Kalamack for Mayor!

Submissions are closed for the photos of Kalamack supporters, and you guys came thorough again!  Wow, you never cease to amaze me.  A huge thank you for all who took part.  My favorites are at the website, but it was hard to cut it down to six, and I’m a bit anxious to see which one makes the final cut for inclusion into the Hollows Insider.  ;-)   I’m still taking employee photos for the Hollows Gazette, but this is the last contest.  I can’t believe it’s almost over!

I’m going to be at my desk today after almost exactly a week of sitting on my porch, couch, deck, or anywhere else the weather was pleasant, clipboard and pencil in hand as I sketched out some ideas for the next couple of years.  I only get to do this once or twice a year, and seldom with ideas that don’t revolve around the Hollows.  I had a wonderful week.  The weather was divine as I sat in the shade and planned who I was going to torture, ah, work with for the next couple of years.  Two more Hollows books to go, (one already at rough draft) but my attentions are already turning, turning, turning.  After this Hollows novella, (which is working up to be very cool all on its own and potentially a new series as well,) I will be writing something brand new–and I can’t wait.  Grace?  Meg?  One is a gut-wrenching situation that speaks to me personally, the other will stretch my writing in a new direction with a brutal severity.  Either has a delicious appeal.  I’d be happy doing either, and I’ve got two weeks to figure out who gets their time in the sun first.  Sweet agony.

And then there’s this other idea I’ve been thinking on, one a bit troubling . . .  I don’t think I can emotionally write that one quite yet.  Cuts too close to the bone.  It can wait.  Even if it has the potential to be the best thing I’ve ever written.  It can wait . . .  I don’t have everything in my toolbox yet.

22 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

22 responses to “Kalamack for Mayor!

  1. Jenn

    Morning Kim,

    I just wanted to thank you again for sharing with us. I love to see how you fill your days & how you plan out the next thing to come.
    I hope you get a chance to bring both your ladies to life soon!
    The troubling storyline? Those always tend to sit on the back burner & slowly collect things to them until all of the sudden it pops. I just had one of those lol.
    Have a great day!

    • Thanks, Jenn. I’m glad you’re finding something useful in my ramblings. You are exactly right about troubling storylines. Congratulations on yours!

  2. Victoria Eskey

    I loveLOVElove it! I am so excited to hear about your new stuff, and Hollows stuff! Although with 2 more books, does that really mean only 12? It’s your perogative,🙂 but as a greedy Hollows reader I was hoping for 3 more.
    Is Meg the person with the spider on her nose? I still have to shudder about that.
    I love your posts! I love the campaign pics! The receptionist one is my favorite! It looks like a campaign office, organized, structured, rigid, exactly what I’d imagine Trent to run.

    • I’m looking at 12, yes, but I won’t know for sure until I write it.

      Yup, Meg has a spider on her nose. (grin) I hope I get to her shortly. I hate to think of her sitting for years with a spider on her.

  3. Marsha

    I hope you get to run with those ideas. I have no doubt that we will enjoy discovering them when their time comes.

    • Thanks, Marsha. I’m looking forward to some good writing time, but something will pop up to put it off just a bit more, I’m sure. -laugh- I do have other things I need to finish up.

  4. Sandra

    Such a tease you are Ms Kim. I love the sweet torture.

  5. Excellent blog post today. For once, I actually understand where you are coming from concerning writing. I had a very odd dog that did odd things (Dug up a human skeleton, intercepted a football from Joe Montana, adopted a boy I later fostered). I chronicled his life and was actually asked to write it by a well known dog related publisher. I can’t. He’s been gone 10 years, and it’s still too close. Nor do I have the skills in my toolbox to do him justice.

    Write ON! Or is that too ’60’s.

    *Pondering what Grace could possibly be*

    • Thanks, Mud! I’m sorry about your dog, but maybe you should give it a try. It would be cleansing, if nothing more. Something just for you.

      60’s are okay. That’s what I’m listening to this morning, actually. 🙂

  6. The best thing you have ever written sounds too much like killing off one of your main characters. I am scared.
    I am scared because i know anything you write i will like, one way or the other. Even if it pains me.

    You can say i’m pessimistic. I’d argue the word is realistic, though.

    • Yes and no? Fortunately this is something all new so you won’t be attached yet, but you will if I do my job right. Time will tell! It’s good to cry over people who are not real but for our mind.

  7. Jenny

    All these book possibilties, even as undescribed as they are=YUM!🙂

  8. Val-OH

    Whoa! I’m intrigued! It’s for sure then? Only 2 more Hollows books with Rachel and the gang?

    • I’m thinking so, Val. I’ll know more as I go. And it is three. The one at the publishers, the one in my “cabinet of awesomeness,” and the one I have yet to write. 😉 But my schedule will let me slip something in right now, so now is when I’m going to write it.

  9. Jessica

    There is some tough competition the “Kalamack for Mayor” photo! *fingers crossed*

    Can’t wait for more Hollows and new work! This has been an amazing ride, only 2 more??? *sad face*

    • Aren’t the photos great, Jessica? Very hard to pick just one.

      Three, actually if you include the one at the publishers right now. And yes, what a ride!

  10. Oh wow. I’m really impressed with those photos! The world book is turning out to be pretty awesome. I’ve already pre-ordered it.

    You seem really motivated and excited!

    Two books left? Does this mean 12 is the magic final number instead of 13? No complaints here as I am anxious as ever to know how this will all end, haha. As for the novella, will this be with Hollows characters that we already know? Will they be witches, or another Hollows species?

    • Aren’t they great? I’m totally blown away, too.

      Three books left. Pale Demon was nine, then the one at the publisher, the one in my “cabinet of awesomeness” and one yet to be written. 🙂

      The novella is new Hollows characters, elves. -grin-

  11. Autumn

    I think it is amazing how you have already written so many books, yet you are already prepared to write even more. You are a writing machine, and I hope you never stop.🙂