You like free stuff?

Yep, me too!  I’ve got something special for you today, a chance to win one of four signed copies of  Something Deadly This Way Comes or the grand prize a signed copy of this novel and a bag of Advance Reader Copies of the paranormal stories that will be part of this fall’s Dark Days of Supernatural program!

I have a small commentary piece for Romantic Times on where Madison came from in my imagination, followed by a chance to enter to win the above.  This is being run through Harper Teen, so follow the instructions carefully!  The commentary and chance to win are here.  Kim Harrison on her YA Series–with giveaway!  Check it out!

Me?  I got out on my back porch yesterday in the 90 degree heat, and I loved it, (still being used to the SC heat unlike my MI neighbors.)  I sketched out a novella with Jenks and Trent stealing Lucy, and this, I think, is definitely going to be included in the upcoming Harrison anthology next year.  I’ll be writing the first chapter today.  Yay!  I can’t wait to get into Trent’s head.  This will be the first time I’ve done anything from his POV, and it should be . . . interesting.

39 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

39 responses to “You like free stuff?

  1. Jenn

    It sounds like you’re having a great time with your writing right now🙂 That’s fantastic! It also sounds like you’re loving this hot weather we’ve been having lol I’m not so crazy about it! I’m sending it all back to you!
    TGIF!
    Hope you & yours having a fantastic weekend!

    • It’s been an interesting couple of weeks, Jenn. I like doing different things everyday in a frame work that changes little, and that is exactly what writing is for me. 🙂 New stuff=happy me.

      You have a great weekend, too!

  2. Stephanie

    This is unrelated to this post, but I thought I would give you some props for your writing advice. In many of your older posts, you talked about how writer’s block meant that your character was probably doing something she wouldn’t do, and you needed to move her in a different direction. Well, I’ve been stalled on my WIP for a while, and I finally decided to listen to your advice. She just needed to call a different person, and now I have the rest of my story arc sketched out. It’s crazy how a simple phone call can completely change the direction of a novel.

    • Thank you, Stephanie. I really appreciate hearing that! I’m so glad that you got yourself back on track. And I agree. One phone call can change everything. 🙂

  3. Sue

    Quick question please🙂 I was listening to DWW today during the part where Rachel is stirring the transformation spell. She’s talking about stirring it on the stove watching it bubble (implying a heat source) but being in a circle at the same time.

    I thought somewhere in one of your books you said there weren’t any gas or utility/power lines to disturb her circles in the kitchen.

    Please explain for this dumb brain of mine.

    I can’t wait for the Jenks/Trent story. Love them both, and David, and Al…humn, I just need to find me my own inderlander!!!

    • Hi Sue. I’d have to go back and check to be sure, but I think she had her spell over a Stereo can if she was in a circle. (one of those independent heat sources that is very much like a big candle.) Also, check the actual book. I’ve seen a few things change from book to audio. Sometimes they leave things out. (Like my Casual Friday joke. grrrr)

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books. Thank you!

  4. Niko

    THAT WOULD MAKE MY LIFE!!!!! (Being in Trent’s head, that is.)

  5. Jackie

    Definately something I can’t wait to read!!!

  6. Hiya Kim!!
    I am so excited to read a story of Jenks & Trent stealing Lucy. I love Trent interacting with pixies, it’s a laugh. And something from his POV?? HELL YES! That is going to be so awesome. I want to know what is going on in that man’s head, because everytime I think I have a handle on it, he changes directions!!! Love that you keep us guessing.

    Take care Kim!
    V—V
    Faith

  7. Sue, Chicago

    Trent’s POV? That should be very enlightening! I can’t wait to see how he deals with all of his baggage – the baggage his father gave him, the baggage Jonathan gave him and the baggage of just being an elf in general! It sounds pretty crowded in that head of his. Should make for an interesting read! Looking forward to it!

  8. Gail S

    Hi Kim, The heat yesterday was something…I thought we’d have a little more spring. LOL I know better living in the midwest but I had hope🙂

    So happy the heat has your creative side working overtime. I can’t wait to read about Trent, Jenks and of course Lucy. I wonder if Lucy will be like her ‘auntie’ Rachel testing dear old Dad all the time. LOL

    • Holy Cow, Gail. I had sheets over some of my more tender plants, trying to keep them alive. They aren’t looking too good, but we’ve had clouds yesterday, and the heat finally broke.

      I’d love to see Lucy old enough to say no. Alas, not enough time in the books.

  9. YEEEOWZAAA!! I am so totally freakin excited to read it!! Happy writing! Val-OH

  10. Autumn

    Yay for Trent and Jenks story!🙂 I tried to submit a comment for the giveaway but the website kept saying my comment resembled spam, lol. Can’t wait to read the new Madison book and I’m glad it finally got warm where you are.

    • II think we might have overloaded their system, Autumn. Try again now that the main push is through. 😉 I hope you like Madison if you give her a try!

  11. Jessica

    YAY! This is very excititng!!! Trent has definately grown on me and I really think he is a good guy at heart….just has a strange way of going about things. It will be wonderful to get his POV. PLUS….I hated having him and Jenks leave during Pale Demon and not knowing how their little caper unfolds…I remember reading it thinking, I hope this story is in an anthology in the future! Good to know sometimes wished do come true!

    I LOVE the heat. I am a fire sign and guess it comes with the territory. Cannot stand to be cold (I will never understand why I still love New England…LOL). Hot Humid Summer days=Awesome Thunder Lightening Storms!! In the forecast for today actually!!! 🙂

    • I hope you like it, Jessica, when I get it done. It is shaping up to be a action-packed story.

      I like the heat, too. I’m sitting at my office in a pair of sweats and a coat on right now. (rolls eyes) I am NOT going to turn the heat on, and it will be warm enough to open the windows by noon.

  12. Steph.C

    Omg, Trent´s POV! I can´t wait for this, it´s going to be so interesting finding out how he thinks, even though we have an idea. I wonder if he will think about Rachel during this little adventure hehe. When would this come out?

    • Getting into his head has been easier than I thought it would, Steph, but I need to go back over chapter one again and fill in a few blanks. I’m thinking this will be out next October, 2012. Just a guess.

  13. SQUEEEEEE!!!!!!!!! Something from Trent’s POV!!!!! Plus I’m really interested to see more of how the relationship between Trent and Jenks has developed. Plus as a Trent fan, not to sound all sappy, but I would love to get an inside take on his reaction when he first saw Lucy. He seems pretty ga ga over her and being a Dad. Or course then again, I am a Kalamack fan.

  14. Indy

    Hi Kim!!! Ok, I hate 90 degree heat & humidity…how exactly do you get use to that? 🙂 Did I miss something…a Harrison anthology??? Like a short story collection of previous Hollows stories or new stuff or both?~Indy

    • Mmmmm, I love the heat. I don’t move much at my desk, so the core temp drops like a rock.

      Yes, an anthology with hopefully a bunch of the novellas and shorts already out there, plus a few new ones.

  15. Oh wow! A Trent-centric novella! I’ve was hoping you’d do one for so long and now that you are it makes me anxious, haha!! He’s definitely a complicated one. So this is the novella you were talking about a couple of days ago that could turn into a new series? Does this mean that Trent could get his own spin off or would it just be a new set of elves in general?

    As for the weather, it was about 100 degrees here yesterday. I walked about 2-3 minutes to my car on the way home and was sweating bullets by the time I got there, and I was wearing bright colors.

    • Hi Erika. Well, that’s something that my editor and I are going to talk about at the end of the month, actually. The one with Trent’s parents has the potential to turn into a full novel. I’ve temporarily shelved it to work on the Trent/Jenks novella. Dropping it at the first chapter is actually a good thing. I’ll be thinking about it in the back of my mind now.

  16. I was hoping you would let us in on what happened while Trent & Jenks were away. I cant wait to read this!!!

  17. Vampyre

    Howdy ma’am,

    I submitted something for the contest. Is there a delay before it shows up? Iwant to wi8n this one.

    V^^^^V

    • Vampyre

      ok, it’s there now. 🙂

    • Vampy, which one is yours? I want to see something out of your mind!! I’m glad I read this, because mine still hasn’t shown up, and I have details in there I just ran with that I may not ever get back if I don’t save it. /faith fail.

    • Vampyre

      Thanks. I used the same screen name there and the same V^^^^V sig.

      Kim, did you know the Hollows GN has a cameo in Neon Graveyard by Vicki(Showgirl) Pettersson?

      V^^^^V

    • I saw your post, Vampy! -grin-

      And no! I didn’t know that about the cameo. Oh, man. . . . I gotta go look!

  18. Nancy H

    Good morning Kim!

    Ooh, very exciting to have the story of Jenks and Trent stealing Lucy. Can’t wait to see it. It will be wonderful I am sure! Thanks for all the wonderful work you do for us, your adoring fans.
    Nancy