Early Copy Goodness

I am a heavy practitioner of delayed gratification.  Some of it is my nature, some of it forced by the slow reality of the job itself, seeing as writers often work on a project that doesn’t find the shelf until the idea that sparked it is years, if not decades, old.  So when a first early, hot-of-the-press copy shows up, it’s a very good day–and also why my dogs go bark-crazy when the UPS truck rumbles down my street.  I am always there to greet it.

Monday was such a day, made even more special in that I had both my boys with me when I opened up one of those characteristic manilla folders and pulled out a very early, hot-off-the-press copy of Blood Work.  Dude, my eldest even read it that afternoon, giving me a hard time about Rachel’s brown El Camino that looked like a chocolate bar.  (Family joke.)  It was a very good day.

Blood Work won’t be out on the shelves until July 12th, which isn’t that far away, actually.  I’ve got two conferences bracketing its release, one in NY, and one in San Diego–two conferences, and one very, very, very cool contest that involves boots.  I can’t say much about it yet as details are being hammered out, but you know I’m grinning if I’ve used very three times in one sentence that already involves boots.  Keep an eye out here, at my FB, and suvudu.com  More is to come!

35 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

35 responses to “Early Copy Goodness

  1. mudepoz

    My mother’s BD is July Third. Also when Milwaukee does the big Fireworks.

    So, you will keep us in the loop concerning Suvudo? Not a site I regularly hang at:)

    Looking forward to the GN, not so much on the boots. Unless it’s a boot in the butt of some of the students to get out of my way🙂

    • I will keep you in the loop, yes, Mud! And I think the students will be getting out of your way if you’re wearing the boots in question. These boots were made for stomping.

  2. Stephenie

    Ugh! I’ve yet to buy boots sufficient to my liking. I LOVE looking at boots though and I can’t wait to see what in the world is going on there. I can’t wait to read the graphic novel either. I’ll have to remind myself to slow down and look at the pictures. I tend to have that problem… a lot.

    If I remember right Blood Work comes out the same day as Butcher’s new book. I’m rereading that series now and then I was planning on starting the Truth series (Gosh I’m reading so slowly gack!) but now I think I’ll have to bump Blood Work up or all of my friends will make fun of me.😀

    • The artistry is a big part of it, yes. I have the same problem . . . Going too fast to appreciate it. That’s changed a bit now since I’ve actually helped put one together.

      I didn’t know that Jim had one coming out the same day. Cool!

  3. Pre-ordered mine from a good friend that owns a comic store we go to every Saturday. He made sure to order a few instead of just mine since I rave about you and your work like a silly school girl with a crush. Looking forward to having it in my hands.😉

  4. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    As secure as I am in my manliness, I still don’t think I could pull off wearing Rachel’s boots ,even if they came in my size. I hope your head doesn’t explode with that visual. 🙂

    I’m really looking forward to seeing my own UPS delivery in July. I’ve had it on pre-order since they’ve (Amazon) started taking them. I’ve had it on pre-order so long that I forgot and it told me I already did it when I tried to pre-order it again. 🙂

    Glad to hear T1 and T2 are there to share your joy.

    V^^^^V

    • Okay, that is funny, Vampy. I’ve tried to order things twice myself.

      It has been a fabulous couple of weeks with both my boys together. All things end, so set a few memories aside.

  5. jkh

    OK, I gave in. Pre-ordered BW from Amazon. I prefer to patronize indies, but this one I need-need-need to have in hardback, and Amazon’s pre-order price is about half of the indie retail. So I did it. And now I only have to wait a couple of weeks. I’m so stoked!

    • Thank you, JKH! I try to order from the Indies, too, as much as possible. I just found a local source for some outdoor lighting that I’ve been looking at, and I’m excited that I don’t have to drive anywhere to get them.

      Hope you like the GN!

  6. The cover really looks good! I always wondered if your boys ever read your work.

    • Thanks, Marsha.

      They do. My eldest, was reading one of Madison’s books on base, and his Sargent told him it was not appropriate reading material for a US Marine, whereupon he said, Sir, yes sir! My mother wrote it, sir!” And the Sargent told him to “Carry on, Soldier.” Still makes me smile.

  7. You’re coming to New York? Bloody Awesome!!! When? For how long? Are you going to do any book signings while you are here? Pretty please, pretty please, pretty, pretty, pretty please? I’m grinning from ear to ear hoping there is a New York City bookstore appearance on your list of things to do. I’d camp out at that puppy in a heartbeat in order to get your autograph. OMG – dare I say it? A picture… (LOL)

    Can’t wait to find out what’s cooking with those boots. I bet that’s going to be a yummy bit of contest fun. You guys have made my day twice! Thank you for the cool aid grins. May your day be as deliriously happy as you have made mine.😉

    • Yes! I will be in NY for a convention. It’s closed for street traffic except for the mass author signing which is Tuesday, the 28th, from 5:30 to7:30 at the NY Marriott Marquis. There might be a small fee to get in seeing as there are going to be hundreds of authors there at one time. I’m not sure, but the monies go to a literacy fund, so it’s all good.

  8. AKR (Trinidad)

    ….. wow …. now I’m extra extra extra excited ….. =) *claps hands in glee*
    I got my pre-order in a while back …. YAYY !!!
    I even ordered a copy of Bloodwork for my friend in the UK who’s also hooked on the Hollows …. and eagerly laps up all Hollows news I can share …lol

    Just a few more weeks ….

    AKR (Trinidad)

  9. please say its something about Rachel’s but kicking boots LOL

  10. Sara

    I like boots.😀

    So, Rachel has her perfect pair of boots, do you? I’m still on the search for a pair with a low heel (but still adds a couple of inches), comfortable, slightly edgy but goes with everything. *sigh* :p

    Congrats on getting the fresh, new copy! I can’t wait until mine arrives! Last time (with Pale Demon) UPS came soooo late in the day that I had to put off reading it until the next day or else risk staying up all night reading. Waaay too old for that. *lol*

    Enjoy San Diego! I’d say “enjoy NY”, but I’ve never been there in the summer. SD is gonna smell like flowers.

  11. Eagerly awaiting my preordered copy!

  12. I knew you’d tease about this too. Good thing i pre-ordered. Bad thing, i’ll get it two or three weeks later. I shall move to your side of the ocean.

  13. I’ve had it pre-ordered for months I can’t wait. This will be my first ever graphic novel🙂 Looking forward to more information about the boot contest!

  14. I saw a young one sitting in the empty display window of Bath and Body the other day, reading a graphic novel. I don’t think he realized he was in full view, more just finding a quiet corner while his mom shopped. Kids love these books; adults, too. I confess I’ve only glanced at them but yours will be the first I purchase – best of luck on your tour.

  15. Maryellen

    AWESOMENESS!!!😀

    This is so exciting, Miss Kim! And how lovely that you got to share the moment with Thing One and Thing Two! July 12? – okay then, got it. Already on my calendar! Boots too??? I confess I am intrigued. Very, very, very intrigued….

    I hope you have a wonderful day!

  16. Awesome! I can’t wait for this to come out! My birthday is July 1, so this is a great belated birthday present.🙂 Thank you.