steady progress

I’ve got about a week before I have to break from my current rewrite to do a page proof on A PERFECT BLOOD.  The timing is good.  I should have a large chunk of the next one tweaked with the changes I want, which will let me use running through the page proofs to refresh myself on where I left off, and then tweak the new one again for a final time to get the emotion flow as perfect as I can before I ah . . . have to rip it apart for my editor after tour.  -laugh-

But eventually they do get on the shelf, obviously, and I can’t touch them ever again, so I want to make sure I’ve got it the way I want it.  And trust me, I use every chance I can to tweak.  I’ve got such a tweak in mind when I get to the page proof of A PERFECT BLOOD, and I’m anxious to see if I can do it with minimal disruption.  If it takes more than the change of a word or two, then I’ll have to stick with what I’ve got.  We’ll see.

Lots of soft rain here.  Kind of gloomy.  It’s a hint of winter in the beginnings of fall.  Must drink more tea . . .  :-)

26 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

26 responses to “steady progress

  1. “…get the emotion flow as perfect as I can before I ah . . . have to rip it apart for my editor after tour.” (ROTFL)

    You actually made me snort and spill my tea (LOL).

    Wishing you a very happy and productive Friday (silly grin).

  2. My novel writing class is really helping me make some actual progress with my novel. Nothing that will ever see a printed page has been written, but I’m getting the material I need to actually sit down and do the work once I get to that point. Revising is one of my favorite things and I hope I like it as much as you do!

    Also, I received my mug last night and *squeal* I love it. I love everything in the box and I have to thank you and Guy so much! It’s really awesome!

  3. Dominique

    Hello! Do you have a hint of what type of Tour your going to have?

    • Hi Dominique. For A PERFECT BLOOD? No, not really. I won’t know until the end of the year, probably, but I might be going out of the US this time. I’ll let you know when I can. 🙂

  4. Today is what I like to call an “Eeyore” kind of day. My son loved Winnie the Pooh and its days like this that remind me of that character. Mmm warm beverages… in my awesome mug. The other one with ur famous signature remains as “look but don’t touch”😉

    When the book is done.. its done. Yes. So, makes me wonder and want to ask if there has been anything you have taken and/or left out that you regret doing so now? And I don’t know a lot about being an author or getting your work published.. but do you have the power to say no if others think something should be chopped?

    I’m gonna try my best to be an energizer bunny. So much to do. Keep going.. and going.. and going..

    • Awesome! I’m in Maryland for a couple of days to collect some eye candy for creating a couple of YouTubes. Having a blast with my blogging buddies who are taking me on “the inside scoop” tours of things to photograph in their neighborhoods. Been up for endless hours creating graphics so I get the energizer bunny angle in spades (LOL).

    • Hi Lynn. I’ve watched my share of Winnie the Pooh, and I understand what you’re saying! 🙂

      Ahhh, is there anything I regret. Right now I’m still mourning the loss of the character I removed from A PERFECT BLOOD, but only because I’m still removing him from the next book. When I don’t have that reminder anymore, I’ll be okay. The regrets are always short-term because I take things out with a clear goal in mind, and when I achieve that, there is an element of satisfaction. I still miss Kisten, but if he was still around, Trent/Al/Ivy would not be an option, and that would make for a pale story.

      The author always has the final say, but a smart author thinks twice, three, and four times before doing so. And then, if she still feels that strongly, talk to her editor again and find out why.

  5. Kay

    I’m so excited to read “A Perfect Blood”. How will I ever wait until February?

  6. Victoria Eskey

    I am jealous of your rain, and cold gloom. The State of Texas is on fire, with strong winds counting against us,

    I can’t wait for A Perfect Blood!! But I will have the pretty world book to keep me until then

  7. Marsha

    You guys have the remnants of our storm I think. It rained like mad for two days, but at least it helped to break our drought and the horrendouse heat. Good luck on the tweeking.

  8. Alicia

    I wish it would rain here. I live in Texas and haven’t seen rain in a while. Is there a predicted date for the release of the 11th Hollows book? I am super excited about The Hollows Insider. I am a huge Rachel fan. I have ever Hollow book on my kindle and several also in paper back. My father is the one who turned me to the Hollows and I have loved them ever since.

    • Hi Alicia. Ahhh, there is, but I’m not pushing it because it might change by a week or two. Suffice to say that it will be a Tuesday, late in Feb. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying the books so much! Thank you! That is very cool that you and your dad can share the books.

  9. It’s been raining nonstop here since last weekend (D.C. area), which makes it even harder to get out of bed! Not even my blue disco swirl rain boots can cheer up the gloom.

    I’m very excited about A Perfect Blood! I got a Nook for my birthday, and I’ve read six of The Hollows books in a little over a week– currently in the middle of Pale Demon (which is awesome, btw!). Since I’m finally out of grad school, I can make up for lost time and read for fun again!

    • I’m about tired of the rain, too, Virginia, but I’m not giving the bush I moved a 40% chance of making it rather than 30%. If we don’t get any strong sun, things look good for it.

      I’m so glad you are enjoying the books! Wow, if only I could write them as fast as you read them! 🙂 Congrats on graduating!

  10. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim-Its Jim from Warren.Just wantedto say that world books rock,and from the Preview on iO9, The Hollows Insider is gonna be right up their with The Silmarillian and The Hyborian Age
    Oh I almot forgot,Ms. Kim. when you’re tweeking a book,do you ever give it Purple Nurples?