictures. Not sure all that is included but you could have tidbits of info on scraps of paper sticking out of edge of folder that you only see if you touch the slip of paper. Every item could be interactive. Even have background sound or people talking etc… Such an open and interactive way to show your story. Don’t think in restrictive terms like size. Culd be everything you imagine plus some!🙂 amazing like all your stories!

  3. Jelle

    Yet an other mystery solved. A while ago you told us about learning to use image manipulation software for this book. I wondered if you also used DTP software to lay-out your pages. Guess the answer to that question is “No”.

  4. I can’t wait to get your Hollows Insider. !! I thought the poster was the only glow-n-the-dark thingy.. or did I misunderstand..? (I do that sometimes) The book itself.. the cover, on said book.. it glows in the dark?! Friggin epic!
    30 days and counting Kim.🙂

    I spent the weekend up in North Conway, NH. I was expecting it to rain all weekend.. but it didn’t rain a drop. The weather was perfect. I got some great shopping, dining, and landscape photos.. and that makes me happy.

    I’ll tip my glass to some hot apple cider. Yum Yum.
    Grats on the grass! Can you describe the movements that make up a happy gardener dance? /grins wickedly

    • The book. The friggin book. Glows in the dark. -grin- At least, the first editions will. I doubt that it will carry over outside of that.

      Ahhhh, remember Snoopy dancing on the piano? It’s something like that. -laugh-

  5. Thank you so much for the post about the QDG I love the term and it’s where I feel I’m at and have been struggling with while setting up to do my virtual holidays. You’ve given me the boost I need and a new mantra! So excited for the new book – you can’t beat paper and ink in my opinion!

  6. I agree with some people, for me this is the kind of book that I’d like to have on hardcover. I buy must books on papercovers cause they weight less hence the shipping is cheaper (I’m all the way in Finland), but always for graphic novels/books I always buy them on harcover. Can’t wait for yours!!!
    I also would love an app for Iphone/ipad, that sounds great!

    Anyway, have a great weekend!

    P.S. I sent you my letter last Tuesday requesting the Pale Demon freebie like we talked so it should be there next week!

  7. This is one of those I’d buy in a real book format anyway, so I’m not too chuffed. Is chuffed a real word? I think I remember someone saying it somewhere, but it could be my imagination.

    I started reading the Hollows books about four months ago and I’m finally on Pale Demon. I absolutely love, love, love this series and I’m so glad I’m right on time to get the Insider. Looking forward to it!!

  8. Delayed gratification? Tell me about it. I am just now starting to read “Pale Demon” haha. I just finished B.M.S last week- it’s been hell to wait after reading your books the day they hit the shelves for years now! Why did I do this you may ask? Because I decided to have another child, so I stopped coming to your site and reading for awhile because I knew I’d be reading too many pregnancy/baby books and info on trying to conceive,etc. to really get into the book like I usually do! Then obviously I got busy haha. Two kids- one w/ ADHD & ODD and a baby= no reading time! Now my 2nd child is 14months (today actually) so I’m back, yay! Sorry for the long ass comment,lol.

  9. Charlie

    Disappointed and understand the reasons. e-books are wonderful for me, having extreme difficulty reading regular books because of a disability. Agree that some books should be real books, however sometimes 20% of something is better than 100% of nothing. Guess I’ll be having someone turn the pages for me. haha

    • I feel bad that it’s not available in the electronic format, Charlie, because I know that the option to increase the font size has been a boon to so many, but if the formatting is all screwed up, you’re going to become frustrated, and I don’t want that either.

      In a perfect world, eh?

  10. I know what you mean about the eBook formatting. I just finished publishing my first book via Amazon’s direct publishing. Doing it all myself, it took a few tries to get even the basics right. I’d love for you to read it, because your blogs have been a source of encouragement for me. I won’t plug it here, though, without your prior permission. I think that would be rude. If you reply here, or message me on twitter @RJaylanPhoenix, then I would love to put a link to my kindle book on your blog for you and your fans to check out. I know there’s all kinds of bad things associated with reading another author’s work in progress, but since this is a completed and published work, I assume that’s different.

    • That’s great, Jaylan. Congrats on the new book! That takes a huge commitment.

      Unfortunately I can’t/don’t read unsolicited books for possible cover quotes or for analysis. It’s not so much the worry of plagiarism as it’s a matter of time and commitment.

  11. Scotsgirl

    So happy to hear a new book is coming next year, thank you, thank you! It’s still in the 90’s here in California – I’m jealous that you’re actually having fall weather. At this rate we’ll be wearing shorts at Halloween. Sigh.

  12. Alexa

    I love real books, but e-books had let me bought your books as soon as they get on sale, otherwise I have to wait for weeks, sometimes months for shipment. Looks like I´m goin to have to wait…

    • Sorry, Alexa. I know it’s a crimp in a lot of people’s plans, but the alternative is to get it and be frustrated because things don’t line up right, and I don’t want that, either.

  13. Kelli

    Also I’m awaiting the shipment of Blood Work right now. So excited to see the characters and read the story!! The bits I got to see were awesome. Have a wonderful weekend! 😀

  14. Michelle

    I understand why e-book devices are popular as it is more compact and holds a lot. However i still prefer my original books and have not even attempted to buy any electronic devices. Just the thrill you get when u hold a new book in your hands and that book smell and just how stunning the finished product is. Saying that i will go through a good few copies as i read your books over before every new book release lol. Looking forward to this one coming out and it will arrive on my birthday yay😀.

    • Hi Michelle. I don’t read enough to have it be an issue, but I’ll probably get one for the connivence of NY at some point just so they can send me things electronically. But then it will be work, so . . . shrug.

      Happy early birthday!

  15. Kelli

    I for one have no problem with a real book. I have a Kindle and Ipod/Iphones that run Ibooks and over 1600 in my digital library but I still love the feel of holding a book in my hands. I bought the Sookie book too and I will not only buy this book (pre-ordered already!) but probably gift it to my other friends with ereaders because we all love Rachel Morgan and The Hollows so much. In a time where it becomes increasingly easier to disconnect from something as simple as turning a page in a book, it’s nice to have books that need to be seen in hard copy to be fully enjoyed. Thank you for all your hard work making this book something so graphically fun that I need the book! I can wait for my kindle/ipod version. And I’m a serious tech junky. (An ipod, iphone, Kindle, Laptop, Desktop pc, 2 Tivo’s, 7 various gaming systems, and soon a netbook for traveling!) 😀

  16. jkh

    I am so totally overjoyed to see the cover of The Insider. And I agree, as soon as I learned about the format(s) of it, I said to myself that that one MUST be a hardcover, print book for me. I don’t own an e-reader, and I generally buy paperbacks, but this one’s gotta be HB, full size, oversize if so mandated. and we have to wait how much longer????

  17. uuuuuuuh. I love powdered sugar doughnuts and cider. Must. get. SOME!

  18. Susanne

    Maybe you should see if they will can make it into an app for the iPad, make the graphics work for you! Like the Dracula interactive app/book. With all you say it is it would be amazing to interact with it!! I would buy both!

    • Kelli

      Oooooo! I love your idea! 😀 Although I’d love an Ipod app too. I know my touch has a tiny screen but that’s I don’t mind. 🙂

    • The iPad app was an option, Susanne, but the print and pictures would be so small that it would be ridiculous. Trust me, they really tried everything at HC before breaking the news to me. Maybe later, but not right now.

  19. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-Its Jim from warren-At least it wasn’t as bad as J.K.Rowling, who was on welfare with her newborn,while she was working out the final draft of the first Harry Potter book.(She was stranded in Portugal,pregnant,no money and no job too,at one point. Now that’s delaying your gratification! Specially after graduating with honors from Oxford.) Why isn’t Rachel,or better yet Ivy stranded in another dimension,pregnant, broke, and no way home?(JKR bummed airfare from her sister) Maybe Rachel will sell another dream sequence through Al to bail her out… Sorry, my subconscious is running amok again. Anyhoo,have a wonderfullll weekend. (those are better than the regular kind) P.S. I know part of the problem, Kindle can only do graphic novels on the color dx, and it takes months to set up the color and photo-offsets,(what ever those are)

    • Gosh, Jim. How do you know it wasn’t that bad for me? I don’t know how to can food and knit seamless, double layer mittens for kicks. Just kidding, I love to do those things, but it’s never easy for a new writer to get their foot in the door. Perhaps I simply made better life choices.

      I’m sure we’ll have an e-version at some point. Just not right now.

  20. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    Did you say GLOW IN THE DARK? Seriously?!!! If you drop pop-up pages on us I think I’ll pass out. You are geeking me out with all this fun stuff! Have an awesome weekend lady.

  21. Diva

    Some books should absolutely be real books. Nothing quite beats the smell of a book in my…er, book. 🙂

    Will there be a pictures of Trent and Jenks in the Insider? Those will be the first things I look up in the Index. 😉

    Have a rockin’ weekend Ms Kim!

  22. Howdy ma’am,

    I love my Kindle but I am well aware of it’s limitations. While I’ll joke about Blood Work or the Insider coming out for Kindles, I never really expected them to.

    I could see them coming out in a .pdf format for color Nooks, tablets, or PCs but not for any e-ink device. If they ever develop color e-ink, then we’ll see.

    This weekend is a little special for me. My sister finally made it here. This weekend, we’re all going to be together for the first time in a long time. We’ll be eating chicken and dumplings and playing some cards.

    Hope you have(had) a great weekend !

    V^^^^V

    • Thank you, Vampy. I really appreciate the understanding. You can’t always get what you want, right? (But if you try sometimes, you find you get what you need.)

      That’s wonderful about your weekend. Enjoy!!!!

  23. Tim Collins

    Valley View Farms about 50 years ago was a large farm house which people went to, to get corn, punkins, etc… according to the seasons as years went by it started to grow now it is the “Official Biggest Xmas decoration store EVer!” Why do I mention this. A few years ago when they squeezed their cider into huge wooden barrels, they decided to have a bout 6 lined up according to how long they have been sitting and named. The newest was “sweet Pea” moving down to “Hell’s Brew” to finally “Old Mother-in Law” (Snerk!)

    I do not know the alcohol content of OMIL was, but the line was always longest in front of that cast. Suddenly they stopped making it. Problem? Hornets and bees discovered this loving sweetness and took the barrels over as their own. I kinda miss that sign of the seasons turning. Have a nice weekend. BEE-sidher Tim

  24. Nancy H

    Good morning, Ms. Harrison! Wow, you are up early today! I hope that means you can start your weekend early. How cool that you have created something to complex for software. My hat is off to you. Have a great weekend!

    • Thank you, Nancy! Yup, I’m up early. After two years, I’m using my alarm clock again. The sun just isn’t making it through my blinds to wake me up when I want to be.

      Hope you had a great weekend, too.

  25. Lots of good cidar mills in your area. Just have to avoid the rain clouds here in Michigan…

  26. E-readers are fun. I jumped on the bandwagon and bought one a little while ago. HOWEVER real books are still the best. And with an author, like you, who I’ve been collecting their books for years theres no way I’ll break the series up by having part in paper and part in electric format.

    I actually bought the 2nd Madison book at the Borders sale the other day. Even though I had already read it I had to have all 3 on my shelf.

    Have a wonderful weekend Kim!

  27. I too am a fan of actual books especially ones that glow in the dark. I haven’t jumped to an e-reader yet not sure I will until I absolutely have to. Congrats on the grass I have a few spots that need to be resurrected.

    • I got the real covers this weekend, and they really do glow in the dark. They are just too cool. Good luck with your yard. Guy wants to spread compost on our front lawn yet this year. I’m thinking it might be to late . . .

  28. Maryellen

    Real books are better anyway.

    Have fun dancing on your new lawn this weekend, Miss Kim. And fresh-pressed apple cider and doughnuts to boot? The mind boggles…😀

    • OMGosh, no one TOUCHES that grass for at least another two weeks, maybe more. -laugh-

      The trip to the cider mill was great. I hope you had a great weekend, Maryellen.

  29. Lindsay

    Oh God….thats probably real apple cider. For some reason people here in the south don’t know what real apple cider is. I bought some at Walmart down here and it tasted like Mott’s apple juice. Yuck. Walmart deceived me. I miss the North…I miss having a cider mill down the street.

    • Yes, yes, yes. I know what you mean. We suffered for 13 years without real cider apart from the one year we made a three-hour run into the mountains where they can grow them.

      It’s been great this last year. sigh.

  30. Can I come to your house for snacks?🙂

  31. nicolestorey

    Kim, I love my e-books, but as you said, there are some books that MUST be bought in REAL book form! No matter how advanced software gets, it would still never do The Hollow Insiders justice. Some books I must have in REAL book form just because I love the author and the books are dear to me; like yours! 😉

  32. thats too bad for the e-readers, but since I love the weight and feel of a real book, Im good🙂 Hope you have a great weekend!!

  33. Perhaps it’s a software limitation… I can’t wait to see this. I will though, only for you… everyone else will get nagged. lol

    • It is indeed a software limitation. They are working on it, but until it functions across multiple platforms, it’s a no-go.

      Thanks for understanding, Chelle. I really appreciate it!