Happy Friday!

Yep, we made it to another one, and though I’m looking forward to it, I’m looking forward to a clear-headed Comic Con a bit more, and so I will probably be breaking my “no work on the weekend” rule to try to clear my desk and thoughts for next week, and take Monday and Tuesday off instead.  Honestly, I’ve been tranking on this rewrite and it’s going well, but there’s just so much one can do in a day before you really aren’t thinking straight and you have to spend the first two hours of your new day going over the last two hours of work the night before.  It’s all good, though.  I don’t mind working long hours to have some extended time off where I don’t have to think about anything, and that’s what CC is going to be.  Par-tay!

You may have noticed that the drama box is getting later every morning, too.  That’s me trying to adjust to Pacific Coast time.  There is nothing more embarrassing than begging off from an 8:00 party because you are nose-down in your soup.  I miss my mornings, though.

I’ve got something kind of cool for you today from last month’s excursion into RWA in New York.  There were parties, and AVON, the romantic sister to my publisher at Harper, was kind enough to take me in under their wing and include me in their festivities since Harper isn’t generally a presence at a romantic conference.  Short story long, I was invited out to the Boat House at Central Park to rub elbows with everyone.  And of course, there were cameras.  My stint is way at the end.  I got there late and missed the formal taping, but that’s totally cool with me.  ;-)

33 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

33 responses to “Happy Friday!

  1. Now that is the party I would have loved to be a fly on the wall at!

  2. Natasha

    Hi Miss Kim,
    It’s Natasha formally of la, now residing in beautiful, sunny San Diego! I will be seeing you this week at CC! I’m so excited !! Definitely coming to fridays panel but I was wondering where else you are going to be hanging out so I can get my new copy of Blood Work signed? Comic Con is a riot, the costumes people come up with are insane! You could spend the entire time just looking at them. If you are looking for free time (hah) suggestions, try the Maritime museum just along the water front- that beautiful ship with the sails. Or take the ferry across to Coronado, it leaves every hour and the last time we took it with the kids we had a dolphin ride in our wake for most of the trip, he was looking at us! Miss Salem was so happy. See you Friday xoxo

  3. That looks like it was so much fun, and the boathouse looks beautiful. I love the Laura Lee’s big heart earrings. Did you get to see some of the sights with Guy?

  4. This may sound weird, but was RWA women-only? Or are romance writers all women?

    Also, i thought you are an urban fantasy writer before you are a romance writer. I think i remember you talking about the part “romance” plays in your story. About how it’s indispensible, and basically a part of life. And you do write it perfectly. Or shall i say, imperfect, which is exactly how it is. That’ why i think you are different than the writers there.

    I am biased of course.🙂

    • Ezgi, no way. There were plenty of male mystery, urban fantasy and sci-fi writers on hand. The Romance Writers of America has more than 10,000 members worldwide (primarily the United States and Canada) and it crosses all genres of writing because it’s the character relationships that makes so many books eligible for inclusion. It was neat wandering through hundreds of writers and the guys were absolutely fabulous! The next one is being held in CA for 2012. We might go because I’ve never been to CA.🙂

    • Hi Ezgi. It was mostly women, but there were some guys there as well. I was there reaffirming ties. I write urban fantasy, but a lot of romance readers like my work because of the strong female protagonist.

  5. So, I just finished reading all of The Hollows books. Too much fun – Rachel, Jenks, Ivy and cute Trent are now part of my family! 🙂

    I know you just had the graphic novel released, but I have to ask – when is the next Hollows book coming out? It was so fun to have all nine to read – but now I am at a loss – I can’t wait for the next one!

    Thanks for creating such a wonderful series – The Hollows is a fun place to get lost.

    Happy reading (and writing!),
    Rachelle

    • Hi,

      I’m not sure how long you’ve been reading Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance but if you’d like more books that are similar, try Patricia Briggs, Vicki Pettersson, Charlaine Harris and Jim Butcher for starters. There are many many more but these are a few of my favorites, after Kim.

      V^^^^V

    • Hi Rachelle. Thank you! I’m so glad you are enjoying the series. Next Hollows book up is the HOLLOWS INSIDER in late October, then A PERFECT BLOOD next spring.

  6. Antonio

    Are you looking forward to ComicCon? Anybody you would like to meet? I hear KATE BECKINSALE is going to be there promoting the new UNDERWORLD movie. That would be cool to meet her, right? Be good, have fun.

    P.S. Enjoyed BLOODWORK! Anytime the story focuses on Rachel and Ivy, it’s ALL good for me.😎

    • Oooooo… Kate is mad cool! I like her movies. I’m hoping Kim takes pictures and posts them soon.🙂

    • Of course, Antonio! I really can’t wait! It’s going to be too much fun, and there’s a nice balance of work and play at these things. I didn’t know about Kate Beckinsale. You know I love her work in the Underworld series. Mmmm.

      I’m glad you enjoyed Blood Work! Thanks!

  7. Kat

    Kim~You look fabulous!!!

  8. James R. Fox

    Hi Ms Kim it’s Jim from Warren.I’m still alive two days after getting Blood Work,read it 3 times already, interspersed with kindle sessions on PD to save my sight. I liked the dress by the way. Hope you have a ball at ComCon, remember about table dancing,it always ends in tears.

  9. Been to Comic Con many times and its a lot of fun as is the city of San Diego. Definately go to the Gaslamp Quarter across the street from the convention center. Great shops and restaurants there. The Con itself is usually packed so if you want to get out into the sunshine go to the sail pavilion and go out to the back patio area overlooking the bay and the Navy base. Nice place to get away from the Con now and again. Also head over to the very cool Seaport village and shop some. Also a nice place for some food.

  10. Horray for parties!🙂 I’m glad you’re looking forward to ComicCon. I’ve never been myself, but I hear it’s a blast. You wished me luck yesterday at the con, but you’re going to one before me, so you have luck first!🙂

    Wow, that last sentence was probably one of the least understandable ever. I hope my point came across.

    Glad to hear your rewrite is moving along. Keep up the good fight.🙂

    • I am, Greg. It should be so busy I don’t have time to get flustered, so I can be there and do what I need to do with minimal stress. I think I’m still in “tour” mode, which is good.

  11. Ur too cute Kim! Looks like a good time. Cyndi Lauper’s “girl’s just wanna have fun” comes to mind. U all deserve a fun event to get together like that. BTW I’m not a DJ, I just play one online sometimes.

  12. Gail S

    Hi Kim,
    I hope you get acclimated to PDT and that you have a great time at Comic Con. I’m green with envy that you’ll be there and I won’t
    be🙂 Charming mini interview, boy you’re very busy this summer. Enjoy!

    • Gail S

      Hi again, just got my copy of Blood Work in today’s mail. Holy fairy feathers, it’s so much more than I expected, it’s gorgeous! 😀

    • Yay! I’m so glad you like it, Gail! Thank you!

      I’m over the hump, I think for acclimating, at least as far as I can where I’m at. And yes, I’ve been really busy the last couple of years. It didn’t feel like it until just now.

  13. Howdy ma’am,

    Something most of us don’t think about is just how solitary your work life is. Writers spend most of their day just talking to the people inside their heads. It’s amazing to me that you all manage to keep your sanity.

    It must really be a lot of fun for you all to come out and be with each other at an event like that.

    I’m going to see the Harry Potter finale`this afternoon and then hang out in the Verizon store a couple of hours. Only 32 days until I get my new phone. I’m so excited!

    V^^^^V

    • Solitary? Mmmm, yes and no for me. Guy is home all day, so there’s always something going on in the background. But then again, I’ve been working alone for so long that now, even one person feels like a office-full.

      Cool you got tickets! I didn’t even try. Guy is a HP fanatic, so I know we’ll see it eventually.

  14. Maryellen

    “I’m just a small-town girl at heart”🙂 You are so sweet, Miss Kim! It looks like a fun time was had by all. Thanks for sharing that.