With a bit of fertilizer and sun

Sun, sweat, and a whole lot of fertilizer.

Kim's sorry-looking patch last year

Those of you who have been with me at the Drama Box for over a year might remember me lamenting over my pumpkins last June.  I got them in the ground far too late, into soil that was tired and worn out.  It prompted a post about how writing could be compared to gardening.  It has a picture of my hail-damaged seedlings and a post of me lamenting that despite my efforts and sweat, there just wasn’t enough shi–ah, fertilizer to support a fruit last year, and I was going to try again next after amending the soil.

This year is different, and after a whole lot of work bringing in new dirt, tilling in compost, and enriching the ground, I’m delighted to say that I have not only a slew of vines taking over the space, but female fruit setting.  You can see two in this picture, one has been fertilized, the other has not yet opened.  (Female flowers are carried low on the vine and have a miniature fruit under them, males are carried higher on stalks.)

Kim's healthy, growing patch this year

Now, if only the heat doesn’t interfere, I should have pumpkins to watch this late summer and fall.  Too high a temp, and the fruit doesn’t set, regardless of how rich the compost is.   I still think writing is a lot like tending a garden.  It takes sweat, dedication, some know-how . . . and things you have no control of can make or break you no matter how much compost you put on it.

The contests to win Ivy’s boots will be closing tomorrow.  (rules, regs, how to enter)
Not sure what time, so if you’ve not entered, go check it out.  The contests to win signed copies of Blood Work will be ending, too, so if you’ve not entered, go check my guest blogs out and either leave a comment to enter, or send them an email with your name and address, depending upon their individual rules.

Graphic Novel Reporter. Why I wanted to write a graphic novel.
Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. Blood lust–how do you show an emotion?
Fantasy Book Critic. Rachel and Ivy–how they met.
Comic Beat. Team player? Loved it.

 Tomorrow I’ll have one last guest post to kick off the official publication date.  Yay!

42 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

42 responses to “With a bit of fertilizer and sun

  1. AKR (Trinidad)

    Pumpkins …. yum …
    I love pumpkin …
    We had a pumpkin vine some time ago that bore soooo abundantly my sister and I perfected pumpkin pie ….

    Your plants are lookin’ good Ms Harrison ….
    Let’s hope they’re prolific ….

    Gosh today is Blood Work day … and my Amazon says it’s not even delivered yet …?
    *Sigh* here’s where my lesson in patience begins ..🙂

    AKR (Trinidad)

  2. OMGGG Kim wake up and put a spoiler page up!!! xD Just read it in one hour and there’s no font big enough to show my *squeeeee*😉

  3. Heya Kim,
    just doing the happy dance because it’s already Tuesday over here and the mailman just brought me Blood Work and Madison 3. yayy! It’s so big and shiny! (BW, not Madison ;)] Gotta get back to reading now!
    Aimée

  4. Lindsey Hoffman

    The pumpkin crop is amazing and so was the graphic novel. Got it earlier today and finished it about an hour ago. So amazing Kim.

  5. Joelle Wilson

    Go, go, go Pumpkins. Great now I have a story idea or maybe a poem.🙂 I agree that writing is like tending a garden that’s a great analogy.

  6. That is soooo cool. My kids love planting flowers and trees. We do quite a bit of digging in the dirt when we hit SC and FL. Nice crop!🙂

  7. Oooh, pumpkins. We had no luck last year with our pumpkins either, we’ll see if we do this year. The tot has a bowl full of tadpoles (in my favorite mixing bowl, of course)

    Can’t wait for the graphic novel release

    Hugs!!

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  8. Looks like this year’s crop is well established, Kim. I can see it now: come the Fall – “We got punkin pie, punkin puddin’, punkin mashed taters, punkin and pork stew, punkin soufle’, punkin ice cream, . . .”

  9. Go pumpkins! Did you mention that gardening and writing both need sweat equity? Seems like it does… at least when the deadlines loom.

    Go new book release!

  10. Mendi in STL

    Heyde Hey Kim!

    Pumpkins are looking good, congrats! Whew, had a morning catching up on all your events and entering contests, busy summer here so far and lots of traveling.

  11. Sara

    Oh no – you won’t get fruit if it’s too hot? Crap. I planted pumpkin this year, spurred by your post actually, and the vines look great. Lots of flowers, fat leaves, and they have spread like crazy. However….this is like the third week without a break in 100+ temperatures and the ground is cracking (not my garden! watering the crap outta that, but there is no sense in wasting water on grass). It’s soooo hot and sooo dry with no rain to speak of or no break for the foreseeable future. And I haven’t seen fruit one!

    On the other hand, tomatoes look good. But they weren’t planted in the crappy soil so….

    Good luck with your garden this year! I always love seeing the photos (and reading the stories) of your efforts. Makes me want to be a better gardener too.🙂

    • Don’t worry too much about it, Sara. There is only a few days where each pumpkin is sensitive. I’m sure you’ll get some pumpkins. They grow them in SC, and it’s hot there.

  12. Looking good Kim! I love pumpkins. (It also helps that it was one of my nicknames growing up.) I wish I had a green thumb. Maybe when I get outta this condo and have my own back yard, I can give it a go. Looks like your hard work is paying off🙂 -Vampyre- I was wondering the same thing. What will you do with said pumpkins?
    BLOOD WORK tomorrow! WOW! /cheer

    p.s. I am 31 and enjoyed your YA series on Madison. I’m not over the age limit for them right?😉

  13. Howdy ma’am,

    I read this entry and the first thing I thought was, “The Great Pumpkin is coming…and he has fangs!” I don’t know why.

    If they can grow pumpkins down here in this heat, surely yours will grow too. What will you do with them all? As SWAG, they are pretty big. How many stamps for a Hollows pumpkin going to Georgia?

    V^^^^V

  14. Cerridwen Freya

    Well, they look really healthy to me, Kim! Congrats! Where I’m at is like 90% clay. We had to really, really sweat it out to incorporate newer soild when we started gardening in our barren yard 7 yrs ago. I’m elated everytime I see my seedlings sprouts and by the time they get transfered into the earth and they thrive, I’m almost doing the “dance of joy” lol. Looking forward to your latest writings. Blessings to you!

    • They are looking good to me, too, Cerridwen, but that smaller one is going to be iffy with the heat we’ve been having and that there is already one growing so close on the vine already.

      I so understand your happy dance about the plants. I so the same thing. 🙂

    • jkh

      When my daughter and I moved into a semidetached 2-plex with a gorgeous, sunny back yard, we started gardening. The soil was such heavy clay I didn’t know whether to plant seeds or take up pottery. We added compost, manure, and spent mushroom compost (about 1:1 of all that to the soil) plus a whole lot of lime, and we got a gorgeous garden of vegetables, herbs, and flowers. Clay is full of minerals, which translates to extremely nutritious vegetables.

  15. Jenny

    I absolutely love pumpkins.To me they are a symbol of fall, my favorite season, and also one of my favorite flavors.Good luck with them. I hope they come in nicely for you.

  16. Chelle

    Wow your pumpkin crop is awsome, good luck withnthem

Leave a Reply

