Cycles

I’m pretty sure this is a Mac, but it might be an Empire.  In any case, I was excited this morning to see the first blush of red on my closely watched developing apples as I took the dogs out for their first morning break.  You have to look really close, but it’s there.

This is my first apple tree under my care.  (Not that it really needs me at all, but I like the illusion that I’ve got a say in the matter.)  I can’t believe it took me so long to put one in the ground.  I had a pear tree once, but it doesn’t have the same feel. There’s something magical about apples, the way they fruit in rows of careful cultivation with pesticides and attention to detail–or a single lone tree forgotten at the edge of an abandoned farm doing exactly the same thing and a being a lot more precise with it.

Apple trees might be one of those things that symbolize being settled to me, of being part of a circle, rather.  Belonging and finding your place, as small or large as it might be.  Or it just might be that I’d not had the room or sun for one.  But for whatever reason, I now have two apple trees just about a year in my soil with a handful of fruit on them, and I’m pleased.  Now, with a little luck, I might make pie.  -grin-

Work is going well with chapter two of a Meg short in the cabinet of awesomeness.  I’m working three today, adding in a little something that wasn’t in my original plan.  Funny how that works out, but the characters are starting to become more complex.  It won’t be long before I can go back and make them individuals instead of stereotypes. Yay.

I’ve also got stuff from NY that’s going to come plopping on my desk yet this week.  (Didn’t I say?  Didn’t I jest say?)  Nothing that’s going to take much time, but ends need to be tied off, and I’ve got one more release before the end of the year.  Wow, it’s been a busy one.  I had no idea until I started looking back.

45 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

45 responses to “Cycles

  1. SeattleRobin

    MacIntoshes (sp?) are my favorite apples! I loved what you said about apple trees. It reminded me of the old family farm with the orchard on it.

    You also made me jealous by mentioning adding something to your story not in the plan. Namely because it means you have an actual plan. I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo this month (it’s ALL your and Anthony’s fault) and am ending up having to pants it quite a bit because my brilliant ideas haven’t quite coalesced into an actual plan yet. I don’t pants well.

  2. I’m happy Meg’s story is unfolding.🙂 I am really interested in meeting her.
    I’ve never taken care of a fruit plant, but my great aunt has a pear tree that yields many brown bags of green pears she makes me take home. And that poor thing is always neglected.
    and a NY plopping? anything that crosses your desk always piques our interest, and hopefully we will be hearing more about this?

    • Hi Victoria. Meg isn’t the narrator in this one, her mother is, but it’s still very cool. We get to know the antagonist the most here. Curious, a book about a bad guy . . .

      Oh, the NY plopping is one more look at the world book. I tweaked a lot of pages in my copy edit, so they want me to look at it one more time to make sure the changes actually went in. I really appreciate the chance, since a copy editor won’t catch the continually errors like I can.

  3. synde

    this was a really beautiful post KIm..brought a tear to my eye.. I am so glad you feel right with the place you have carved out for yourself…
    hugs
    Synde

    • It feels good, Synde. I really need this sense of permanence right now with everything else that is going on, some good, some bad.

      I’m going to be writing a hell of a hard story in about ten years.

  4. Got stuff from NY that’s going to come plopping on your desk, eh? Why that makes me smile I have no idea but it does. Glad to hear the writing is going well and that you’re puttering around and tweaking (silly grin).

    We’ve got some gorgeous fruit trees in SC by my mom and dad. I will never forget the first time my Autistic 9 year old son Noah discovered he could eat pecans, figs and apples from off the trees in their yard. He had no interest in the peach or plum tree which kind of surprised me.

    My PDD-NOS 5 year old Stephen fell in love with the grape vine and strawberry patch. Shorty also never met a tomato he didn’t like (and kept me in mad trouble with my mom – LOL).

    Gardens are amazing bits of fun. I keep thinking I should do something cool with the Florida house because we only have a couple of palm trees (my yard is really naked and boring – sigh). We brought the wee people a couple of acres in SC to play in, plant trees and dig in the dirt. It’s my fave part of vacation when I play hookie from NYC. We usually plant trees every vacation in the little minion fields so I’m hoping we can get them interested in making a little minion garden in FL.😉

    • jkh

      Sorry, I’m a bit alpha-challenged: what is PDD-NOS? Autistic I sort of understand: It’s a label for a whole range of symptoms. Wonderful to get the liddles out in gardens! Sometimes literally connecting with the earth can help them break through some of their challenges.

    • It sounds like you are busy, Tann Starr. 😉 I have a lot of fruit trees/bushes, because I like to snack. Most of the fruit never makes it in the house as I eat a handful of grape tomatoes while touring the yard. It’s been great this year, with first the raspberries, then the blue berries, and now the tomatoes.

  5. Because of the pesticides I use at work and the epileptic dog I had a while back, I don’t spray at home. My cherry crop is usually good, my apples are great for applesauce and cider. With a little protein. I know I could use dormant oil and traps, but I’m lazy…

    I wonder if this is the beginning… http://failblog.org/2011/08/02/epic-fail-photos-oddly-specific-attack-of-the-killer-tomatoes/?utm_source=embed&utm_medium=web&utm_campaign=sharewidget

    • Oh, that is too funny. I wonder if that was taken down south, and warning of tomatoes falling off the trucks and making slippery roads. We get head-sized sugar beats here in Michigan for about a month in the winter.

  6. I absolutely love apples.They remind me of Fall and harvest festivals.There is a place in Northern California called Apple Hill that has a festival each Fall and you can buy fresh pressed cider right from the press. *sigh* I really miss that. We can’t seem to grow apples this far south, but your picture gives me hope for an end to this d***ed heat.

  7. I’ve a couple of Frankenapples (multiple strains grafted together, bwahhaha), and they’ve decided to go gangbusters this summer, after producing next to nothing last summer. Darn variable Seattle weather.

    It’ll be a good year for pies.

  8. jkh

    About the birds in your planter: too sad. Natural life is sometimes hard. And although it’s probably not funny to you, Antonio, with your avian thugs, I just laughed at the mental pictures I got.

    Still debating the Kindle vs Nook conundrum; our library system is holding a contest for adult readers. Winner gets a Nook. I’ll be turning in my summer reading list soon, and hoping…

    • Tell me about it, JKH. What bothers me most is that the cat left the babies to die. It wasn’t hungry, and everything was wasted. I’m not mad at the cat. I’m mad at the owners. But we’ve got fox and coyote around here so if they don’t bring their animals in after dark, they will be someone’s dinner before too long.

  9. James Fox

    Hi Ms Kim it’s Jim from Warren. Ivé been looking at some of the videos from Comic Con and had a great Idea,make the Hollows books into 4-5 video games, and have your GN pencilers supervise the drawing of the cells,that way you can get Ivy, Rachel and Jenks the way you want them.Can’t Wait! You can then afford to buy Alex and Zander gold doggie dishes and collars and if they are solid gold it wii be a good investment (after U.S. treasuries tank that is)

  10. Stephenie

    Mmmm… apples. Speaking as someone who has been living the unhealthy diet of ‘moving’ an apple sounds perfect right now.

    I’m glad your writing is going well. I can’t wait to see what other non-Hollows things are hiding in your cabinet. I think I’ve finally come to peace with the fact that the Hollows will end, and someday I’ll buy a nice set to replace the set I have that is constantly being loaned out (not that I won’t keep the first one too :))

    • The “unhealthy diet of moving” is a phrase that fascinates me (LOL).

      I can’t wait to see what she’s cooking up too. I’m soooo hopelessly addicted. My whole crew is in love too with Kimi. We’ve got it bad.😉

    • All things end, Stephenie. I feel fortunate that I can end the Hollows on my terms. That is a great feeling, and makes for a much more satisfying ending.

  11. Antonio

    >>I have an apple tree. You have to severly prune them occassionally – really hack away at it – or the tree won’t produce healthy fruit. You already know this, probably.

    >>Saw yesterday’s post about your birds. A couple of weeks ago two large predatory birds decided to make my little yard their home. They are bigger than cats and just as dismissive. All attutude. They just hang around with thousand-yard stares, pooping in my birdbath and chasing any animal that comes close to the yard. It’s like confronting surly teenagers one might find leaning against your parked car – “hey, man, can you loan us $5?”

    >>Here in Dayton, they closed my favorite bookstore: the original BOOKS&COMPANY store in Kettering, and are converting it into a bargain store called ‘2nd&Charles.'(?)(The Books&Co. store at THE GREENE is still open…for now, anyway). WIth BORDERS liquidating, and the local BARNES&NOBLES stores not doing well, it is only a matter of time before book stores go the way of video and record stores. Even our local libraries are a pale immitation of what they once were. Q>>>How do you think this all shakes out? How does this affect you and other writers?

    • James Fox

      Hi Antonio-Everything is going to be on Kindle or equivalent in a few years,so books will still be written,but not cherished like you can with real paper books. Look on the brite side. I had to put most of Ms Kim’s books away because I can’t see well enough to read standard print.(This is written with a computer that blows everything up 200%) so now I can write,and my kindle does the same so I can read.(Now if Jeff Bezos would just beat the trained champanzee that codes the books for the printer,we would set for life, but Ms Kim is too soft-hearted to turn Alex and Zander lose in Jeff babys office. and after all that time they spent polishing their fangs,too.(Chiahuahuas have Big Pointy Fangs)

    • Hi Antonio.
      I think that e-books have the capacity to introduce a new demographic slice to reading, and those authors, publishers, and retailers, that find out how to cater to these new readers will do well.

      I also think that paper books are not going anywhere anytime soon.

      Independents will have a chance to gain a foothold back if they are smart and flexible, expanding into ebook trade.

      Ebooks are invaluable for reasons of money and ease of reading, storage, and that lovely feature of expanding the print or text to speech. They are not going anywhere, and they are a positive force in the industry, even taking into account the toxic damage the actual device can have on the environment.

      I don’t have a lot of books on my shelf simply because I do not collect things, (Maybe 3-4 hundred, total?) but the books I do have, I cherish, and there is nothing like the feeling of taking a book off your shelf and handing it to your child, remembering the feeling it gave you and wanting to share it with him. It lacks something if you just let him borrow your e-reader or give him a code to share it.

      We are tactile by nature, and ideas need an identifying, unique shape and form. That is the book.

  12. Shannon Pool

    You have had a very busy year already and it’s only 2/3 over. I’m very happy that you get a nice break from the chaos with your trees. There is so much more that can be said but I think this sums it up pretty well, *hugs* 🙂

  13. I have memories of apple trees throughout my life, Kim, from childhood climbs and pickings to just married backyards. Our new home also has an apple tree where the Pippins are prolific this year. We didn’t do a thing to it so it must be the right weather for such abundance.

    Sarah Addison Allen wrote a wonderful story that centers around an old apple tree; it’s called “Garden Spells”. If you haven’t already read it, I’d recommend you do. She uses voice and character quite well.

  14. I do see the red coming. Sweet! I love apples. We like making trips to our local farms for fun apple picking. I tend to eat em as I pick em.. 0:) Right off the tree =’s DELISH!

  15. Tim

    We have an orchard , that my dad completely neglected and is now slowly dying, in our backyard. A very small orchard. Only like 5 or 6 apple trees, 1 plum tree and a couple of trees that just fertilize the surrounding area. One tree got blown over by wind, and is now overgrown with grass, another got struck by lightning and at least two died.
    But there is this massive apple tree at the back that is still surviving and always ripens first. It’s either blessed or it’s murderous and taking the nutrients from the other trees. It’s probably taking the nutrients from the dead apple tree. OH MY GOD!
    My apple tree’s a cannibal😦

  16. lol i have an apple tree out back..it never gets sprayed with anything…if i am lucky we remember to prune it…but let me tell you it CRANKS out the apple

  17. She’s right. I really liked the Truth series, so did my sister. She would never read any type of Urban Fantasy, but she loved her High Fantasy and anything with dragons or dragon-like critters in it.

    V^^^^V

  18. Howdy ma’am,

    That apple reminds me of going to my grand ma’s in Ky. She had a gnarly little old apple tree that produced these sour little green apples. She used to fry them for breakfast. She’d mix in a little cinnamon and brown sugar. I liked mine in a fresh home made biscuit. She also made apple sauce out of them.

    Yesterday’s robin picture was very cool. I do love birds but I can’t fed them or anything. Fuzzy likes them too.

    V^^^^V

  19. Congrats on the apples… and good luck with the stuff from NY…

    In reply to your response to my post from yesterday, well i think if you did end up writing a few more books in the Truth series that plenty of us readers would be perfectly happy with reading them.. lol… me i dont have a yard (i live in a TINY apartment) but the times i have TRIED to have plants… well since i got my second cat they dont survive well since she likes gnaw on them to the point that in a few months time she’ll nibble a 3 foot tall plant down to about 4 inches… lol..she did it to a patchouli plant i had that till i got her it was practically immortal and survived though forgetting to water it and over watering… she also ate a quite big chocolate mint plant that i had too…

    • jkh

      Donna, dear, go to a decent pet store and get your cat her very own pot of living grasses. Obviously she needs something in the plants. I’m not worried about the chocolate mint, but the patchouli is worrisome. Also, she may need a dental appt at the vet’s…

    • Maybe a novella, Donna. But Alyssa found her happy ending, and it is over for me. 😉

      Our cats loved to nibble the green stuff.