And we have a title!

So my inbox has been very busy this week.  Lots of meetings in NY (I wasn’t there, but I can see the aftermath in my inbox) and me getting ready for my two conferences this year.  I’ll be at RWA in NY, and Comic Con in San Diego in July, and things are starting to fall into place for them both.

One good thing that came out of the NY meetings was we now have a clear and definite title for book ten!  It will be called . . .

Wait for it . .

A Perfect Blood!

This is from the movie “A Perfect World” which was directed by Clint Eastwood as well as a fairly good size part being played by him too.  I watched it last night since I’d not seen this one.  Kevin Costner was the lead roll, which was a bonus. I always like the characters he plays.  Emotionally closed characters are hard to do, and this one had two of them in the car.  It worked for me, and I liked it.  The only thing I wish they’d spent a little more care on would be at the beginning where they introduced the boy and the rigidity of his life due to his religious beliefs.  Although it was highlighted, it was hard to grasp the _depth_ of it, and it wasn’t clear why the boy liked his abductor so much until almost the end.  But perhaps that was the point and I simply missed it.

Anyhoo . . .  I can quit calling it the next Hollows book and call it what it is.  A Perfect Blood.  The title matches the inside really well for this one . . .  :-)

P.S.  Guy has asked me to announce that he has gotten all the ordered merchandise out apart from the few things that came in this week, so if you’ve ordered something and you’ve not gotten it yet, drop him a line at vampcharms at comporium dot net.

50 Comments

Filed under Drama Box

50 responses to “And we have a title!

  1. Chastity

    YAY! Love it! ‘A Perfect Blood’…sounds very interesting! Thanks for sharing it with us….Can’t wait!!!

  2. Hmm, sounds like Pureblood, which makes me think of Mudblood, which makes me want to read it more. The question is, when do we get the pleasure?

  3. Lesley

    OOooh…Awesome! Those three little words will have to tide us over for soooo long!

  4. Marcy

    Hi Kim,

    A Perfect Blood, sounds great, can’t wait. We tried to get on vampcharms@comporium.net, but internet explorer said it couldn’t find it. Is that site still up and running? Are you doing any merchandising for Vampiriccharms as a logo for cups and such?

  5. Theresa

    YAY!!!!!!!!! I that is such a cool title! I can’t wait for it to come out. It is also cool of you to give us a little insight on how you picked the title🙂

    • Theresa

      Oops typo! There wasn’t supposed to be an ‘I’ at the start of the sentence. Bad spell checker, bad!🙂

    • Thanks Theresa. We’ve had it picked out for a while, but now I can share!
      The title came about like they usually do. I sent my editor a few ideas, she sent me some back, and we came to a consensus.

  6. Mudepoz

    I like the title;). Have you seen the zombie blog on the CDC site ( yes, the center disease control)? They say the disease for zombieism is caused by solanum( tomato) Think someone there read the Hollows.

  7. Tish

    Love It!!!!

  8. Jenny

    Yay! Now I’m going to be stalking Amazon to see when I can pre-order!😀

  9. Hello Mrs. Harrison!

    Congratulations on the new title!😀 Do we hold a title shower? Do you need anything for it? Diapers? Toys? I can’t wait to see what the title will be when it grows up…😉

    I loved the movie. I watched it when I was quite young still and cried very (very) hard at the end of it. The world didn’t make sense after watching it strangely, lol.

    Hope you are well,🙂 Keep up the good work and have a great day.
    We’ve been very busy with new training at work. But hopefully things will settle now.

    Enjoy,
    Alyss

  10. jkh

    “A Perfect Blood” conjures up the idea of a blood replacement that is complete and compatible with all blood types. Wouldn’t that be great for the emergency and surgery needs? Haven’t seen the movie, I may request it from the library and see what and when it turns up.

  11. Renee

    Oh my goodness! That’s a great title, I can’t wait!

  12. Judi in NJ

    Exciting title!! Can’t wait🙂

  13. Evy

    Yaaayyyyyy! “Perfect Blood” Now we wait for “The Date”.

  14. Antonio

    I remember that film. Or, parts of it anyway. I didn’t know CEastwood was associated with it. I remember a scene where Kevin Costner’s character and a small boy are taken in briefly by a farmer and his boy, the farmer is mean to his boy, and then things get uncomfortable fast. ‘Perfect Blood’…hmmm…you’ve already said Ivy doesn’t play a big role, so you’re not referring to vampire blood…demon? Elf? We’ve kinda been down those roads…I’m guessing WITCH blood;we have to get back to the Rosewood Syndrome eventually, right? Especially since Trent has the cure.

    CINCY NEWS: 1)There was news recently that a few downtown hotels are getting into the honey-making business, installing beehives atop their building’s roofs. The bees partake of nectar from other building’s hanging flowers and from plants across the river in Kentucky. Cool, right?
    http://travel.usatoday.com/hotels/story/2011/05/Hotel-bees-a-honey-of-an-idea/47236744/1
    2) The Cincinnati Zoo is known as the ‘greenest zoo in America’ for installing solar power panels over their parking lot, as well as composting the animal’s refuse. Now, they are offering the manure to the public for private use. Now local farms can fertilize their crops with Asian Elephant poop. Community public gardens can spread Maasai Giraffe dung around their flower beds. Homeowners can load up on Sumatran Rhino poop, or Camel, Panda, or Zebra manure when tackling home gardening projects.(It has to be herbivores, carnivore poop is unhealthy to compost apparently) Isn’t that awesome?😎

    • jkh

      Seattle has had a Zoo Doo program for decades. It’s dispensed (mostly) already composted (i.e. rotted) so it doesn’t stink any more than cow stuff. Yes, carnivore poop isn’t suitable for garden compost, it’s got the wrong pathogens or something in it.

    • That would be witch blood, Antonio, and more spoilers than that, I will not give. -laugh-

  15. Good title, Kim. I wish you the best as you begin your conference circuit. Comic Con sounds like a lot of fun. Enjoy!

  16. AKR (Trinidad)

    YAYYY ..!!!!
    A Perfect Blood ….. wow … definitely gets my cogs turning ….

    Ms Harrison … you’re a perfect tease … lol
    Can’t wait to tell my sister ..🙂

  17. Stephenie

    Ooooh! I like! I love titles, and I have a lot of fun making titles for my short stories, or one shots, but trying to come up with working titles for the series I’m working on (I have to have a working title or I just start to get confused) was almost impossible. I finally came up with some ideas that were att least somewhat cohesive. I love your Clint Eastwood titles. I think they fit the story so perfect.

    • Stephenie

      Oh no! I didn’t realize vampiric charms was closing! (How did I miss that?) I really wanted to get some coffee mugs too! Sad day!

    • I need a title to move forward too, Stephenie.

      Give Guy an email at vampcharms at comporium dot net. He has a few left. 🙂

  18. paraskeui

    We have a title !!!!I just can’t wait for it!!

  19. Val-OH

    Love the title!! Congrats!! ♥

  20. Awesome that we’ve finally got a title!

    I cannot *believe* how fast Comic Con’s approaching! I’m really excited for it. I’ve been busting my butt trying to read books of other authors that will be there as well (currently reading Mercy Thompson and each book gets better and better). Thankfully I’ve had like…6 years to make sure I stay caught up with *your* stuff, haha.

    Me and my friend (who I turned onto the Hollows, and now it’s her favorite UF too) are doing a costume collab. It’s going to be really intense. She just casted my torso and arms last week so that she can craft our armor. We’re going to have body paint too. We’ll make sure you see it, hehe. I’m also going to wear my runner-up costume from your Pale Demon Halloween contest. That will only take an hour to put on. The other costume will probably be around 2 hours, so we don’t want to do it everyday. We’re crazy, but it’s gonna be awesome!

  21. Victoria Eskey

    Yay!! *Happy dance*!🙂

  22. Maryellen

    “A Perfect Blood”…. and a perfect title!🙂

    Have a great day, Miss Kim!

  23. Jenn

    Woohoo!!! I’m glad that you have a title & that you like it🙂
    I don’t think I’m going to be able to make either con, but I do hope you have a fab time!