Hopeful

I’m hopeful that I can get the Grace short finished before the end of the week.  It’s looking good at this point.  I’ve got the last chapter at dialog to finish, and probably a tiny epilogue after that, then to go back and fix everything.  One thing I found was that Grace here is quite a lot younger than I thought she was going to be.  In the possible series coming from this, she’s going to be much older and dealing with issues that a 25 year old wouldn’t be thinking of, but I unexpectedly found a chance to show the beginnings of those issues, and I took it.  Interestingly enough, her personality is about the same, and I’m enjoying seeing the seeds of disillusionment that I’m going to harvest someday being sown.  Working in such a A-B-C manner is not my usual format.  I’m usual a B-C-A kind of a girl.  Grace is not as happy as Rachel, but more like Ivy.

It’s started to cool off, and even though it’s only Wednesday, I’m already starting to think about the weekend.  Fair is coming up, and the Ren festival, too.  Mums are showing at the farmers’ market.  Apples. It’s about time to start thinking about what I want to put in before I call it quits in the garden.  Long-term planning–I gots it.🙂

50 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

50 responses to “Hopeful

  1. Morning Gorgeous. I hope your writing goes well today.🙂

  2. Jenn

    Good Morning Kim,

    It looks like you are just booting it right along with Grace. I think it will be interesting to see where it all starts from.

    Have a great day!

  3. Howdy ma’am,

    Recently I saw a show on PBS about healthy eating. They talked about all kinds of good foods like beans, peppers onions mushrooms and so on.

    Last night I ran with that idea and ended up making a really good soup. I had no idea what I was doing but I just tossed a lot of stuff together and I really like how it turned out,

    I used 2 cans of kidney beans
    2 cans of black beans
    A chicken breast
    8-10 fresh mushrooms
    about 2 cups of celery
    green bell pepper
    1 large jalapeno pepper
    2 vidalia onions
    a lot of baby carrots
    a cup of rice a big pot of water
    salt, pepper and garlic powder

    I’m also really looking forward to meeting Grace.

    V^^^^V

    • Mmmmm… that sounds like a plan. You’ve temped me to experiment.🙂

    • James R. Fox

      Geez vampy, that’s how all us chefs work,I know the general outline,but I throw extras in the pot as the spirit moves me,My cat Smudge sits beside me and coaches,(but I don’t use white mice shrews or voles.) However,the chicken,rice,(Barley for beef)and any helpless vegies and containers of spices know where they are going Bwwah-ha-ha

    • That sounds fabulous, Vampy! I had sushi and a pot of green tea. 😉

  4. jkh

    Never have made it to a ren fest. Would love to go; one features in my Wytche Woode story/trilogy. (Yes, it’s morphing from a 50,000 word novella to a trilogy.) I will need to attend one for research, won’t I? Sigh. Maybe someday, after my present primary occupation is done. As for seasons, it’s FINALLY summer in Seattle, and it’s already beginning to hint at autumn. AND the wonks are hinting at another La Nina winter. I think we’re getting short-changed around here.

    • Oh, you should go, JKH, if just for the shopping. Stuff you’ve never seen before, by people who are doing what they love. It doesn’t get much better.

  5. Jackie

    You had briefly mentioned a novella about Trent & Jenks being in the works..could you possibly give us a hint as to when that might take place? Thanks

  6. Victoria Eskey

    I moved to a brand-new (for us, anyway) house two weeks ago, and we have this AM.az.ing big back yard. I usually kill green things that have leaves, but with all of this space, I definately want to try my hand at some type of gardening. Although, I do live in Texas. So I will be fighting the weather, I’m sure.
    I’ve never been an A-B-C kind of girl either, but sometimes linear structure is good. ^_^
    I was in sixth-grade for my first Ren fest. We have a pretty spectacular one in Waxahachie. Those are great memories.

  7. A “hopeful” quote fo you today:
    A tramp, a gentleman, a poet, a dreamer, a lonely fellow, always hopeful of romance and adventure. ~Charlie Chaplin.

    Grace’s issues have got me interested.. what’s up your sleeve Kim? Don’t answer that, I can foresee my future.. it’s me.. sitting somewhere cozy, cuddled up to your book and reading that very answer.🙂
    Your setup sounds really good, even if your use to writing out of order. Change and mixing it up can be fun and sporadic.

    Mentioning Ren festivals brings memories of when I was younger and would go to the park and watch guys line up in all their gear to practice for their jousting shows. I haven’t been to the festivals, but a lot of my friends go every year. Perhaps this year I’ll actually make it down to one. Fairs though.. I love them. I’m usually not apt for crowds.. but concerts and fairs, I make an exception. You can find me with a carmel apple in one hand and a camera in the other. That is, when I’m not riding a ride, or playing a game.. trying to win the biggest stuff animal said dollar can get.

    Have a cool Wednesday.. my thoughts are on the weekend too.

  8. AKR (Trinidad)

    Wow … once again I had some real catching up to do there … missed a few days … lol
    Thankfully I didn’t miss any contests or giveaways …lol =) so i not steuspin’ … today :-p

    Just to add my lil 2 cents on what i missed … (if that’s alright)
    I love tea too …. my absolute favourite brew is Russian Earl Grey … (so far I’ve only been able to find it in France .. never checked Russia lol …b/c I’ve never been).

    Thank you so much for sharing snippets of that interview with us .. it’s always a tremendous pleasure to get more insight into what makes you tick …🙂 … or kick …lol not one but two black belts .. huh … no wonder your girls kick a$$ so …

    Miss Harrison🙂 ….ahem … . you say the Grace short is almost finished huh ….🙂 *grin*
    So keeping in mind finished for you isn’t quite final … does this mean … were down to about one year from being able to read it ????

    Anyway I’m gonna lurk on some of your other pages …
    Have a fantastic weekend … ( I know it’s only Wed, but looks like you got some fun stuff planned)

    AKR (Trinidad)

  9. Marsha

    I’m really excited that you feel Grace is more like Ivy. It was Ivy’s damaged soul that made her my favorite character. For a woman with no children I find I have quite a need to nurture and heal. I’ve always wanted to give Ivy a big hug and tell her everything will be alright, I’m sure I will feel protective of Grace as well.

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Marsha-Its Jim from Warren.After having to deliver her bestie,who has a Major case of procrastination,my foster daughter got her PHD in physical Therapy,and opened her own practice, so she can nurture the injured. She loves her life, and swore off kids.Her hubby agrees, his family is Native American,and like many such famlies type I diabetes runs in his family. everyone one over 16 is on insulin,shots or pumps, and he is on shots,and his Dr wants him on a pump.

    • Hi Marsha. Yup, she’s introverted like Ivy, and a thinker, but she senses rather than trusts her intuition, which makes a big difference. She also has not been mentally abused. Has a dog. A boyfriend. A unique job that she’s unsatisfied with. -grin- She’s going to be in a completely different stage of her life when/if I write about her again.

  10. Maryellen

    Your descriptions of the end of summer make me wonder what it’s like to have an Autumn to look forward to. It sounds nice. I’m a Floridian, so I’ve always wanted to experience a full change of seasons from summer to winter and then back again. Ever since I was a kid and read E.B. White’s “Charlotte’s Web” where he describes how the crickets warn of the end of summer and the trees were in such shock that they turned red with anxiety– I was in love with the idea of Autumn.

    Have a nice day, Miss Kim. Enjoy discovering your Grace!🙂

    • Very well said Maryellen.
      E.B. White’s interpretation of Autumn is brilliant. I love when someone expresses their thoughts and it grabs you.. and makes you swim in their experience.

      Come up to MA. We can show you a good change of season. We can also make you run back to the sunshine.. but it will be well worth it. Promise😉

    • Maryellen

      Aww! Thanks, Lynn!🙂
      I have family in MA and have enjoyed many visits, but have never lived through the full change of seasons (job, school, babies, all reasons for not moving up north). I’ve seen Fall colors, brilliantly white, sparkling snow- all that, but to feel the change coming like Miss Kim was talking about- that’s still on my bucket list. I’ll get there sooner or later….🙂

    • I bounce between NYC, SC and FL and I love living in NY the most because it’s gorgeous when the seasons change. I have to get down to FL and finish setting up our house. It will be 2 years January and I still haven’t picked out the rest of the furniture and fixed up the yard (sigh).

      NYC lease is up in April. I will officially move to FL then (what a scary thought – LOL).😉

    • James R. Fox

      Hi CTann-Star-Just carry an uzi,required south FL bling. Our at least a 9. and get someting in pink you know,custom Pachmeyer grips

    • James, we can hang (LOL). I have a Glock and three Smith and Westerns but had to give the Uzi back when I left law enforcement (LOL). 2 nines and 2 detective specials should be enough bling, although I may have to invest in a rifle or shotgun.😉

    • Thanks, Maryellen. You have a great day, too.

  11. Mark

    If you are going to the Holley Renfest, say hello to two of the jailers please – Mitch and Jennifer, my son and daughter-in-law. Thanks.

  12. Oh so sad… I love ren festivals but whenever one is close I either don’t have money or I’m busy. My parents should be grateful I was 16 before I went to one. Otherwise they would have had to fork over a fortune for a tiny ren costume. I could be awfully obstinate when it suited me.

    The more you talk about Grace the more I’m excited about her… I’m trying to work on the long-term planning for my novel, and while I found an over-arcing plot line that I like, I find it doesn’t let me play with what I want to, so I’m trying to decide what to do with that. Can I borrow some of you long-term planning? For the short term?

    • That is wonderful that you are planning ahead in your work, Stephenie. It is hard, yes. Don’t give up getting what you want to play with worked in. Try adding one more character to bring in what you want, and see what happens.

  13. I ripped out a overgrown bush yesterday and I’m thinking of planting tulip bulbs for next spring… I’ve never planted Tulips so we’ll see.

    I’m thrilled to read about Grace… You compared writing her to Ivy. And I could have sworn you’ve mentioned before that writing from Ivy’s point of view put you in a funk sometimes. Hope that’s not the case with Grace.

    Every person I’ve met with the name Grace has hated the pet name Gracie. And my sister Jennifer gets her panties in a twist if anyone calls her Jenny (my grandma was the only one who was allowed to). I love pet names though! I have 3 daughters and each of them have pet names Sophia is Sweetie pie, Shirley is Sissy wissy and Sylvie is my Sylvie Cakes. And now your character Al is my Ally Cakes…. This was really off subject.

    Have a fabulous day. I’m gonna go to the Orchard today and get a couple of bushels of apples to make applesauce. Keep it gangsta! Val-OH

    • My gosh, Valerie. Your first sentence sounds like me! -laugh- I’m going to put in some tulips this fall, too.

      Mmmm, apples. Cider soon, and fresh doughnuts.

  14. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms. Kim-It’s Jim from Warren, I’m om my third bowl of Pu-Er,and my brain can now locate my fingers and everything.*geezerdom is Hell* I sincerely hope you have jousting at your renn fair, we do at mine (at least when I could get there,traveling scholars with walkers are not very period,just wheelchairs.) I wuv Jousting3<

    • Thank you for my geezerdom laugh of the day (very silly grin). Now I have very interesting images of wheelchair jousts and sword fights with walkers. Geezerfest would be an amazing animation (LOL).😉

    • James R. Fox

      Hi CTann-Star-only wheel chairs are period,they were invented in the 1500’s. Philip of Spain used one in his old age-there are paintings of him in it.Before that,he used a cane or his daughter Isobel, who was his prime minister(secretly) from time to time starting when she was 17.Everybody knew they were getting orders from Isobel,but no-one admitted it,Historians had to dig to find orders or policy papers signed or written by Isobel,but they exist.What if Isobel was a Vampire?Makes your toes tingle,doesn’t it?

    • Isobel as a Vamp is a fascinating thought… very fascinating (LOL). Cool info on the wheel chairs. Thank you. Learned something new.🙂

    • Good to hear from you, Jim. It takes me a good chunk of time to wake up myself.

  15. Tim Collins

    Speaking of fairs and market places. Is it my location, or has all the Peaches in the world picked up a mutant virus and died? I LOVE peach preserves and scrambled eggs. I try to have it every sunday morning. ( When as a kid, my favorate thing to eat was to pry,/ hacksaw,/ screwdriver/ open a can of cling peaches. Mom would just shake her head and sigh since at least it was not chockolate bars I was getting into…) But for the past year I’ve found every type of preserves out there BUT Peach. When I DO find it, they are in a tiny skinny jar like they were Cavier! Also pureed, with a ton of sugar in it. (A sure sign they have been in a warehouse for a decade or two…) So as a plant/garden person can you sove the mystery of the missing peaches? (There is something else I loved but do not see anymore. It is a round flat piece of pastry with sweetened chopped peaches on top with white icing, Eaten hot out of the oven. What WAS that anyway? (Mom was a orphan raised by Germans…)

    • James R. Fox

      Hi Tim-yer gonna have to join Harry and David. I just sent myself a fabulous box of peaches for being such a great guy

    • Sarah

      I think that last desert you mention may be a tarte tatin (or similar) yummy…
      Sarah (UK)

    • If the weather doesn’t go well, there will be no peaches. I know a few years ago, SC got a late frost and the entire early crop was gone. Maybe that’s what happened here.

      Mmmm, I like the sound of that desert.

  16. I bow down to you gardening skills KIm. I am just starting to prepare my yard for planting next year. I have never, let me say it again. I have never done any kind of planting of anything. But, I am getting a fresh start at life and I want flowers. Love the pics of your gardening progress. Oh, and I love your books.

    • Okay, no bowing, please. I’ve ripped out so many dead things this year, I am uncomfortable.

      If you’re just starting out with flowers, go for some potted plants first. Seeds can be frustrating. I still hate starting things from seeds, even though the satisfaction is a 100 times greater.

      Congratulations on the new start, Melissa. Marking it with a tree or flowering bush in the yard is a grand tradition. Bushes also make great backdrops to flowers . . .

  17. you like Ren festivals??? AWESOME… i think if you go you should take a pic of yourself in whatever outfit for us? It’d be kinda fun to see you off having fun? (not to mention to see whatever nifty ren festival outfit someone as brilliantly creative as you comes up with )…………. Oh and about the long term planning… well to write a series as long as The Hollows well i guess you’d NEED it..

    • I second the pic request in spades.🙂

    • I LOVE ren faires. I never, ever, dress up, and I usually end up accidentally pulling the vendors out of their accents if they adopt one. Not intentional, it just happens as I gush over their stuff.

      I’m so looking forward to this years faire in Holly. I’ve not been to this one yet.