RWA

I’ll be in NY this week for the Romantic Writer’s Association convention, and though most of it is closed to the public unless you are attending the conference, there is a mass author signing that IS open to the public, where you can find more than 400 authors in one room.

The 2011 “Readers for Life” Literacy Autographing will take place on Tuesday, June 28, from 5:30–7:30 p.m. at the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square, Broadway Ballroom. This event is open to the public; there is no admittance fee. Proceeds from book sales go to ProLiteracy Worldwide and their local NYC partner, ACE New York.

I hope to see some of you there!  I don’t get to NY very often, so this is a treat for me. Because I’ll be away from my desk, I will not be posting until Friday.

Have a good week!

32 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

32 responses to “RWA

  1. http://activerain.com/blogsview/2376361/at-rwa-authors-kim-harrison-and-vicki-pettersson-will-leave-you-breathless-and-twitterpated-

    Here’s the link to my blog post about meeting very cool authors at RWA. Kim freakin’ ROCKS! Seriously so.🙂

    • AKR (Trinidad)

      Well said CTannStarr
      Very exiciting blog …. thanks for sharing …🙂

      You guys stick to writing ….lol and I’ll stick to reading … like the addict I am …

      AKR (Trinidad)

    • It was great meeting you, TannStarr! Wow, what a great post! Thank you!

  2. Wish I could be there! SAD…

  3. YouTube of some RWA highlights with Kim and her friend Vicki Pettersson (who is fun and mad cool to banter with like KImi):

  4. James Fox

    Hi Ms Kim it’s jim from Warren. I am glad to hear about your NY trip,hope you have a blast.Please, no dancing on the table. Lika,a Russian friend of mine did that when she graduated with Honors from the University in inorganic chemistry. She is of Cossack descent, and our friend Lina said that Lika was doing Cossack dances on a table with a fifth of Vodka in each hand.She then disapeared with the best looking guy, she eventually made it back minus half her clothes, but with a half gallon of vodka.It took Lika and three friends to carry her home, and two days later, she was still so hung over she did a face plant trying to walk from the bathroom to the livingroom. I have to warn my mother (Who’s 96) about this, so please listen. My friend Lika says that the University of Kiev is very understanding about student parties,the police don’t interfere unless someone is hurt.I don’t think NYPD is so tolerent, but then they don’t have to deal with Cossacks with a load on, and Yulia Tymoshenko ran a very understanding dictatorship, as long as you remembered how to vote at election time.Kinda like Chicago, with fewer civil rights.Hey, in Chicago you can vote even after you are dead, and I don’t think Yulia thought of that one after she threw the Russian Army out of the Ukraine. (Which is what got her overthrown last year.)FYI Yulia invented the orange revolution, which is why the Dept of homeland security is terrified of 5ft tall peasent girls.It’s hell trying to get a girl from Eastern Europe a work permit for our photography club here in the US, and they work so cheap,$1,000 a day plus room and board. Try and get someone like Rosie Huntington-Whitley for less than $1,000 an hour.

  5. “At night… the streets become rhythmical perspectives of glowing dotted lines, reflections hung upon them in the streets as the wistaria hangs its violet racemes on its trellis. The buildings are shimmering verticality, a gossamer veil, a festive scene-prop hanging there against the black sky to dazzle, entertain, amaze.” ~Frank Lloyd Wright

    Have an amazing time!

  6. Stephenie

    Exciting! That is something I definitely wish I could go to. 400 authors.. *drool*

  7. jkh

    Hope you have a wonderful time. Will you be there as Kim Harrison or as Dawn Cook? Making quick persona changes???

  8. AKR (Trinidad)

    Romantic Writer’s Association….? Conference …?
    Hmmm damn, … I’m wishing I was in NY now …lol

    Cant wait to hear about it ….?
    Sound very exicting ….🙂

    Have a great time …

    AKR (Trinidad)

  9. Robin

    This made me think of the looming pack tattoo.

    http://www.isabellacatalog.com/p/Dandelion-Dreams-Necklace.cfm
    🙂

  10. Poking my head out of the editing cave to wish you safe travels. Have a great time. I wish I were going to RWA this year! (Maybe you’ll make it to RWA next year??? It’s across the street from DIsneyland…)

    Hugs

    ~Suzi and the tot, too

  11. Hey Kim,
    one day I’ll go to one of those conferences, too, and meet you all!🙂
    So happy I ordered my DWW mug before you decided to no longer ship here🙂 btw it arrived unharmed🙂
    “We can still do the freebies.” yay! Love those. Still cherishing my Kisten armband😉
    Prizes ready to ship out? tons of yay!!
    Have a successful week!
    Aimée

    • I’m glad you got your mug, Amy. Prizes are ready to ship out. I need to find out how to get a International Reply Coupon for Germany and the UK first for you guys, and then yours will be in the mail.

  12. Jenn

    Hope you have/had a blast!

  13. Have fun in New York, Kim! I’ve never been, but I hear it’s a blast. We’ll miss your daily musings, but it will make your return all the sweeter.🙂

  14. This has me so excited. I love your work and just hope I’ll be able to find you in the ballroom. 400 writing peeps means a lot of eye candy and book fans running amok. Enjoy your week in New York City! Looking forward to meeting you.🙂