Thursday, the day before Friday

Thursday has always been one of my favorite days.  Still sort of mid-week with lots to do on my desk, but the luster of Friday gleaming, luring me on.  I like my weekends.  I don’t have a lot planned for this one.  Maybe make some chess cakes (which are really tarts) for my dad for Father’s day, and putts around in the yard.  I’ve almost got all my rock borders in, and the last few feet seem to take forever.  After that, I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  Maybe mulch something.

Today, though, is still a work day, and though Trent did not see Lucy for the first time, he will today or tomorrow.  It’s taking me longer to get to the nursery than I thought.  Good news is that Guy tells me that the cover for the HOLLOWS INSIDER is up at Amazon.  -grin-  Sweet.  I really like it.  It’s not your normal cover, per say, and I can’t wait until it’s really on the shelves.  For you Cincy people, there’s no crown building in the shot because the dates in the book put it before it’s built, and trust me, we thought about fudging it.  One thing I like is that we’re finally starting to see Rachel’s face.  I got a sneak peek at the cover for A PERFECT BLOOD yesterday, which totally blew me away, and yes, we see her face in that one, too.  (I’d whine and throw a tantrum at my editor to show it to you, but I know it’s far too soon.)

Speaking of faces, we now have a face for Devin Crossman, the narrator for THE HOLLOWS INSIDER!  Congratulations, S. Wilburn!  Your photo was chosen as Devin Crossman’s mug shot for the Hollows Gazette!  And thank you everyone else who entered.  The decisions are getting harder as we get to the end, but I should have a winner for Winnie and the fountain today.  (We’re checking with production on how well they will reproduce before we make the final pick.)

PS  I was perusing, and I found a cool link for you Kindle/mac/iphone/pad peoples to read the first chapter of SOMETHING DEADLY THIS WAY COMES for free!    I’m going to see if there’s something similar for the Nook and Sony e-reader. . . .

Okay, I couldn’t find one for the Nook, but if you go to the first page of ONCE DEAD, TWICE SHY you can read the first chapter on your  Kindle edition onKindleiPhoneiPad,AndroidBlackBerryPCand Mac.

EARLY TO DEATH, EARLY TO RISE, same thing. Read the first chapter on your Kindle edition onKindleiPhoneiPad,AndroidBlackBerryPCand Mac.

SOMETHING DEADLY THIS WAY COMES  Read the first chapter on your Kindle edition onKindleiPhoneiPad,AndroidBlackBerryPCand Mac.

I had no idea this was there.  Cool!  If the links don’t work, you can reach them directly by going to the book’s page at Amazon and look for the little green box on the right side bar.  Enjoy!

31 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

31 responses to “Thursday, the day before Friday

  1. Jenn

    Good Morning & TGIF!
    I have to say, I can’t wait to see how Jenks & Trent get along. I’m going to guess there is going to be a lot of smart ass comments and yelling. Until they get Lucy lol.
    I hope you have an amazing weekend!

    • Actually, Jenn, it’s been kind of quiet. Trent doesn’t talk much, and neither does Jenks when he’s on a job. You have a great weekend, too!

  2. MichelleG

    Omg, Kim. I love the cover for the insider. I had no idea the release date until I just went to Amazon. I guess the book coming out on that day will make it a very Happy Birthday for me…..Yay! Can’t wait.

  3. Thursdays are my Mondays because I work every Th-F-Sa at our local yarn shop here in the high desert mountains of north central Arizona. That word, “work” is so not quite true, though. The yarns. The people who come in to buy yarns and make pretty things with yarns – such fun!

    The sample chapter free reads on Kindle and other devices are the best although some authors (like you) I prefer to have the 3-D versions in hand when I read. Plus, they look good on the bookshelves.

    • I bought some very thinly spun wool in shades of orange a few weeks ago. I can’t wait to turn it into pumpkins.

      I’m very much a paper girl myself, but e-readers are a boon to those who read more than me. I truly have no prejudice and think both formats will survive.

  4. Joelle Wilson

    Love the cover of the Hollows Insider book. I’d pre-order it but I like the thrill I get from purchasing a new release at a physical store.

  5. Lisa

    Hey Kim,
    I am going to sound like a fanatic (insert nerdy subculture here) guy with no girlfriend when I ask this… If the book is set before the crown building entered the Cincy skyline then would Trent be running a mayoral campaign for 2011? I admittedly know squat about politics.

  6. jkh

    I always liked Thursdays for the same reason. The weekend was within sight. I usually started making my weekend lists on Thursdays: groceries, daughter’s ballet class and social events, dry cleaner, pharmacy, etc. That was a long time ago, and stores were closed on Sundays, so I had to really plan out my Saturdays.

  7. That book is a gorgeous cover. You have soooooo gotta talk to the peeps in charge and get them to release posters!!!! We’re in the studio drooling over here because we want posters – we want posters (mugs and tee shirts too – LOL). My friends are teasing me because I finally found something I want to hang in my home office and it is NOT for sale (LOL).

    I love your work and am really looking forward to the next round of stories.

    May your Thursday be happy and fun and may Trent see Lucy before Saturday (LOL). Will post a new pen and ink of you later. I am having a lot of fun with the doodles and really enjoy learning about you and your writing process. You absolutely ROCK!!!! 😉

    • Okay, that’s got me smiling, There is a poster in the works, but I don’t think it’s going to be for the fans as much as it’s going to be for promotion. Fingers crossed.

  8. It is a great idea to have the first chapter of books available. I am not into YA but I so enjoy your writing that checking it out for free may lead to more…. I think I like Thursday for the same reason; I can peek around the bend and see the weekend though this weekend I see weeds around that bend…

  9. Hi Kim!
    Happy Thursday to you also! I can feel Friday peekin’ ’round the corner. Love the cover for the HOLLOWS INSIDER. Can’t wait until it comes out. I’ll have to add it to my growing collection of awesomeness. Have a great weekend!

  10. Vampyre

    Happy Thursday ma’am,

    Great news all around.

    Here is what it looked like yesterday and today so far. This fog mixed with smoke. Some roads were closed because of low visibility.

    [IMG]http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x300/Vampyre111/100_1353.jpg[/IMG]

    It’s a little worse today. I can smell smoke in the house. I smells like burning leaves so it’s not too bad. The closest fire is over 30 miles away so I’m in no danger..

    Now I’m off to read some Avery Madison. 🙂

    V^^^^V

  11. Maryellen

    🙂 <— big cheesy grin

    Have a wonderful day, Miss Kim!

  12. Stephenie

    I see the bright and shiny weekend too! Since my friend’s have been waiting for me to turn 21 what seems like forever we’re having an all weekend blowout. We haven’t been all together in a long time so it’s a reunion of sorts too. We’re going to party!! (And by party I mean have a responsible and conscientious time… no really, we are.)

    I love the Hollows Insider cover. I can’t wait until it comes out. It’s so nice that there are so many Hollows books coming out this year. Pale Demon almost made my head explode and wondering what’s going to be in A Perfect Blood might have done me in without distraction.

  13. Hey Kim! I’m glad you’re enjoying your Thursday. I’m not, but mainly because I’m really bummed out. That job offer didn’t work out because of my credit history. Nevermind the fact that getting a better job would help me improve my credit. *sigh* I want to believe this is all so I’m prepared for some greater opportunity, but I really just feel stuck in a rut. The logical part of my brain says it is far more likely I’ll remain sidelined into mediocrity forever than truly achieve some sort of success. Maybe I should be celebrating my mediocrity and enjoying it. I dunno, I’m having a hard time accepting it.

    On the good news front, I took my first test of the semester and think I did really well. Next week I’ll know for sure when grades are released. And this weekend I’m having some folks over for a roleplaying session. No real gaming/storytelling going on yet as one of our players can’t make it. I’m really just moving the game over to a new system so we have to generate characters (yes, I’m this much of a nerd, ha!). I may not be a writer (yet?), but I do enjoy my creative outlet.

    • jkh

      Oh Greg, that’s such a poopy thingl. My daughter and I were co-ranting on that very subject on Sunday. Just What The He..ck does a credit rating have to do with the ability to do a job? We agree: do a criminal check, check with previous employers, but my bank balance and my credit history are not anybody’s business for getting a job. Sorry, pal.

    • Thanks, jkh. It was for a credit union, so I get their concern, I’m just bummed about it.

    • That’s great about the test, Greg. Hang in there. Things are getting better. 😉